We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Most beautiful beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keawakapu Beach

Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My in-laws have a condo on this beach, and it's the best! The beach is long, mile plus walks in the morning to start your day off. It's long and flat with turtles crusing along if you keep your eyes open for them. Whales during the winter as well. Easy access for people who are visiting just the beach. Check it out if your in the Kihei area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilybet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    54
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Right outside our door”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This beach was right outside our condo complex door. The beach has really good snorkeling on the north point. The waves were not too big for our family. It was never too crowded, even when it was busy. Very diverse, lots of couples and families.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fireweedheavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great walking beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This beach is great for walking! It is flatter than most, so it is easy to stroll along. There is plentiful parking at both ends, but I recommend parking in the large lot at the north end, across the street from the beach access entrance. Parking at the south end is mostly taken up by local residents. There is a 'shower' available to clean off your feet when you exit. We have observed many weddings taking place on this beach. It IS public with great views!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Grumpy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite beach in Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

After our trip our friends agree, this was the best beach we visited in Maui. Beach is quite long so there is a lot of open space. We were able to get a parking space in the lot at the south end of South Kihei Road. Clear water and sand for enjoyable swimming.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 358andrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach around Kihei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We very much enjoyed this beach while we stayed in Kihei. It's exactly what we'd imagine a Maui beach to be. It was great for a sunset stroll (after pupus and drinks at 5 Palms), then a nice swimming beach a few days later. If you're a walker, this beach is long enough to keep your interest, and as you get to the south end, it connects up with the Wailea beach path that fronts all the hotels. There are multiple public parking areas. Starting from the North, you can park in the gravel lot by the Mauna Kai condos, or continue down the S. Kihei road (stay right at the fork) to the end and there's a nice parking lot with a shower. Or take the main road around to Wailea and take the Ulua Beach parking (watch for the yellow gates to your right, otherwise you'll miss it). This last one is technically Ulua beach, but it connects up to Keawakapu if you walk north. As mentioned by other reviewers, it can get pretty windy mid afternoon (as with most of Kihei). We prefer this beach since it much less crowded than Wailea (by far), and Big Beach.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Chestnutmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keawakapu Beach also viewed

 

Been to Keawakapu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing