We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Wonderful accomodations but lighten up at the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wailea Ekahi Village
Certificate of Excellence
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful accomodations but lighten up at the pool”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We rented a condo there 3 weeks ago. Accomodations were fantastic. View was breath taking. We were fortunate to have a unit in the middle, so walking up and down the hill wasn't bad. If you are towards the back of the property, you may hate all of the walking, given the hilly nature of the complex. Our unit was very clean and the property and grounds were well maintained. Close enough to walk to the mall, as well as down the path to other resorts, or to the end of the beach. My only complaint was the staff at the pool. There were many families there, yet the staff doesn't seem to want the kids to have fun at the main pool. If the other pools are the "quiet" pools, then why are the kids given a hard time at the main pool. There's nothing wrong with tossing a ball around, especially if there are no other families in the pool and yet we were constantly told to put the ball away. We were the only two in the pool !!! I saw this happen to other families as well. If you want to cater to families, then "lighten up" !!! As long as the kids aren't getting out of control, then let them be kids. Otherwise, this was a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: If you are not close or in the middle, then you may not enjoy the walk. It is very hilly and steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Ekahi Village, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Aloha...Thank you for the high rating of Wailea Ekahi Village. I was sorry to hear of your disappointment with the pool area as it clearly meant a lot to you and your family. But I was pleased that you found your accommodations enjoyable and that the location of the property met all your needs. We truly appreciate all your feedback.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    114
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
172
243
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We rent a condo in Wailea Ekahi every time we visit Maui. Great location and family atmosphere! Great pool, shuffleboard, and pickle-ball facilities, as well as great lawn space. Condos are well maintained although there were one or two small cockroaches running around. great location in Wailea, within walking distance of almost everything! Great beach, the list goes on and on...
Highly recommended stay!

Room Tip: All units are good although if you have kids you might want to stay closer to the beach. It's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Ekahi Village, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Aloha.....We appreciate you choosing Wailea Ekahi Village as your "home away from home" when visiting Maui, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Nice, but very different condos
Our apartment was fully equiped (kitchen, internet, even BBQ grill), medium standard of furnuture, bathroom ok.
Terrific beach wih direct access, small pools and 1 heated pool
BUT: pool fun is not allowed in this hotel. The three smaller pools are designated 'quiet' areas - and families with kids are urged to use the big pool. But even is that pool everything that is fun is not allowed: no balls, no noodles, no diving, no snorkling ... and explicitly no games! What should kids do in such a pool?(I'll try to upload a photo with the pool rules!) What a pity for such a nice hotel.) Hotel is therefore just recommended for seniors, definetly not for families with kids.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
18 Thank Sreinecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We had a nice condo in house 3, the kids were in house 15. A bit far, but still in my comfort zone. Both units were nicely furnished and good equipped with all necessary appliances.
Third island and so far best accommodation yet.

Helpful?
1 Thank ADAM-Family-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Ekahi Village, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Aloha.....I was happy to read that you enjoyed your accommodations at Ekahi Village in Maui and it sounds like you are having a wonderful family vacation in Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for 10 days in Unit 6A, which is one of the buildings closest to the pool and beach. I would recommend for anyone interested in staying at Ekahi Village to consider buildings 6,7 or 8. The extra price is definitely worth it to be close to the beach. This specific unit had everything we needed for family of 4. Separate beds (murphy and sofa bed, surprisingly comfortable) for my teenagers and a king size bed in the bedroom. Snorkeling is one the best of the entire island at the beach to the left side of this condo, and not too bad in front of it neither. We saw turtles every time we went at both beaches. Drive another 10 minute south to Maluaka Beach for even better snorkeling. Location of this condo itself is perfect, between the older part of Kihei for more deals and the fancy Wailea hotels. This is definitely my first choice when we go back to Maui next time (we'd been to Maui two times prior and stayed at Kaanapali).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed in Wailea Ekahi Village in unit 51-D through Destination Resorts. Previously booked units thru VRBO but found them overall to not be as well maintained/clean. Ekahi is right on magnificent Keawakapu Beach which is fronted by multimillion dollar homes rather than hotels or other condos so the beach is much less crowded yet has that beautiful warm Wailea water with a gentle beach entry just perfect for kids and families. Ekahi is at most a 7 minute walk to the Shops at Wailea for dining and shopping making it very convenient. Our condo was well equipped with everything and recently remodeled…full kitchen with many gourmet items, there are 2 big screen TVs, stereo, washer/dryer and ocean views from every room! There was no troubling street noise in the unit which itself is a very gentle 3 minute walk to the beach. Ekahi has an ocean front pavilion for hanging out or storing your food/lunches while at the beach. There are 4 pools on the property….the ocean front one is heated to a warm 83F and you can swim in it until 10PM! The other pools are smaller and more quiet. Our family has vacationed in Wailea for over 20 years and we find Ekahi to be the best. Our unit had everything in it you could ask for and Destination Resorts had daily maid service available. Their concierge arranged dining, snorkeling/diving, surf lessons and other activities for us which made scheduling easy. This is now our place to go for our annual family vacations in Maui.

Room Tip: Units in the lower village closer to the main pool get a lot more noise than those in the upper vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wailea67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Ekahi Village, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Aloha...I would like to thank you for the wonderful review of Wailea Ekahi Village. It sounds like you have found your "home away from home" in Maui and we look forward to your return.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family had an awesome stay at Ekahi #19D. It is in the "Lower Village" of Ekahi Village so it has a small ocean view across the rooftops of the $20 million dollar homes directly in front of it (great neighbors to have!) A quick walk to the beach or a rambling, but short, walk to the awesome oceanfront main pool. The location is great. That oceanfront pool and picnic area is off the charts. It is stunning. The water in front of the complex is crystal clear. The Wailea beach path (paved walking path) is perfect for an evening stroll to the shops of Wailea (restaurants/shopping) oceanside. The condo is great. Super clean and they had everything you would possibly need. Boogie boards, beach towels, etc. Fantastic new shower in the bathroom (I have stayed in this unit before and it used to be a tub), we love the TWO A/C unit set up in 19D (most Ekahi condos only have A/C in the living room so the bedrooms can get it bit stuffy). There are four pools, tennis courts, rolling greenbelt, what else? It was a brilliant Maui family vacation. I LOVE this condo.

Room Tip: The lower village is quicker access to the main pool but if you can't find a condo available in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickles808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
1.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.8 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Ekahi Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Ekahi Village

Property: Wailea Ekahi Village
Address: 3300 Wailea Alanui Dr, Check in address 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wailea Ekahi Village 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Maui family friendly condo resort with low-rise buildings span 34 acres of tropical landscaping and terraces down to popular Keawakapu Beach, a sandy beach with gentle surf and great snorkeling. Abundant resort amenities include four swimming pools, paddle tennis, shuffleboard, barbecue grills and a beachfront pavilion making this the perfect place for family and friends to hang out and hang loose. Each studio, 1- and 2-bedroom suite is equipped with a full kitchen, separate living room/dining area, private lanai or patio with outdoor BBQ grill and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wailea Ekahi Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Ekahi Village Hotel Wailea
Wailea Ekahi Village Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing