We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok”
Review of Pita Paradise

Pita Paradise
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Food was not great, unfortunately... Service was amazingly slow and they were not that crowded. Would not go back, too many better options.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mauimeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    257
    89
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anything but...”
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Went 2x. Food was good both times. Went for lunch 1x and dinner 1x. Service at dinner was horrible and we were the only table so it was hard to understand. Unfortunately this tainted the whole experience. We won't go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mssf83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pita Paradise in Wailea”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Great prices and fresh tasty healthy food. After a few nights of salty hotel food this place was heaven! First night had an incredible meal with fantastic cocktails. Everything was fresh and of good quality. Owner caught fresh fish which was delicious. Salads were fresh and crispy. The bologanse was delicious! Chicken kabob cooked perfectly. Service was an A plus. Pita is made fresh by a local bakery. Specialty cocktails are wonderful. Second visit, just like the first! A plus. Location is nice, decor fittting and very clean (including restrooms), in a new stripmall in Wailea. Outdoor patio (no ocean view). Comfortable place with bar area.

Next visit a few days later, must have been different chef and different bartender and servers. We ordered a few round of drinks - all very mediocre and one was returned because it was so awful. Definately not consistent with the other bartenders. Service was lukewarm (even before the drink return). I'm just thinking this was an off night because this place was just fantastic on prior visits. I will definately be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules-OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA USA
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“New twist on traditional Med cuisine”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Our family of four dined here while staying up the road at the Fairmont. They had a good selection of Hawaiian beers, which would not have occurred to me before this trip. My wife ordered the Greek salad, more of a deconstructed salad than the traditional, with a scoop of hummus in the middle. It was reserved with quartered Pitas, oiled and herbed. I had a fish/lamb combo kebab, a skewer each of mahi mahi (the day's catch) and lamb cooked to my medium-rare order. The fish was particularly good and grilled perfectly, not an easy feat for fish. My daughter had the pasta with Italian sausage, a robust version, and my son had pasta Bolognese, also good but strangely one of the most expensive items on the menu at $20. We shared the house specialty dessert, baklava layered with ice cream. The baklava was good but not the classic rendition we're used to, heavy on cinnamon. The atmosphere is casual, with friendly attentive service. We had a short wait to be seated without a reservation on an August Tuesday at about 8 PM. Definitely worth a visit and a good value, especially compared to the resort hotel restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We dined here as a last minute decision one night while vacationing in Maui. It is in a small stripp mall, but is quite pleasant inside. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Our server was excellent and the atmosphere was very pleasant. Most of the patrons were families who were staying at the nearby hotels.

We had a number of salads, which were all very good. They offer a few Italian dishes, but I would classify this as more of a Mediterranean restaurant.

They have different menus for lunch / dinner and they do not serve sandwiches in the evening. Also seems like they do quite a bit of takeout.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bw411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pita Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Pita Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing