We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was delicious”
Review of Kai Wailea - CLOSED

Kai Wailea
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Alanui Dr.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Everything was delicious”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

In the expensive range for sushi, but fresh and delicious. Many unusual dinner entres. Everything we had was excellent. Nice atmosphere. We needed a reservation during Christmas week.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank relaxationseeker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    27
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Save your money, dine elsewhere. ”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We went to Kai on a suggestion. It was possibly the worst dinner we have ever had in Maui. We should have left before we ordered when our server spilled my husbands drink all over him. The food was ridiculously overpriced, even by Maui standards for what you received. Save your money and dine elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank shfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“"AMAZING"”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

As most people know not everyone that serves sushi does a great job of it. In fact, a lot of places do a good job, and a select few do a great job, and then you come across that 1% that do an amazing job. Not only the quality of the sushi was among the best I have had, but even the creativeness of some of there own dishes surpassed the level most would strive for. We followed their recommendations, tried dishes that were outside the norm and found this to be one of the most exceptional dining experiences I have had in quite some time. Don't overlook them if you happen to be in the area, you would be missing out on a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knight1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dinner ”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Really quite nice. A bit pricey but expected here. They need more outside eating however the server was experienced. We have been here before and will come again

Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Food was average but pricey, service was pretty terrible -- 20 minutes before we were even asked to order. Wouldn't come here again; a lot better restaurants in the area!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LVB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing