We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afraid to Review It Because I Don't Want To Have This Place Overrun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This place was killer on all levels. We stayed for 8 nights and had paid for a garden view room and found ourselves treated to a full ocean view room for our entire stay. The staff from the moment you check in are fantastic. I love the relaxed way you are greeted and the simple, yet elegant, lobby.

The restaurants and food are fantastic. Whether it be the breakfast buffet or a treat for dinner at Morimotos, everything was top shelf.

My favorite thing about the hotel is how they break the pools up into levels. This gives you a chance to stay in different areas with varying views of the ocean and pools. If you decide you want to avoid the families, there is a great adult-only option as well. As the hotel is situated at the end of the hotel row, there is not a lot of traffic by other guests. You really get a sense of privacy and seclusion.

This is by far my new favorite on the island and will make sure I stay here on any trip through Maui.

Room Tip: Make sure to take the time to enjoy the art from artist Shane Robinson in the lobby. Very cool phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,162 - 2,168 of 2,787 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

After hearing great things about Andaz, I decided to try it for a couple of nights during the past Maui Film Festival, and I LOVED IT!! First off, I had an awesome room with views of the 2 infinity pools, and the beach! The room was very modern, with the most awesome bathroom. It was easy to see how well the entire staff was trained to ensure client satisfaction and it shows! I was impressed with everyone from the moment I was greeted, from the Valets, to the pool waitpersons, to the beach staff! Big smiles, and they genuinely cared! Congratulations to the General Manager, Michael Stephens, for a great job running a jewel of a resort in Wailea, Maui! I will be back, again and again!

Room Tip: I bet you could not find a bad room! The view of the infinity pools, and the beach is a hard combina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 1MauiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a medium sized very modern hotel situated on a nice beach in the midst of Wailea. The staff are very friendly with the restaurant and pool staff remembering you by name. Service is exceptional (the only exception being the very grumpy guy manning the omelet station everyday at breakfast). The beach is great - the snorkeling only so-so. There was always enough room on the beach and the beach guys were quick to set up lounge chairs and an umbrella whenever we were down there - only issue was that it is a public beach so there was a constant parade of people walking along it making it feel congested at times. One issue with the resort is that there is no onsite tennis - you have to take the shuttle to a nearby tennis court - this is inconvenient to say the least. The four pools are well designed and perfect for cooling off. The two restaurants have good food - a cut above most hotels on Maui. Breakfast can get expensive for a family of three ($120 plus) if you have the buffet. Rooms are well designed and decorated, beds very comfortable - only issue with rooms is there is nowhere to hang wet clothes and they forbid you from drying things on balcony (destroys the look of the hotel -according to the posting in the room) - so they need to come up with some alternative. The hotel is only about 30 minutes from the airport so very convenient location. All in all a great hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: Don't get a garden view room - its code for facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank EricLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We just returned from a stay at the Andaz in July. We stayed on the island for 15 nights and splurged the last 5 days of our trip here. It was our 10 year anniversary celebration and we were really looking forward to being pampered. I am normally a Ritz Carlton girl but with the reviews and wanting to try the sunny side of the island we thought this would be wonderful. It was a huge splurge at 500.00 a night but hey you only live once right? When we arrived I wasn't blown away by the entrance and wasn't sure immediately if we had made the right choice. The check in process was kind of awkward too. I appreciate the idea of it but I wasn't sold on it either. I hated that I felt so disappointed but it didn't feel as grand as I had thought it would. The attendant that showed us to our room was nice and gave us a run down on the room and how everything worked but again after paying for a room upgrade I was SOOO disappointed in our "partial ocean view" We could really only see the rooftops of the villas and the adult pool. It was on the 2nd floor and I felt so cheated for the price we were paying. Maybe we've always been lucky but the Ritz has upgraded us to a suite every time at check in so I felt sad that THIS was the room we got for our 10 year. I could not relax over it and finally went and found a manager to speak to about it. Jonessa is who I spoke to and she finally made me feel better and more relaxed and said she would get us in a new room the next day. That room was so awful really. The shower door was so rickety that it barely opened and the wind was just howling under the door in the morning so I am so glad we got a new room. They did move us to the other side of the hall and up two floors and the view was OUTSTANDING from it however from a comfort level I will NEVER understand why they put the lounge chairs they are using now. They are truly awful and so uncomfortable that you can barely sit in them before you hurt all over but I did love being able to hear the music playing from the lounge bar while we got ready at night.
We did love the infinity pools and the beach was really awesome. It was so nice to actually be able to have chairs on the beach too. The bar and pool staff was really great! Le'hua was so sweet and such a joy to get to know. Holly, Chad, Archer and Sy were amazing too! Had some really good laughs with all them. Got an amazing recommendation to do the chef's table at Ka'hana kitchen and that paid off. One of the best things we did on our whole trip to Maui. What an experience we had! Sy and Le'hua took care of us that night and made it that much better. The Chef was so great and the food was beyond amazing! I would do this again in a heartbeat.
Morimoto's was big disappointment as I am a HUGE fan of his and felt like the food was MEH...really sad actually that it didn't live up to the hype.
However the lobster grilled cheese totally did live up to it. That was so good and really all the food was delicious all and all. The flatbread pizzas from the market are fantastic as well.
We had spa treatments and did enjoy the spa and the people. I wish the steam room was adjoining with the men. I would have loved to sit in there together after our couples massage. My husband said he had the best massage he's ever had.
The last night of our stay Jonessa had a bottle of really nice champagne sent up with a beautiful plate of fruit and honestly that was such a HUGE gesture and made up for the first night of our stay. I was impressed with that and felt like we mattered.
All and in all the service was fantastic and the modern feel is pretty cool but I am not 100% sure I feel it is in the same level of a Ritz or the FS just yet. I loved it overall and by the end really felt like we had made some friends but there was just something missing for the price of it all.
We had one other mishap worth mentioning..we went over the FS for dinner one night and when we were ready to leave we had them call for our ride...20 mins went by and no one...another 15-20 mins went by and finally the FS offered to take us back. I really don't think this should happen at such a high end resort. Luckily we did see a manager and they apologized and even gave us a voucher for drinks which was a nice gesture) so again they did correct or try to correct the issue and I do appreciate that but it would be better if these annoyances were kept to a rare occasion.
Lastly but not least they did extend our stay for us until 6:30 in the evening even though it seemed to be very busy that night. Lots of check-ins that day and it felt full so I do really appreciate being able to stay in our room to the last second and enjoy the hotel at the fullest. It was hard enough to say goodbye to beautiful Maui so that ended the trip on a wonderful note!
I would say we would go back but not at the 500.00 price range. If we got it at around the 300.00 otherwise I might really splurge for the FS and come over to enjoy drinks and dinner and see the staff that we fell in love with over our stay.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in room 234. It was awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jmodgeqt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a great stay at the Andaz Maui. The property was beautiful and new, and service impeccable. However, we actually prefer the Hyatt Regency Maui more because the Andaz did not have as warm an atmosphere as the Hyatt Regency Maui. The Andaz felt more uptight, and was not as relaxing.

PRO's:
- Gorgeous new property
- Huge, beautiful suite
- Luxurious bathroom in suite
- Outstanding service from all staff
- Large breakfast buffet
- Great pool service, easy to find lounge chairs
- Nice pools for swimming laps

CON's:
- "Uptight" atmosphere not very relaxing
- Not much to do in the location around the hotel

Room Tip: Suites are huge and gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank shinywings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, the Andaz was so fantastic! Spectacular views with four pools cascading down to the beautiful beach! The cast of the Andaz gave a superb performance during our stay at their hotel. They're friendly, warm, and give over the top service… especially the pool crew Heather, Christina, Tasha, and Tia! The food was also outstanding and the spa was incredible! We highly recommend making the Andaz your first choice when staying on Maui!

Room Tip: Connecting rooms are great for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We are here on our honeymoon and I couldn't picture a better place to spend it. The andaz Maui is phenomenal. Not only is the location and view fantastic but I've never came across an entire staff as nice and helpful as everyone has been here. From the second we walked in to every time we walk thru the lobby, this place is filled with people who care about your stay and have been helpful with anything we needed. Chad the bar manager has been so hospitable from the second we arrived and laid out by the pool. Brooke and Travis behind the bar have been so much fun and helped make this trip memorable. Not to mention Hollie's awesome recommendations for food and Kai, heather and Le'hua's awesome service. Overall everything has been perfect and I cannot wait to come back!!! And p.s the lavender lemonade is to die for!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScheanaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Maui At Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Maui At Wailea

Address: 3550 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £399 - £1,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Maui At Wailea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Maui At Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Maui At Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing