We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well appointed-much better than a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wailea Ekolu Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well appointed-much better than a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife have stayed in a lot of vacation rentals all over the world. We recently stayed in Unit 1706. It is clear that that the owners use this unit as it was very well appointed with all the kitchen gadgets (pineapple corer, sharp knives, peelers, etc) one would need plus everything you need for a trip to beach (umbrellas, chairs, cooler, towels). The complex is not right on the beach, but it's only a 3 minute drive to Wailea beach and it's easy to find free parking if you go in the morning like we did. Would definitely stay there again next time we go to Maui.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank DMacNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    38
    12
    13
    3
See reviews for
57
55
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Very relaxing great beach and grounds and wonderful pools never too crowded.Closer to some of the nicest shopping and eating on the island.
The suites very spacious could use a bit of updating but felt very homey and would go back anytime.
Beautiful flowery spacious grounds.

Room Tip: if you don't like to walk make sure it is near the water and units near the road can be noisy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rima08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Ekolu Village Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Aloha.... Thank you so much for your review of Wailea Ekolu Village. We look forward to your return.

Matt Smith
Guest Experience manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is our second time staying at Ekolu and the second time we have rented directly from Mark and Nancy Beach. This is a new unit for them and we were thrilled to find that it is just as fantastic as their other unit was!

There honestly isn't one thing missing from the unit! It was spotless when we arrived and the views are gorgeous! The kids love the pool and we enjoyed every aspect of the unit and the grounds. It is so quiet and peaceful! The units have individual owners so you really do need to make sure you know what unit you are getting to ensure that the unit is up to date and has the views/location you might want.

We have stayed at the Grand Champions before and will never stay there again as they are just too strict with noise at the pool and we weren't impressed with grounds and the units...not as many units have incredible views like Ekolu.

We will definitely be back here in the future!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lisa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Spent a very nice 3 days in Condo #1703 in Wailea's Ekolu Village. The condo was exactly as described with all the amenities working perfectly (including free WiFi). The location was great with parking right in front and no steps to climb. The view of the ocean from the kitchen and sitting room is great. There is only an obscured view of the ocean from the very nicely prepared bedroom. The kitchen is fully stocked with plates/bowls/cutlery and even dishwashing soap. There is a nice lawn that one can go out to. We really liked a) the nice toiletries that were provided b) the extension of our checkout time from 11:30am to 6pm on request. All in all, a very nice experience and would highly recommend it. Very reasonably priced as well.

Room Tip: The view and amenities can vary from condo to condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank byomkesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Manager at Wailea Ekolu Village Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent Maui vacation at Wailea Ekolu Village. We're glad you enjoyed the added amenities of our vacation condos and are happy that we were able to offer you a later check-out for your convenience. We look forward to you being our guest again in the future.
Mahalo,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Condo was very spacious, high quality equipment, complimentary WLAN,nice little pool just around the corner, marvellous view , booking with Hotwire was a real good deal.
Angelina from the housekeeping did a great job

Room Tip: Booking with Hotwire can be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank otto004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Ekolu Village. Well-equipped condo, amazing panoramic views, quiet complex and a great pool. Angelina took care of housekeeping for us and was quick, efficient and willing to provide us with extra towels, etc. She came twice during our week there and was very kind and considerate. It was only a half mile walk or drive to the Shops at Wailea, hotels and resorts and about one mile to the beach. We highly recommend Ekolu Village.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Manager at Wailea Ekolu Village Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Mahalo for sharing your experience at Wailea Ekolu Village. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

This condo was rented to us with 4 adults and 2 children (12 & 9) in mind. It really was too small for 6 people. Roll away cots which were available at an extra cost of $20 each per day were not an option because of space constraints. The children had to sleep on the sofa, which meant when the kids went to bed the adults did as well.
Sadly, this unit needs some renovation. One of the lanai screens was broken and unusable. Two of the deck chairs also had broken plastic slats, a complaint that the management were happy to address in quick time but we were able to fix the slats ourselves. The internet did not work for the first 3 days we were there. It finally was repaired by the server. This was not a problem with the resort.

Housekeeping is poor. The showers were mouldy smelling and the doors and tracks had thick muck caked on them. Kitchen utensils could use an upgrade - knives were dull and wine bottle openers out of commission. Tthe toaster doesn't heat properly; always burns the toast even on the lowest setting.

We did settle in after a few days and did appreciate the beautiful grounds and pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gingerdog100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Destination Resorts Hawaii at Wailea Ekolu Village Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wailea Ekolu Village. Your comments have been shared with the rental manager who has confirmed that the owner has planned a renovation in May, including the bathroom and new furniture. Your input is genuinely appreciated and we hope that you will return for another visit in the newly remodeled room.
Sincerely,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wailea hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
0.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wailea Ekahi Village
Wailea Ekahi Village
#2 of 8 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.3 mi away
Wailea Grand Champions Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Ekolu Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Ekolu Village Resort

Property: Wailea Ekolu Village Resort
Address: 10 Wailea Ekolu Pl, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wailea Ekolu Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the slopes of Haleakala with incredible vistas of the Pacific Ocean, Molokini crater and the neighboring islands of Lana'i and Kahoolawe, this condo resort has an ideal location at the gateway to Wailea. Set among the plush Wailea beach resorts, with easy escape to discover and explore the island of Maui and perched amid an 18-acre tropical garden paradise with 2 pools, recreation pavilion and barbecue grills, it's just a tee shot away from the Wailea Blue Golf Course. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping every third day, and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wailea Ekolu Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Ekolu Village Hotel Wailea
Wailea Ekolu Village Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing