We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walkable, nicely furnished, but not truly beachfront” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wailea Elua Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wailea Elua Village
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Walkable, nicely furnished, but not truly beachfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Elua Village is well located in terms of being able to walk to the Wailea Shops, restaurants and coffee shops. It is also beautifully maintained and the units are well furnished. Elua Village is technically on the beach, but only the 2-4 units right in front have good ocean views. And even that is not as good as some other properties on that beach, like the Polo Club or Mana Kai on the other end. Even though Mana Kai is arguably less posh than Elua, I would stay there instead, because of the spectacular surf and sand views and proximity. Polo Club I like even better because it is the same as Elua in comfort and walkability to Wailea stores and shops, but is right on the beach - you can hear and see the surf crashing on the sand. There are a lot more units in Polo Beach that give you these views. If you are happy with seeing the ocean somewhat in the distance, without seeing the surf and sand, Elua is great. But for closer views, try Polo Club or Mana Kai. The snorkeling is great off the beach for all three places.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InformedDecision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Elua Village, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Aloha....Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Both Wailea Elua Village and Polo Beach Club are wonderful condominium properties, but if you are right about Polo Beach Club. You can't beat its location right on the beach with all units overlooking the water.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    61
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
154
92
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were so excited to arrive at our condo. We decided to stay here because friends had recommended the property. That's the key.....property! When we arrived, the check-in staff was impressive and professional. They said our unit was a "lovely unit". We walked in, the condo had a stale odor, the furniture was from the 70's at best and very old and out dated. Well...then I went to brush my teeth and there were ants all over the bathroom counter. Yuk! I called and was told that "there is nothing we can do and it must just be my personal taste as far as the decor." The ants? "Well, there are ants in Hawaii!" They couldn't move us as there were no more available units. There was no mention of doing anything about the ants but someone showed up a couple hours later and set traps in the bathroom. That helped. Two days later, the ants were in the master closet so we had to call again. To say the least, we were very disappointed. We will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Look at a 4 or 5 star resort. Much better value for less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Elua Village, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Aloha....Please accept my apologies for not providing you with the accommodations that you were expecting and the customer service that you deserved. If we were unable to find you another unit to move to, we should have addressed and responded to your concerns with more urgency. We appreciate the feedback and we are sharing it with our staff.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We are just finishing an eight day stay at Wailea Elua Village unit 406. The location of Elua Village is fantastic, the grounds are great and the pool and beach are lovely. Unit 406 is the unit closest to the road, but that didn't bother us at all. 406 is a two bedroom, two bathroom large condo with a great layout. However, the owner needs to do some updating in order to justify the nightly rate. All three TVs are so old (and small) you can't plug an Apple TV into them, the DVD player in the living room doesn't work at all, the toilets and shower head have pressure/flow issues, the fridge needs to be replaced as it has rust stains on the front etc etc. If these issues were taken care of, my rating would go from 3.5 to 5.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kbinns26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The only good thing about this place is it's location. The buildings are old and outdated and the pools are small and outdated as well. We stayed here for 5 nights and will not be coming back. Our stay here cost just as much as a deluxe ocean view suite at the Fairmont, which we enjoyed 100 per cent. Our unit was dirty and not worth the $1,000 a night price tag. Stay away from this place!

Room Tip: Don't stay in unit 1002 - it's dirty and needs lots of repairs.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Albertamother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We've been staying at Wailea Elua Village for over ten years. The property and grounds are beautiful! Two pools, and fabulous beach access. It's nice to stay somewhere with your own kitchen and space. We would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We've stayed beachfront and garden, and both are lovely! Being on a one level is always nice if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Elua Village, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Aloha...Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we appreciate your loyalty to Elua Village.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Elua Village is one of the prime holiday rental locations in Wailea. The grounds are lush and they have a clubhouse/pool facility right near the beach (however, the gym is tiny and the equipment barely functional...for the amount of people that use the gym (including people with trainers), I can't understand why they don't enlarge the space and update the equipment). The property is at the start of the Wailea paved beach walk that continues along the ocean front to Polo Beach. We have used a number of the rental agencies over the years and it seems that Destination Resort has the biggest selection of rental units in the area. 1602 is an upper floor one bedroom unit and close enough to the beach such that you can hear the surf at night. The kitchen has been updated and is fully equiped which is nice if you plan to cook your meals. There is a large closet in the bedroom (with lots of hangers). There are two bathrooms which also have been updated, one with a shower and another with a tub/shower. The deck furniture is in good shape. We didn't use the barbeque. We wouldn't rent this unit again because the king bed was tired and seemed to sag on one side. There was evidence of termites each day on the counter in the guest washroom...I suspect the management company will address that issue fairly quickly. The carpet in the main living area was noticeably stained. When renting units in Elua Village always ask if the unit has been updated...most have pictures posted on the web and reputable agencies like Destination Resort will provide candid feedback of the condition of the rental units. Unfortunately, some of the owners want to collect the big rents but refuse to reinvest in their properties. With regards to #1602, it is time to update the flooring in the main living area and invest in a new bed.

Room Tip: seeccomments above
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Greenwiz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Elua Village, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Aloha....I would like to thank you for your honest review of Elua Village and unit 1602. We truly appreciate you graciously informing us of our shortcomings and alerting us to improvements that need to be done. Guest feedback such as yours is invaluable in our continuing efforts to improve our services.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Out of all the accommodations available, we choose Elua Village because we wanted to feel like we lived in Hawaii. We certainly accomplished that. We had breakfast in the condo every morning. There were a few days when we ate lunch then walked to Ulla Beach for the best snorkeling in Wailea. We also used the BBQ & had dinner on the lanai during sunset.

This condo was very clean & nothing seemed to be outdated. It's located on the second floor, which maximizes the stunning view. The surroundings were quiet. However, we were up & out early most days. So we didn't hear much gardening/mowing going on. Also, parking is conveniently located right outside the door.

Ulla Beach is a 5 minute walk away. On the way back from the beach, there are foot washing stations. Including one at the bottom of the stairs before walking inside. The shops of Wailea is a short walk (along the ocean) from the condo.

I couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa11167822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Elua Village, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Aloha....We appreciate you posting a review of Wailea Elua Village. It is a wonderful property and stunning is the exact description of the view from your lanai. Please come back and visit again soon.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wailea hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
0.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Wailea Ekahi Village
Wailea Ekahi Village
#2 of 8 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wailea Beach Villas
Wailea Beach Villas
#1 of 8 in Wailea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Elua Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Elua Village

Property: Wailea Elua Village
Address: 3600 Wailea Alanui Dr, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wailea Elua Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Ulua Beach, this private Wailea condo resort spans 24 acres of manicured lawns and gardens. Catering to an adult crowd where peace and relaxation are primary, there is easy access to the Shops at Wailea as well as the Wailea Beach Walk - a 1/2 mile path that wanders Maui's coastline through stunning sandy beaches, Hawaiian cultural sites and gardens, and the luxury seaside homes and resorts of Wailea. Outstanding amenities include two swimming pools, a whirlpool spa, paddle tennis court, putting green and BBQ facilities. Beautifully appointed 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom condos feature a separate living/dining area, fully equipped kitchen, private lanai or patio with barbecue grill and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wailea Elua Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Elua Village Hotel Wailea
Wailea Elua Village Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing