We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, beautiful property, can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, beautiful property, can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Andaz at Wailea, we were blown away. We were promptly greeted by the valet staff, who handled our bags and escorted us into the breathtaking lobby. We were checked in by Johnny, who was friendly and helpful. Sherman escorted us to our room, and showed us around the beautiful property. Any request we had during our stay was efficiently handled by the Guest Services team. Every detail was attended to. Every time we'd leave our room, we'd return to a slightly refreshed abode, whether it meant a turndown, fresh towels, or a full cleaning.

The pool was clean, and pool staff was eager to assist with anything and everything. Pool servers were friendly, introduced themselves, and made us feel truly welcome. The valet staff was always on top of things, and always friendly. The complimentary Wailea shuttle was fantastic, and luxurious.

The live entertainment every night was phenomenal, as was the ambience in the lobby as the sun set. We especially appreciated the General Manager's cocktail receptions on Monday and Friday.

This property is amazing. Elegant, yet casual. Effortlessly excellent. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    403
    165
    57
    31
See reviews for
558
1,422
48
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I've stayed in many hotels in the past years, but the Andaz Maui is definitely a one-of-a-kind hotel. From the moment we checked-in, we were always blown away by everything and everyone on property. The lobby is breathtaking, with the sandbox and couches everywhere. We were welcomed with a flower neckclace (after 10 days in Hawaii, I was happy to finally get one!! Great job, Andaz! ) and were invited to come back later for a complimentary welcome cocktail before dinner. The views are amazing, the pools are out of this world... I could of stay in that lobby forever. We booked a Garden View room (yes, Maui hotels are very expensive...but the Andaz's worth every penny!!!) so we were very disappointed to get a parking view. We called downstairs and they offered to upgrade us to a Partial Ocean... for a cost. Afterwards, we were absolutely delighted with our new room and almost forgot about that sad episode. They have a 24 hour Market : absolutely perfect, we would grab coffees and breakfast sandwiches quickly in the morning and sometimes snacks in the afternoon. The 2 restaurants on site are amazing. Ka'ana Kitchen is very good and the restaurant is beautiful, and the new Morimoto offers gorgeous views of the ocean. They also have complimentary snacks and drinks in the minibar (refreshed daily)... very thoughtful and convenient. Free wi-fi all over proprety (thank god! it was about time luxury hotels start offering the wi-fi to their guests...) and a complete spa with jacuzzi, sauna, etc... top of the line and absolutely free. We absolutely loved our stay and enjoyed everything about the hotel. They have a lounge for guests who are checking in/out with showers, tv, computer, etc. We stayed there after check out while we were waiting to go to the airport. Very convenient, again. They really thought about everything ! We visited the Grand Wailea and the Four Seasons next door, and were so happy with our choice. The Andaz is really a unique hotel, and I'm confident to stay is the best option on the island of Maui. We'll be back

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Partial Ocean View. For the price of the Garden Room, you absolutely dont want a parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We transfered to the Andaz Wailea from the Four Seasons because it was so beautifully designed, the rooms had gorgeous views, and the service was par excellence.
They have a small store for snacks which is open 24 hours, and they also provide free snacks juices and water in the rooms.
The beach area, although not one of the largest, is beautiful and good for kids. Their negative edge pools are stunning, and there is one area reserved for quiet adults.

If we had one complaint it would be that the Hotel Restaurant seems to be trying to be unique a little too agressively; if I had wanted "doughnuts" with my dinner entree, I would have gone to IHop! Morimoto, the Japanese fusion restaurant on the premises, is excellent.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lili W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Having stayed several times at the nearby Grand Wailea I can honestly say that The Andaz blows away the competition!!! Just like so many others have said it really is an amazing experience. What truly sets the Andaz apart is the staff. Part of the appeal is that all staff wear locally sourced clothing and it's "normal" Hawaiian beachwear as opposed to stuffy uniforms. Every staff member we spoke with was so genuine and truly happy to be working at The Andaz. Other unique things about the resort is no front desk. We arrived very late in the evening and were greeting by a staff member waiting with an Ipad to check us in. We were also greeted with a fresh floral leis, fresh squeezed lemonade and a scented towel. The grounds are beautiful and the infinity pools are amazing.

The resort is very focused on sustainability across the board but not in the way where guests are inconvenienced. They do not sell any bottled water but rather the bellman delivery refillable water bottles that guests can refill throughout the resort. In fact, you staff members ask if they can refill your water wherever you go.

Lastly, the resort does NOT charge a resort fee even though they still offer amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort (and it is fast). I cannot wait to experience the Andaz Maui again very soon.

Room Tip: Definitely want an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morristhecatchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This review is written LIVE from the Andaz Maui Hotel, opened in September 2013.

I'm extremely critical of hotels and can always find something wrong that gives me cause to complain, however at the Andaz Maui it's hard to find anything to fault without really nit picking. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by our personal concierge, there's no queuing at reception, although there isn't really one, you're checked in with an iPad and of course a refreshing drink, you already feel relaxed and you've not even got to your room.

We are in a Deluxe Ocean view room with balcony, a large room with a modern design without going OTT, large comfortable beds, separate bathroom, separate toilet, a rain shower and a bath (not all rooms have a bath). In room there's complimentary tea, coffee,and nibbles and in the mini bar there's complimentary water and soft drinks, there's also alcoholic beverages available for a charge.

There are 5 pools, 3 with infinity views and a separate tranquil pool for adults only out of the way from noise, most are heated ( I hate cold pools) and there's ample free sun beds and umbrellas by the pools and on the beautiful beach. there's also a well equipped gym. The attendants can't do enough, that runs right through all the staff and departments at the Andaz, they all do their jobs as you would expect of a hotel at this level.

There's an ample buffet breakfast in the main restaurant, or choose virtually anything you want a la carte and they'll do their best to accommodate you. Nine of us ate dinner at the Morimoto Maui Restaurant one night, the food was to die for, they had no problems accommodating such a large party, no food delays and everyone ate together, great experience.

I could go on but I'd be missing the sun, you'd need to stay here to experience all the fine aspects of the hotel, one negative comment I do have but it's not a game killer, is the $30.00 a night valet parking, there's no self park facility offered and after staying here for 13 nights it's quite an extra.

My opinion; a stunning well designed top quality luxury hotel with under 300 rooms, I'd say the number 2 property on the stunning island of Maui next to the Four Seasons but both hotels are different in their own ways, I'd return again without a second thought.

Thank you everyone at the Andaz for a memorable vacation.

Room Tip: If you want a bath in the room you'll need to book the right room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, CI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

First off, I have to say, I am extremely jealous of whoever is reading this review, as it probably means you are researching a vacation in Maui, and importantly the possibility of staying at this truly FANTASTIC hotel!

It's hard to describe just how fantastic our stay at the Andaz was. From the moment we drove up to the entrance, we knew our stay was going to be very special indeed, from the friendly and attentive valets to the gracious and smiling housekeeping staff, the hotel just oozed customer service. We were greeted by a member of the reception staff as we walked through the beautiful entrance and congratulated on our 10th anniversary (which was in our booking) there we were shown around the grounds where the true sense calm and beauty was overwhelming.

We booked an ocean view (and requested a quiet room) which is exactly what we got. Our room was on the far side of the hotel, overlooking the adults only spa pool and wonderful views of the ocean (where on one occasion I even spotted a whale)! The room of course was stunning with the most amazing bathroom I have experienced in a hotel. The free water bottles (where you can top up your water at many filling stations throughout the resort) and flip flops (slippers in USA) were also a great touch (i've never had such a comfty pair of flip flops)! Nothing was too much trouble for the pool staff either (I couldn't even fill my own water bottle up without a staff member taking it off me to do). Food around the pool was also fantastic.

Another great extra was a courtesy car (and driver) to take you anywhere within Wailea, which was great as we really wanted to try The Monkey Pod which is just a little too far to walk. They dropped us off then gave us a business card with a number to call them when we were ready to be picked up, and were there within 5 minutes, with a smile!

Evening entertainment was great, nothing too overpowering, just a number of very talented solo artists plucking away at an acoustic guitar. The new Morimoto restaurant was top class. I can't comment on the breakfast as we never went, but the snacks from the market place were fantastic (make sure you try the gluten free shortbread of they have it on special).

Something we didn't realise until we were half way through our break was just how close the Wailea shopping centre was. It was lovely to take a leisurely stroll there in the morning and grab a coffee from Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf and make our way back along the waterfront.

Overall, our stay was completely faultless! It was a shame that it was our first stop on our months holiday, as nothing else compared for the remainder of our vacation, but hey, we still have the memories, and are already hoping a return visit will be on the cards...and soon!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sweetsugar1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We can not say enough about this property or it's staff. By most standards this property is small ( under 300 rms) which made it all the more desirable for us. That's not to say that the grounds aren't spacious and well designed. Our room is perfect and is on the ground floor with an accessible walkout to a private pool just steps off our patio. All of the public spaces are beautifully appointed. The staff is very gracious and go above and beyond. We wantedto enjoy our two nights here so we opted to wait and rent a car during our stay in Lahainia. The convenience of the complimentary car service offered at the Andaz has enabled us to shop and dine off the property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank withak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
29.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Maui At Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Maui At Wailea

Property: Andaz Maui At Wailea
Address: 3550 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Maui At Wailea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Maui At Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Maui At Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing