We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$$$ but worth it!!”
Review of Ko Restaurant

Ko Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ko Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kaukahi Street
Transit: The nearest Bus stop is located at the Shops of Wailea Maui.
Description: Executive Chef Tylun Pang leads the culinary masterpiece of Kō, the only fine dining restaurant on Maui to offer cuisine inspired by Maui’s sugarcane plantation era. Located at The Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Kō features island family recipes and includes farm-fresh Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese menu items with a contemporary twist.
Haiku, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“$$$ but worth it!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautiful Wailea Hawaii... not oceanfront, but still beautiful, the real attraction is the food and service. Super fresh (*some farm to table items.. request a menu .. staff very knowledgeable) with the chief's award winning creativity in every dish. Not much of red meat eater myself... other people at the table loved the lamb... the vegetable curry was delish... out of the pahole fern salad the night we visited, but the Oishi Sushi was wonderful!! Deserts creative. Service was spot on.. Looking forward to visiting again and again.
$$$

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nunumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Aloha! We're thrilled that you had such a nice experience at Kō! It’s wonderful that you enjoyed the plantation-era inspired cuisine as well as the fresh, local produce that is used throughout our menu. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be passed on Chef Tylun Pang and the service staff at Kō. Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    225
    125
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
“Best restaurant in Wailea”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family and I have been coming to the Wailea area for 20+ years, eating at Ko has become our new favorite spot. The food, ambiance, and service is terrific. Andrew, our server, is one of the nicest most attentive and accommodating servers. He is spot on with helping you pick out the best things to eat on the menu. If you want a place to go to where you can relax and eat fresh fish and sushi this is the best place in Wailea.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aduvaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for your fantastic review. It’s wonderful to learn that Kō is your “new favorite spot” in Wailea. This is wonderful feedback coming from a seasoned Maui visitor! Andrew is a tremendous asset to our team and we are excited to share your kind words with him. Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We got the Oishi Sushi as an appetizer and it may be one of the best sushi rolls we have ever had. The staff was very attentive and nice and coming in at sunset time made the place beautiful. Other than that, our entrees were good, but nothing overly special. They were not bad, but for the price they didn't really seem amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jencornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Aloha. While we are happy you found the Oishi Sushi to be your favorite sushi to date, we're sorry that the entrees failed to impress. It’s our goal to be anything but mediocre and we apologize that you left feeling disappointed. We hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Food was ok but overhyped. Tables at the front are good, but those towards the back do feel like they are in a hotel walkway (which they are. Staff a tad arrogant. Not the best service, not the best food. Felt lazy. Such a shame as we were really looking forward to eating here but won't return.

Nicks is much better food and service,

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We sincerely apologize for your recent dining experience at Kō . Our team strives to provide a high level of service and cuisine to best represent our award-winning signature restaurant. It’s truly disappointing that you felt underwhelmed. Please be assured your comments will be shared with the team. We hope you will give Kō another chance in the future so we can provide an outstanding dining experience. Warmest aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The drink and app specials in this zen-like setting tucked away in the lush grounds of the Fairmont is a great afternoon oasis. The beers were cold and the tempura spicy tuna roll was tasty.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ko Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing