We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beach”
Review of Maluaka Beach

Maluaka Beach
Ranked #6 of 42 things to do in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Beach”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This beach is one of the best beaches I've been to. There are great waves for beginner body boarding, kayaking and paddle boarding. The sand is nice for sculpting for the kids that love to make sandcastles. There are lounge chairs, but they are reserved for people staying at Prince. There is a Starbucks in the Prince Resort, on the third floor. There are also rentals for snorkels, kayaks, body-boards and paddle-boards. They also offer lessons and SCUBA trips.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TobiUchiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    51
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful slice of heaven. ”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Cream colored sand. Soft crashing waves. Semi secluded. Showers to clean your feet. Beautiful views of distant mountains. Great sunset spot.

Helpful?
1 Thank sjw80
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aurora, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I've been to Maui several times and this beach is one of the best. The only resort that has access to it is the Makena Beach & Golf (name may change in the future as I heard it was bought by someone else) so you have access to food & facilities but it's not too commercial or crowded. Drive past the resort to get to the public parking lot or valet at the resort. If you want a snack or soda the resort has a small sundry store or Starbucks on the main level. You'll have a short walk to get there but in that area there's not a lot of choices so you may want to bring what you need for the day.

Helpful?
1 Thank luvinature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Seemingly private beach retreat”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I actually stayed at the Makena Beach and Golf Resort (my favorite Maui hotel-and we're stayed in three) on our fifth year wedding anniversary. Maluaka Beach is the beach in front of the resort. It is very quiet and clean. I really liked how private it was compared to Kaanapali Beach, and even compared to some of the beaches on the Big Island. There's some good snorkeling off the left hand side of the beach. I would recommend watching for the kayaks and boats and then swim out to where everyone is. There are some good turtle spots off the beach, and an EXCELLENT view of Molokini. GORGEOUS, gorgeous beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stedeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My Happy Place”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Maluaka beach is the perfect beach. Beautiful, fine sand with a small number of shells/rocks. You can walk along the beach and gaze out at the splashing whales and islands in the distance. Great for snorkeling on either end of the beach. This area is known as "turtle town" as sightings are common. There is a grassy spot above the beach if you want a little shade or don't want to get sandy but still want to enjoy the views. Spectacular uncrowded spot for whale watching. This has become my favorite spot on the planet!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maluaka Beach also viewed

 

Been to Maluaka Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing