We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine sushi at Marimoto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Divine sushi at Marimoto”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great room - large, airy, well equipped, immaculate and good sea view, even with a kettle to make proper English tea.
Wonderful service almost to the cusp of being oppressive, like swapping your used napkin for a clean one every time you get up - I counted 5 napkins one buffet breakfast.
Nice pools, although just under full size length (approx 20 metres) if you are into lap swimming.
Very pleasant seaside walkway along to the other hotels at Wailea and the shopping mall made for relaxing and varied days and dinners without the hassle of driving/traffic.
Best part: Chirashi sushi dish at the Marimoto restaurant was absolutely divine
Worst part: Rip-off $30.00 per night car parking charge, with no alternative available - almost as much as the daily hire cost of our compact
Missing part: Nowhere to dry swimming costumes or wetsuits - not allowed on balcony and no washing line over bath - when we asked they provided a concierge's trolley - see photos

Room Tip: We had a Partial Ocean View King room, which had an unobstructed view of the beach, ("Ocean Vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonGGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,907
    433
    183
    62
    35
See reviews for
619
1,547
50
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The Andaz is all about the experience! We loved the little details like the employee titles like "experience manager" and the way the staff felt like friends. It's a stunning property but also great for kids! The suite was ideal for our family of 4. we will 100% return here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanaaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My first impression of this hotel/resort was that it was trying too hard to be different, but it IS different in the most wonderful ways. There is no traditional check-in desk. Each guest is greeted by a polite and relaxed host who handles the registration via an IPad while another person brings you a beverage. Each guest is given a water bottle and filtered water stations are placed throughout the property. A salute to their green business model. The lobby space is a very "Zen" type area open to the amazing views of the multilevel pool and expansive ocean Vista. The room we had was a bit smaller than expected, but wonderfully appointed and furnished in a contemporary and green fashion. The view was as lovely as that from the lobby! Motorized window shades allowed as much privacy as desired with room darkening shades being an option. Use this option until your jet lag is reduced. The food was better than in many of the other resorts I've been in and was generally locally sourced and organic. Coffee and fresh pineapple was complementary in the lobby every morning. Golf and tennis are near by and the amenities on property were lovely. This resort really makes an effort to reduce their carbon footprint and make you feel special while they're doing it. It is beautiful and top notch! If you ever have the chance to go, do it!

Room Tip: There are floors below the lobby level. The lower floors may have less open views, but we were on 4...
See more room tips
Green Features: This resort gets a 2 thumbs up for putting into practice what most resorts only talk about. Quite eco friendly,
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ-ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Yes, this is a beautiful resort and great for honeymooners. Maybe it was reading all of the reviews, but I had high expectations and for $500 a night, I don't think this place lived up to all of them. The food is wonderful, the pools are beautiful, the sunsets are priceless. But the customer service needs some improvement, for example, even though we were told the shuttle would take you anywhere in the area, they wouldn't drive us uphill to a massage studio one mile away because it was "not in the direction they go in". Really? Its a car, you can take it any direction you want. The snorkeling trip from the hotel is very expensive, but amazing. We were promised a 2 hour tour (for $220) and only taken out for an hour and 15 minutes. To the hotel's credit, they comped us the price of one person on the tour, which I appreciate, but I would've much rather had the second hour I paid for. And I understand its Maui, but they seem to charge prices more insane than any other place. Overall, I wouldn't go back unless I had points to use.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaZ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We love Wailea and wanted to experience the "New Kid on the Block". So, we went to our favorite place first and came to the Andaz for 2 nights at the end of our trip. It's just OK. The rooms are nice and new and clean, but not that comfortable. The patio chairs are ridiculously uncomfortable and have no business at an expensive resort.

The infinity pools are wonderful - the chairs by the pool very comfortable. The pool service is also great.

We booked 2 adjoining rooms, but ended up with 2 rooms on 2 different floors. That was a bummer.

The partiers in the pool/hot tub till well after midnight did not help us sleep. And that was with our door completely closed. One of the reasons we love coming to Maui is to sleep with fresh air but that was not possible here. Maybe the rooms on the other side of the building might be quieter.

The staff is very friendly and nice - all the way from the valet to the beach crew.

Would we visit here again? Probably not. We even gave a review to the hotel itself expecting maybe a credit for another visit? A free drink? Nothing.

Seems like maybe they are catering to a younger, noisier, less-respectful crowd than we like to hang out with.

Anyway, we are not usually complainers but this hotel just did not work for us.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room facing the pool unless you don't require much sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieSB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is my first review ever on TripAdvisor and it's because of how wonderful our stay was. My wife, daughter and I just returned from a week stay and Andaz Maui ranks at the top of the best resorts we've ever experienced. From the moment you check in, to the outstanding pools, restaurant, and valet services you're in for a real treat. The 3 infinity pools were great for adults, as was the large kids/family pool at the bottom level. The adults-only pool was hardly used because the other pools were very seldom run over with kids. This was the first time our daughter was interested in doing a kids club, and she ended up doing 4 days in a row. And it's complementary during the day. We got a pretty good deal on jetsetter which also included the unlimited, fresh breakfast buffet for 2 every day. Snorkeling at the beach right in front of the resort is some of the best on the island. You don't even need a car as the hotel will shuttle you to/from places within a reasonable distance. All in all an incredible stay. Can't wait to book next year's trip.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room at the end of the hall where it's pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaliforniaTom1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Just checked out today after 6 night stay with family/2 connecting rooms. I cannot get over how superb the service is at this hotel; we had a very busy itinerary and encountered several minor issues, many due to changing minds in my family. Everyone at this hotel was stellar in every respect. Changes were handled efficiently; the few problems we had were addressed instantly, and so many employees here are extraordinarily well trained. The food at the beach bar is superb (don't miss the ahi poke dish), and the two on premise restaurants are excellent. The 24 hour market makes great muffins and paninis and room service is quickly handled. My son left a backpack in our taxi a few hours ago; the hotel has already located it and will ship to us immediately. I cannot praise this place enough; beautiful ambience, great pools everywhere, nice fitness center, and the most helpful staff imaginable. A+ across the board....beautiful setting and superb hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thisgoesto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Maui At Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Maui At Wailea

Property: Andaz Maui At Wailea
Address: 3550 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Maui At Wailea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Maui At Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Maui At Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing