We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beach on Maui. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ulua Beach

Ulua Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$179.00*
and up
Hawaiian Outrigger Canoe and Snorkel Adventure
Ranked #3 of 40 things to do in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best snorkeling spot in Wailea.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best beach on Maui. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Love this spot. Great snorkeling, beach walking, people watching, but the best part is it's a great place to sit and so a bunch if nothing. I do my best thinking right here. Totally relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank TexanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    148
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish and turtles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Awesome access and great abundance of fish. Saw two sea turtles which were the highlight of our day!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HabsLuva2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

There are better places to snorkel (Honolua and Ahihi) but for easy access (drive right up and drop family before parking), facilities, kid friendly beach and ease of access to the snorkeling area, I think this is the best place on the island. The walking trail that takes off south from here is perfect for my wife. The beach satisfies the kids, and all of them can see lots of fish and usually turtles with a nice easy entry and short swim. The only downside is the relatively limited area of snorkeling and the traffic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jdsewell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Loved the snorkeling but a bit crowded at times. The water stayed calm even with the wind. Water was also nice and clear.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ottolino5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We loved this beach. The sand is so soft, even out into the ocean. Our day was hazy so not much luck with fish but a couple turtles were swimming around. There is a lot of lava rock off to the sides for some small tide pools and, on sunny days, great snorkeling. Two showers to rinse off the sand but only porta potties.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank eyeileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ulua Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ulua Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing