We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garage sale special/dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wailea Grand Champions Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Garage sale special/dated”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was the second time staying at Grand Champions. Our first condo/experience was good and we love the location in Wailea. So we found this unit available for our time period. We were staying for a month and wanted something comfortable.

Let me say, always ask for more photos than what is shown on VRBO. This place was large enough with two bathrooms and large lanai. However, the furnishings, bed, dishes, etc was something from a garage sale. Not more than once did we sit on the livingroom furniture, it was that uncomfortable, the bedding was soiled, light bulbs burnt out for the most part and most of the dishes were chipped. The coffee machine carafe had a hole in it and you had to run around in a circle withing the shower just to get wet.

Phoned the "guy friday" so called real estate agent to complain and I told him the place was a poop hole and wondered if the owner would consider getting some updated furniture, or I would lease some myself for the stay. He just laughed and said, that "it took me a few days to realize this". He eventually contacted the owner and they offered our money back eventually, but that would have left us high and dry looking for a place for a month. So we said we would endure it. I purchased numerous things to make our stay more comfortable and left them there for the next poor souls.

The place is for retired folks and the rules for condo and pool area are ridiculous, almost right down to, do not have fun. The people above us sounded like a herd of cattle most of the time. BBQs are down at the pool areas and so you have to run around looking for the pool area whilst balancing your food etc both ways.

Grounds are nice and this unit had excellent beach gear.

I will not stay there again.

Ekolu villiage next door is far nicer, and you can BBQ on your lanai.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackaranda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    109
    29
    24
    8
See reviews for
170
98
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We just came from staying again at grand champions, this time was a way better experience.
Maybe because we knew where we were going for starters:)
If its your first time, read the directions carefully, especially if its a late night check in.
We were in unit #1777, it was beautiful, spacious and clean. View was breathtaking, could even see the ocean. Very quiet unit, bed was extremely comfortable also.
Everything you could hope for to cook any meal, or perhaps a blended cocktail?
The pool was very nice, even heated, just perfect!
We look forward to staying at the grand champions again, just pick the right unit.
Another thing we loved about this unit was, it had two bathrooms! Highly recommend this place for a quiet, romantic get away:)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Aloha...I would like to say thank you for posting your review of Wailea Grand Champions. It is a beautiful property and I especially appreciate you recommending it as a place to go for a romantic getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next getaway.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Location is great ...close to beaches, restaurants and all the amenities of beautiful South Maui. The facility is well maintained and the landscaping is kept beautifully. BBQ and pool areas are easily accessible. There is onsite admin staff during normal office hours and security is present onsite during the evenings every day. The location on the Wailea Blue Golf Course offer lovely views and sunsets are fantastic. Suites will vary as they are individually owned.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have been going here for five years and love it! Everything you need on a vacation in the tropics is available! There is pools, pool side BBQs, a balcony on each condo, and an amazing view of greenery and the ocean (depending on what condo you choose). It is close to the shops and the beach. We do a Costco run at the beginning of our two weeks and then make home cooked meals for each meal. Love this area!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were with a group for a wedding, and we had a great stay! The condos have different owners, so some suites may be nicer than others but the one we stayed in was great - very comfortable, clean, nicely decorated, well stocked kitchen (appliances, dishes etc), and a pretty view of the golf course and the ocean in the distance.

We spent a few days around the pool with everyone. Pool area was very clean with lots of flowers. It was not very busy at this time of year - basically just our group and maybe a couple other couples (also from Canada) on vacation. It's about a 10-15 minute walk down to the Wailea Shops, a 10 minute drive to Safeway, and a 10-15 minute drive to Big Beach. There's also another smaller beach near the Wailea shops.

The only issue we had was that they did a pest spray of some sort in all of the rooms while we were there. I feel like this is probably something they could have arranged to do while we weren't staying in the suite but maybe not.

Room Tip: Try to get a condo that overlooks the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The apartment in this condo was large, had a beautiful view to the golf course, but cleaning was a little bit bad. Bed linens were pretty bad and carpet needed to be washed. Anyway, rooms were good and AC worked quite well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulo S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Aloha....Thank you for posting your review. I was very disappointed to see that your unit was not cleaned to your expectations and I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies. Our housekeeping standards are much higher than what you obviously experienced and we will be reviewing them with our staff. Thank you again for your feedback.

Matt Smith
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at this condo a week and thought the condo was super nice. It was very clean and new, just as advertised. The owner had the condo very well stocked, including nice beach chairs and umbrellas. The TV in the den was like a 65" and had a great picture. The master shower was great, two heads and lots of room for two people. The location of the condo was convenient to walk to the beach or for long walks in beautiful Wailea.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pdmrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
2.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.5 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Grand Champions Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Grand Champions Villas

Property: Wailea Grand Champions Villas
Address: 155 Wailea Ike Pl, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wailea Grand Champions Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Wailea golf resort with a country club feel is centered on 11 acres, amid the 18-hole Wailea Blue Golf Course. Select from garden or ocean view suites or golf front villas along the 6th, 7th and 8th holes, with ultimate views of well maintained fairways and sun-drenched strokes. Within this country club condo resort, you'll also find the world-class Wailea Tennis Center and stadium. The resort features two pools, two whirlpool spas and barbecue grills; and is located near The Shops at Wailea and popular Mokapu and Ulua beaches. Each 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, living/dining room area, private lanai and en-suite washer/dryer. Amenities include in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping every third day, and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wailea Grand Champions Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Hotel Wailea
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing