We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience of all time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I rarely write reviews for anything, but had to post one for my recent stay at the Andaz Maui Wailea. It was the best hotel experience I've ever had. I went there for my 40th birthday with 10 friends. I couldn't possibly say one thing negative about this hotel. From the first step into the property to exiting a week later, it was truly incredible. The staff and concierge were courteous, knowledgeable and engaging. Everyone seemed to really enjoy their job which certainly reflected in my overall experience. I would highly recommend this hotel. I won't stay at any other hotel when I return to Maui.

Room Tip: Ocean View or Partial Ocean view are both exceptional rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,407 - 2,413 of 2,906 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel had distinct positives and negatives. First lets talk about the positivies. The Andaz is new and squeaky clean with a young, upbeat and energetic staff. Among the staff the valets and housekeeping are top notch. On the other end of the scale the pool attendants were hard to find and the pool drink servers were few and far between. Despite the pool service the five infiiniti pools are well done and the hotel sits on a great beach. Well, for the positivies that's about it.

Now the negatives (and there are a lot of them so we will be concise) For openers the check in was quick with a hand off to the bell man for escort to the room and an explanation of room features. That is where it ended. The bags were placed in the middle of the floor and the no explanation of room features was forthcoming. Ok, now the room and this is where things start to go downhill fast. The rooms are small, decorated white on white, very stark, and totally lacking in any hint of Hawaii. There is no place comfortable to sit in the room including the lanai. The lanai chairs were not meant to be sat upon. There is no storage if you want to unpack, room for only one medium size bag in the small closet. This is where it became very clear the rooms are designed for not more than a 3 night stay. If you are staying for a week or more there is no place to put your stuff including any place to hang a wet bathing suit. The bathroom looks like something you would find in a low end cabin on an aging cruise ship (very small). The shower is a rain shower head and a shower pan with no walls, if you dare move or splash you will either flood your bed (which sits exactly six inches from the shower) or you will flood the bathroom floor. There is no sink, just a flat slab with a drain with water that only runs at a trickle to once again avoid flooding the bathroom. The bathtub can only be accessed on one side by passing through the shower with a fill nozzle that is so small it took 90 minutes to fill the tub half way (actually tried it once). We could go on and on about the negative aspects of the hotel room; this is by far the poorest design and disfuctional hotel room ever placed in a hotel that aspires to achieve 4 or 5 star status - a tragic design miss all around. Without going in to great detail the food in the hotel is overrated and very expensive for what you get ( try much more expensive than the 4S).

Next issue is the "vibe" created in the hotel. This is south beach comes to Maui with soft hip hop music playing throughout the hotel from 9am to 9pm. After a couple of days it seems like audio water boarding. Hyatt created this hotel for the 35 and under segment of the population. Those over the age of 50 that were here looked and felt out of place ( including us). If you value the Aloha spirit, a comfortable room to shower and dress for dinner, stick with the 4S, the Farimont, or the Ritz.

We tried the Andaz and we will not be back.

Room Tip: For an oceanview room pick the 6th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank CAFlyfisher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was at the Andaz for the start of my honeymoon. Maui is a fantastic place so definitely go there but avoid this hotel. How it is rated so high on here I do not know. Rooms are small and not functional. Supposedly they have 100s of honeymooners as one of the staff told us on arrival which explains the two small pieces of chocolate we got to congratulate us on our marriage! WHAT A JOKE! I have been to many 5 star hotels but non have given us as little information on the area let alone their hotel facilities as this one. The valet were decent but for 30 dollars a day that should be expected!But the bar staff were a joke and rude. The guy slammed the drinks menu in front of my wife and looked like watering down the drink. The general service was so bad by then we spoke to the manager who gave us credit for our dinner and sparkling wine but by then it was too late. We went for dinner on our last night and were promised great service with special care from the manager the previous day. Instead all the good tables were full and we sat near the kitchen. Another promise with zero outcome, basically explaining everything about this hotel. My only impression was they were there to take and make money with no service care or attention to detail. The food in their restaurant was overpriced and basically bland. Overall the hotel and staff should have a look at themselves as they did a disservice to two honeymooners. So avoid this hotel as there are better ones just down the road!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Mehdi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We just spent 3 nights at the Andaz after 2 stays at the Four Seaons in prior years. First the good - it was less expensive for comparable room than the 4S, is very modern and stylish, has a great bar with good entertainment to watch the sunset, and better service than many hotels. However, the service was spotty and not the level of the 4S or Ritz. Also, as many others have mentioned, the lanai chairs are tortuous. One of our favorite things to do is enjoy coffee on the lanai first thing in the morning. The chairs were not comfortable enough to sit in more than 5 minutes and the coffee provided in the room is instant. Not my ideal way to begin the day. In fact most chairs in the lobby were uncomfortable as well. I hope service improves with experience, but for now it is not first class.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TexKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second time staying in Wailea and first time at this hotel. We were impressed. Rooms are smaller but very well appointed. I would have liked a chest of drawers but otherwise it was very comfortable. The hotel has 5 pools so no one was ever too crowded and you could always get a seat (without sitting behind another row of chairs). Beach was very nice and walkable. They had chairs and umbrellas they would set up for you. Breakfast buffet was amazing. The appearance of the spa was just okay (not really impressed with the locker room) but the services were some of the best I have ever had. I felt the crazy spa prices were actually worth it. Cocktails were pricey by the pool but delicous. Be sure to try the lobster grill cheese and the poke bowl. Yum. Felt like it was more of an adult type of place although a few kids were there. Overall - if given a chance to go again, I wouldn't hesitate.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chicagoan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We loved everything about this Resort. We were returning guests and the hotel was just as amazing as it was when it first opened, if not better. The staff is unlike any other resort we have ever been to. The rooms are amazing and the grounds of the hotels (including the 6 pools) are stunning. We LOVED what they had to offer at the beach and all of the activities. The guys working down there are wonderful and we had a great time doing the standup paddle boards and we saw turtles almost daily as we dipped into the ocean to cool off.The food and drinks cannot be beat. Breakfast is our favorite out of anywhere we have been in the world (and we have traveled a lot). The experience is so wonderful and anything we asked for they can do. Lunch by the pool is of amazing quality and the staff is great at even keeping your waters full so you don't get dehydrated. Dinner at Ka'ana is spectacular!! We even highly recommend the chef's tasting which we did on our last night and might have been our best meal of our lives! So much fun watching the chefs at work. We loved their partnership with Pacific Dream Photography who captured our last night wonderfully. Their complementary wifi is also fantastic. After 27 years of coming to Maui, we will never stay anywhere else again! We celebrated our honeymoon after much debate on where to go and we couldn't have made a better choice. After a 14 night stay we were sad to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Andaz for two nights this past week so that we could visit the Wailea part of Maui. The reviews are all correct. The hotel is new, very modern and pricey. The rooms were very high tech and clean with an awesome rain shower. Our view was ocean front so that was amazing. I would recommend this hotel highly for a younger crowd that loves the contemporary and Asian style. We enjoyed it but since we are in our 50's, we prefer the island style such as the other Hyatts on kauai and West Maui. Hawaii is beautiful hands down so anywhere you stay is a winner! Also, we stayed with points so money for the room wasn't an issue and we got the breakfast included. It's $45 a head and while very good, I wouldn't pay that much to eat breakfast out of my own pocket:)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoegirl117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Maui At Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Maui At Wailea

Address: 3550 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £363 - £748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Maui At Wailea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz Maui At Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Maui At Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing