We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach and great snorkeling!”
Review of Keawakapu Beach

Ranked #2 of 42 things to do in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and great snorkeling!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Palms in Wailea so thi beach was not far at all to get to. There is a large parking lot across the street (free) for easy access. The beach is beautiful and has some good snorkeling which I found helped break up the beach day. Waves aren't too big here if that is what you are looking for. This is also a grey spot for morning runs and walks, I ran down here a few mornings and the went for a stroll along the beach. There is a yoga studio in the hotel that offers a 7am class on the grass overlooking the beach - it was great!!! Overall this was on of our favouriye beaches to spend the day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MissNat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    63
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

If you are staying on the south side of Maui, this beach is definitely worth spending some time at. It's rarely crowded like some of the beaches in Kihei, there's always a great spot at Keawakapu. The best time to come is just before sunset, some of the best sunsets on Maui are seen from this beach. Parking can be a little tricky to find, especially on the north end of the beach where the lot is usually full my mid morning. One of the best beaches on South Maui!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great uncrowded beach”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Free parking across the street. Beach access via paved walkway. Beach shower. Bike rack. Did not see any bathroom. Very uncrowded beach. Mostly private homes along beach. Fine, white sand. Very comfortable. Some rocks in surf however very visible and we went in the water a bit further down sand without rocks went as far out as up to our heads in water.

Helpful?
1 Thank nate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“This Beach has Terrific Snorkeling!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We enjoyed this beach and the adjacent Kihei Surfside so much last year, we brought our adult kids along this year. We snorkeled at a number of Kihei beaches, but this was our favorite in 2014. Amazing diversity...saw lots of turtles (especially right off from the Yoga Studio), eels, snake eels, loads of fish, including hard to spot flounder, a jellyfish, and even a stingray!! Best snorkeling is off to the right as you enter the beach. You can work your way all the way down to the Kihei Boat Ramp.
Recommend the snorkel rental shop right at the Mana Kai...the equipment is good quality and reasonably priced. If you buy a discount card, you can save some money--especially if you rent paddle boards.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank golformeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigham City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice beach.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice beach. It wasn't super crowded and it had a nice long stretch of sand. I enjoyed taking a jog on the beach in the morning and swimming in the afternoons. Our hotel (Mana Kai Maui) was perched on the beach, I think it would be a tough location to beat.

Helpful?
Thank rainn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keawakapu Beach also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Keawakapu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing