We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polo Beach Club unit 708”
Review of Polo Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Polo Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Polo Beach Club unit 708”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This incredible hotel is located on the beach... just open the gate and you are on the sand! Unit 708 has a fantastic view from the master and the living room and deck. The kitchen is fully equipped with every convenience. The owners and agent are incredible to work with, and they have two-two bedroom units in the hotel, both with beautiful views. The beach path is located a few feet from the hotek, and goes for miles Great for walks, jogs, incredible view sites, shopping, restaurants and bars to enjoy. Our only regret was the trip ended too soon, and we should have booked for two weeks!

Room Tip: Great spot for couples trips. The owners have two-two bedroom units on the 6th and 7th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mammothrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha....I appreciate your kind review of Polo Beach Club and was happy to read that you had such a wonderful time. Please visit us again soon.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    41
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
125
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Best location if you like a quiet and peaceful place to vacation. Snorkel right off the beach heading left--saw lots of sea turtles. Well equipped condo with everything we needed. Would definitely return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RAD1353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is an excellent vacation condo with great location and great price. It has a beach access steps away from your patio. That was the 2nd time we stayed in this location and no complain. Some units are older looking than the others so you might need to look at the pictures to make sure that's what you like. The property is only well behaved children friendly though. On the bright side, it is very quiet and relaxing. Wailea is on the dry side where there is hardly any rain time so you will have every min of beach time. Make sure you rent it from Destination Resort. They provide you with warm and welcoming service. You will not be disappointed if you rent from Destination. We did that twice and looking forward to our third to this same condo in Maui.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures of different units to compare them. Some are newly remodeled and some are older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Aloha...Thank you for your review of Polo Beach Club, and your kind endorsement. We truly appreciate your loyalty and confidence in Destination Resorts Hawaii and look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had an 8 day stay at this awesome condo. The location and the beach are fabulous and would definitely stay there again. Beautiful grounds, quiet beach with good snorkeling on either end plus some visits by curious turtles when we were swimming. All balconies of this complex have a great view/size. The beach path is right at the condo and we walked it often plus walked to our Luau as well. The beaches close to Polo Beach are within walk-able distance and also had great snorkeling. We rented SUP from the neighboring resort , Fairmont I think.

Unit #609 is exactly as it appears, a bit dated in some decor but clean and well maintained. Our teen daughters really enjoyed having their own lanai for reading. On vrbo we found this unit a fair bit cheaper than other units in the complex. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpook67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The best thing about the Polo Beach Club was that we were right on the ocean! Apparently this was built before Maui had made a law that all beach front property needed to be a certain amount of feet away from the beach so its location was grandfathered in. We stayed at this property for 6 nights.
The beds were comfortable, kitchen was functional and the location was excellent! The hot water heater was half the size of a normal water heater which meant short showers (3 minutes each!) for our family of 5 and using the washer and dishwasher only when we knew we would not be taking a shower for at least 6 more hours. Also the internet was not the best internet. At first we could not get on the normal web sites we were accustomed to getting on like Facebook, trip advisor, Amazon, twitter and sites like these unless we were using dial up internet. This was very frustrating but we weren’t in Maui for this purpose so it didn’t ruin our vacation. The management was very nice and eventually got us up to date internet. Also the sheets and blankets on the beds were cheap. It was nice to fall asleep to the crashing waves. We didn’t have any issues with our kids like others did who wrote reviews here and we are a loud family who likes to have fun. The parking could use some improvement but the parking situation in Maui seemed to be the same everywhere (tight!). I liked the towels they provided for the beach. They were large and could soak up a lot of water. They also provided chairs and beach toys. The swimming pool is heated and the spa is hot.
Here’s a tip though- right next door is the Fairmont resort and they will rent you an umbrella with as many chairs as you need, you can use their towels, they provide free sun block and water and all of this costs $45!
We had a great time at the Polo Beach Club and would return here again. I just hope they put in an ideal size water heater and update their wireless.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marchdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Aloha.....We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Polo Beach Club. The property does have a great location right on the beach and I was so happy to read that you and your children had an enjoyable visit. Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have stayed at Polo Beach club over half a dozen times and several times in unit 602. The only time we do not stay in unit 602 is when it is already in use. The view is amazing, the unit is very well kept and has all the amenities that one could need. The proximity to the beach cannot be beat. There is an outdoor grill for use and even a herb garden. We will continue to come back again and again, and stay in unit 602.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mccurdy2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We recently returned from our 2nd stay at Polo Beach (units 103 and 104). The location is fantastic and is the primary reason we returned this year - it's right on a relatively quiet, uncrowded beach and at the south end of the Wailea beach path. The units we rented are a bit dated and worn but have absolutely outstanding views and access to the beach.

The beach is generally uncrowded, although it gets a bit more use from locals on weekends. There's decent snorkeling right off the point on the south end of the beach and it gets better as you go farther south on the other side of the rocks. It's great for paddleboarding in the mornings before the wind picks up. We saw so many turtles last week that we stopped counting. Access to the beach and the pool is through a locked gate which is a bit annoying but keeps the flow of people through the complex limited to occupants.

The condos we stayed in are nice enough but could use some updating. The beds and furnishings are old and are out of place for units in this price range. But the reality is that you're paying for the location, and we could sit on our lanai with the beach 10-20 yards in front of us.

One difference we noticed between this year and last was the increased presence of 1-2 "busybody" owners/residents who seemed intent on squashing any sort of fun happening on the property. We observed one woman who was admonishing the people upstairs from us for hanging towels on their lanai and gave us dirty looks when walking by our lanai which was filled with beach gear and drying bathing suits/towels. This same woman hassled my father-in-law for allowing my 5 year old to use swim fins in the pool. He wasn't splashing, just learning how to swim. We also got in trouble for kicking a soccer ball on the huge flat lawn - apparently it's meant just to be observed and not used. We heard similar stories from several other renters and it put a bit of a damper on our enjoyment as we felt like we needed to tiptoe around the property worried about breaking some other senseless rule. To be fair, we met several residents who were super-friendly and hinted that they didn't agree with the attitudes of some of their fellow residents and told us that they loved the energy that the several renter families brought to the pool and beach.

Will we return? It's hard to tell. The location is almost enough to account for any other shortcomings the property has, but the attitude of the busybodies and the silly rules may be enough to keep us away next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wailea hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,071 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polo Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polo Beach Club

Property: Polo Beach Club
Address: 4400 Makena Rd, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8492
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polo Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hidden gem bordering the Wailea Resort is noted for its prime Maui beachfront location on Polo Beach. A breathtaking, idyllic beach, guests have exclusive access to splash at the ocean's edge or venture further out to challenge the surf. Resorts amenities include a beachfront swimming pool, whirlpool spa, barbecue grills and an herb garden. Enjoy the view and sound of the ocean waves from each deluxe two-bedroom, two-bath suite. Enter through a marbled entryway that leads to a sunken living room with marvelous ocean views. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, living and dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Polo Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polo Beach Club Hotel Wailea
Polo Beach Club Maui
Polo Beach Club Wailea, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing