We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ekolu Village Unit ??? is 2nd to None”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wailea Ekolu Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ekolu Village Unit ??? is 2nd to None”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Just returned from our second year there, two weeks each time, and cannot say enough about our unit. We had the top floor and a fantastic view from both lanai's (check out our photos taken with iPad). A unit for two (owner limit) with two bathrooms was an extra bonus. If there are only two of you, I suggest looking for a unit where the owner limits the occupancy to two people; much less wear and tear on the property and a safe bet they stay in the unit when not in use. The unit has been upgraded twice within the past three years with new furniture, kitchen (utensils, sink, garbage disposal, granite counter-tops, cabinets, under-cabinet lighting, flooring and appliances), bathrooms, bedroom, front entry and living room. I suspect the price for any particular unit is based on when upgraded and if owner uses it. We paid a little extra but still considered it a great value. Maui Tim, the agent for the property, and the owner of the unit below us (with a little research, you can find the unit where we stayed) does an outstanding job. On our recent stay, there was a Tsunami warning (7.7 earthquake off coast of Canada) and Tim was quick to call and assure us we were safe and not in harm's way. Turned out to be a non-event but was interesting to be a part of it. I could go into all the detail's but truthfully, I cannot find anything negative with everything about the unit above average. Considering everyone I know tells me I am high-maintenance, I give it two-thumbs up. Regarding the eating part of our vacation, upon landing at the airport, we drove straight to Costco (less than one mile from airport) and bought all of our breakfast groceries for the trip; there are several grocery stories nearby Ekolu in case you forget something. The first year we bought food for every meal but found we ate out (MonkeyPod, Joe's, Gannon's and Longhi's mostly) the other meal; two meals per day was enough as we did not want to put on any extra pounds. :-) Our favorite spots for recreation were Makena Landing for snorkeling and Wailea Tennis Club; the tennis club has an unlimited play short-term membership certain times of the year for couples so suggest you enquire. Located about 1/4 mile from Ekolu. Oops, I almost forgot, did I mention the swimming pool right next to our unit? I swam laps there everyday listening to my Jambox by Jawbone pushed by my iPhone (no, I do not work for Apple but wished I had bought their stock 20 years ago after Sculley was forced out in 1993). Enjoy your vacation!!!

Room Tip: Data streaming using WiFi is excellent and our first priority because of business demands. I remote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    40
    14
    13
    3
See reviews for
60
59
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife have stayed in a lot of vacation rentals all over the world. We recently stayed in Unit 1706. It is clear that that the owners use this unit as it was very well appointed with all the kitchen gadgets (pineapple corer, sharp knives, peelers, etc) one would need plus everything you need for a trip to beach (umbrellas, chairs, cooler, towels). The complex is not right on the beach, but it's only a 3 minute drive to Wailea beach and it's easy to find free parking if you go in the morning like we did. Would definitely stay there again next time we go to Maui.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank DMacNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Very relaxing great beach and grounds and wonderful pools never too crowded.Closer to some of the nicest shopping and eating on the island.
The suites very spacious could use a bit of updating but felt very homey and would go back anytime.
Beautiful flowery spacious grounds.

Room Tip: if you don't like to walk make sure it is near the water and units near the road can be noisy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rima08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Ekolu Village Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Aloha.... Thank you so much for your review of Wailea Ekolu Village. We look forward to your return.

Matt Smith
Guest Experience manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is our second time staying at Ekolu and the second time we have rented directly from Mark and Nancy Beach. This is a new unit for them and we were thrilled to find that it is just as fantastic as their other unit was!

There honestly isn't one thing missing from the unit! It was spotless when we arrived and the views are gorgeous! The kids love the pool and we enjoyed every aspect of the unit and the grounds. It is so quiet and peaceful! The units have individual owners so you really do need to make sure you know what unit you are getting to ensure that the unit is up to date and has the views/location you might want.

We have stayed at the Grand Champions before and will never stay there again as they are just too strict with noise at the pool and we weren't impressed with grounds and the units...not as many units have incredible views like Ekolu.

We will definitely be back here in the future!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lisa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Spent a very nice 3 days in Condo #1703 in Wailea's Ekolu Village. The condo was exactly as described with all the amenities working perfectly (including free WiFi). The location was great with parking right in front and no steps to climb. The view of the ocean from the kitchen and sitting room is great. There is only an obscured view of the ocean from the very nicely prepared bedroom. The kitchen is fully stocked with plates/bowls/cutlery and even dishwashing soap. There is a nice lawn that one can go out to. We really liked a) the nice toiletries that were provided b) the extension of our checkout time from 11:30am to 6pm on request. All in all, a very nice experience and would highly recommend it. Very reasonably priced as well.

Room Tip: The view and amenities can vary from condo to condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank byomkesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Manager at Wailea Ekolu Village Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent Maui vacation at Wailea Ekolu Village. We're glad you enjoyed the added amenities of our vacation condos and are happy that we were able to offer you a later check-out for your convenience. We look forward to you being our guest again in the future.
Mahalo,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Condo was very spacious, high quality equipment, complimentary WLAN,nice little pool just around the corner, marvellous view , booking with Hotwire was a real good deal.
Angelina from the housekeeping did a great job

Room Tip: Booking with Hotwire can be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank otto004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Ekolu Village. Well-equipped condo, amazing panoramic views, quiet complex and a great pool. Angelina took care of housekeeping for us and was quick, efficient and willing to provide us with extra towels, etc. She came twice during our week there and was very kind and considerate. It was only a half mile walk or drive to the Shops at Wailea, hotels and resorts and about one mile to the beach. We highly recommend Ekolu Village.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Manager at Wailea Ekolu Village Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Mahalo for sharing your experience at Wailea Ekolu Village. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wailea hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wailea Ekahi Village
Wailea Ekahi Village
#2 of 8 in Wailea
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wailea Grand Champions Villas
0.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Ekolu Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Ekolu Village Resort

Property: Wailea Ekolu Village Resort
Address: 10 Wailea Ekolu Pl, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wailea Ekolu Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the slopes of Haleakala with incredible vistas of the Pacific Ocean, Molokini crater and the neighboring islands of Lana'i and Kahoolawe, this condo resort has an ideal location at the gateway to Wailea. Set among the plush Wailea beach resorts, with easy escape to discover and explore the island of Maui and perched amid an 18-acre tropical garden paradise with 2 pools, recreation pavilion and barbecue grills, it's just a tee shot away from the Wailea Blue Golf Course. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping every third day, and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wailea Ekolu Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Ekolu Village Hotel Wailea
Wailea Ekolu Village Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing