We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polo Beach

Polo Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$179.00*
and up
Hawaiian Sailing Canoe Adventure
Ranked #8 of 40 things to do in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very nice beach in the Wailea area. The days we went the ocean was not to rough and the water was very clear. Beach seemed to be large enough to accommodate the crowd from the surrounding resorts and was quiet enough to relax, not really overcrowded as some of the beaches in area appeared.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sbconsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    70
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Magical Little Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We love this beach. While staying at the Kea Lani it definitely feels like a private beach, although it is public. Great swimming , snorkeling and smooth sand. Great place to sit on a lounge chair and watch the kids body surf.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great beach for swimming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

One thing I didnt expect on my trip to Hawaii was that so many beaches were not swimmable. My resort sat on this beach (The Fairmont Kea Lani) and I was so glad that it did. This beach was very nice and you could swim there without having to hike down the road. We did do the boogie boards, and there are perfect waves to do so, without getting hurt. I also saw a lot of fish as I swam. There are rocks however, so while swimming you need to remain aware, because you do tend to drift further down the beach from the currents.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kryss P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good body boarding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This beach is at the southern terminus of the Wailea beachfront trail, directly at the end of the Fairmont. I love this beach, and not just because of its proximity to the villas at the Fairmont. This is a great sandy beach with very easy entry. On any decent day you will see many a boogie boarder lined up and waiting for a nice wave break to ride in. This is great for hours of entertainment. You can also snorkel at the north end where the volcanic rock begins but it is often choppy and can be a difficult and dangerous entry. The best way to see this nice coral area is to go north to the the southern end of wailea beach, which is more protected, and snorkel south to polo beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gregjmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos Ski Valley, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Polo Beach is OK, not the best along the Wailea Coast Line. This is next to a private condo and Kea Lani Hotel and there are better beaches to go to. Like White Rock just next door.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polo Beach also viewed

 

Been to Polo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing