We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing and Awesome”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We decided to splurge for our 25th wedding anniversary and book the Four Seasons for 6 nights in early December. It was one of the best vacations we have had; felt totally relaxed from the moment we got there and was very sad to leave. The resort is stunning and the staff were great. We had great expectations due to all the reviews, and are delighted to say, we were not disappointed. As we were celebrating our anniversary, we did receive a bottle of champagne from the Manager.
We were slightly disappointed, that there was no treat left at the turndown service, other than that, everything was great, including the infinity pool, which we did not have any problems with getting lounges there, the attendants were always very friendly and helpful.
Do yourself a favour, treat yourself and stay here. It is expensive but well worth every penny!
We have never felt more relaxed on a holiday.
We are looking forward to a repeat trip at the end of this year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank goslats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,950
    474
    200
    91
    47
See reviews for
1,140
2,550
74
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wailea, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The Gym and amenities at the Four Seasons Wailea has easy access and excellent service ! The staff are knowledgeable ,attentive and discreet. The business centre , yes on a holiday, is very convenient and the complimentary espresso is a surprise in this hotel . Highly reccomend a cocktail or dinner at this property even of you're not a registered guest! Bravo

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Valuetrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I had an amazing stay at the 4 Seasons Wailea. We booked via Amex FHR, we had a great King Ocean view room. Large lanai, large room. The Amex booking includes a basic continental breakfast buffet that we upgraded for 10$ per day to the full buffet breakfast.
As one of the other reviewers pointed out there was one night that they had to do a required electrical upgrade, they warned us well in advance the electricity in the entire resort would be off for a few hours in the middle of the night, one of the other reviewers complained about this, but it doesn't seem like there was any alternative and it didn't really impact us much at all except for the one night when it was a bit warm but no real big deal.
The resort overall was amazing, very helpful staff at every turn. No problems getting a pool chair or beach chairs, the adult pool is on the small side with limited seating but hey, its a big resort, go to the beach! I can imagine that during peak times the pool areas can get quite crowded so if you flexible I would avoid those times, we went the week after thanksgiving and the crowds had cleared out so the place was not crowded. If you can't hit an off time you should definitely expect a crowd.
Most of the things I have seen people complain about in these reviews are often one time events or are small things that seemed to cause an inordinate amount of distress to the reviewer i.e. the princess and the pea. The other common complaint is about the cost, yep the hotel is expensive, yes that includes the room, the food, the spa... whatever, its not like you don't know that going in...not sure what people were expecting, Maui is expensive and this is the most expensive (or perhaps second most) place on the island.
However, if you are looking for a great resort vacation, relaxation, sun, and fun in Maui and you have a good sized budget for your trip, look no further.
Also you should check out Eskimo Candy in Kihei for Poke at some point, go early they run out, get a Poke bowl...you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ocean view is like an ocean peak
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlbusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Maybe it was because I had heard such great things and had commensurately high expectations, and had found it hard to book over the years, that I was so hugely disappointed.
The underlying problem is the hotel is too big especially for the land it sits on. It was squeezed onto a site with too little beach frontage to accommodate a deluxe property; not that any 380 room industrially designed property can operated in a personal way.
In order to squeeze 380 rooms onto the site the greedy developers had to build rooms that mostly look across an open space at other rooms. If one peeks in the direction of the water one may glimpse it.
I booked this as an “ocean view” suite. For an airport Hilton that may be fine but this is the “Four Seasons Maui” the “World’s Best Resort” and I expected more. I certainly paid for it. And I flew 11 hours to enjoy it.
Being too big also negatively effects the operation of the resort. 750 or more guests are too many to enjoy the small but beautiful bratless pool. If one expects to arise at a leisurely hour, have a breakfast at the typically lush buffet and go to the pool without screaming, splashing kids, one will be shocked. No reserved seating. Not enough pool lounges and they are on a first come basis. Other guests actually awake at 7 am to claim their lounge. I never would do so, never get one before late in the day.
Needing to adjust my schedule to the hotels is not something I come to a Four Seasons for.
The beach was not quiet retreat either. Aside from being not big, it is shared with the nearby Fairmont and anyone who walks from other resorts.
The size also means that the hotel will be marketed for bigger weddings, which are a nightmare for regular guests. A horde of loud drunken over-privileged 20 something’s partying to all hours is the reason I stopped going to Round Hill. Here, when I was in residence they were omnipresent.
Aside from knowing I was in too big a place, I also did not know where I was. Was this Florida? Mexico? California? The property was totally devoid any Hawaiian ambiance. No place on the property was there anything unique or special that made me feel that it was worth spending the 11 long hours on the plane to come here as opposed to spending only 3hrs to enjoy the smaller, more personal Four Seasons in Palm Beach.
My advice to readers who are considering Four Seasons Maui; don’t waste your time or your money. This property is not worth it.
My conclusion is if you want a real Four Seasons experience go elsewhere. If you want Four Seasons in Hawaii go to the smaller more personal Hualalai or quieter Lanai (which hopefully the new owner will refurbish). Or if you want a more human size place with genuine ambiance go to St Barth’s.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSMaui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Aloha from Maui,

Thank you for submitting your detailed review of the property, especially with regards to our pool service and facilities. Feedback such as this is valued and will be taken into consideration, as we are always striving to maintain a high level of excellence. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please contact me at konrad.gstrein@fourseasons.com or 808.874.2212.

Best Regards,
Konrad Gstrein
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I got married in Kihei and stayed at this hotel for 12 days. Hands down it was one of the best experiences of our lives! The staff at the hotel was amazing, restaurants and food was one of the best and the hotel grounds were beautiful! It is a bit pricey but def well worth it! The views were breath taking and there was so much to do! They have an awesome adult pool with swim up bar which we spent a lot of time at :) The different restaurants at the resort were all very good-our favorite was Spago! If you're in Maui stay here and if you don't def go see it and maybe have a meal there!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RozanaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireIsland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were staying at another resort and decided to go to this resort for lunch and that is all it took. We looked at each other, both thinking the same thing - we immediately went to the front desk and made reservations for the balance of our trip. Packed up from original hotel and never looked back. The property and location, the resort itself is beautiful and what we travelled from NY for. Most important was the food and staff. Food was excellent - fresh, more than enough choices and prepared as requested. Staff were professional - helpful with smiles. I had the feeling they liked what they were doing and happy to be part of this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonandRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was our second time to Maui and the Wailea area. On our first visit we stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani, which is right next door on the same beach. We are loyal Fairmont customers, and this was our introduction to the FS brand. It was difficult not to make constant comparisons between the two on our visit, as they offer similar levels of service, comfort and ambiance.

If you've read even a few of the reviews about the FS at Wailea then you know all about the adult serenity pool (gorgeous), the poolside fruit-sicles (nice touch), Evian spritzers (wow) and great restaurants. I will spare my opinions on these, and instead focus on a bit of a comparison
between the Fairmont and The Four Seasons hotels in Wailea. The reason for this is that there is a price premium at the FS but I am not *entirely* convinced that this premium is necessarily worth the value over the Fairmont... I suppose this depends on what you look for in a hotel resort. You can read my review of the Kea Lani also, which is structured a little differently.

SERVICE
Service at the Four Seasons is among the best hotels I have ever visited. Always courteous, friendly and accommodating. The staff seem to anticipate your wishes, and are extremely gracious. The people here genuinely seem to love their jobs. From the bellman who showed us the features of the room, to the valet service & the pool attendants, this was consistently top-notch. Fairmont service was also excellent, but FS takes the edge in this department - but only slightly.

ROOM
We were lucky to have been upgraded to "Club Level" room. The Club Level offers exclusive service on the fourth floor including complimentary breakfast (this was already included in our package but was nice nonetheless), tea and snacks, pre-dinner appetizers and soft or alcoholic drinks at any time. There was also a small courtesy library, business centre, and the Club had balconies that overlooked the gardens with a partial view of the Ocean. We made good use of this service, and figure we saved at least a a few hundred dollars in wine/champagne charges (anywhere from $14- $25 bucks a pop anywhere else on property). We felt even more fortunate for this upgrade because the room, while lovely, was...kind of dated. The bathroom was huge but the finishes were showing wear. This was fine, but I had the same complaint at the Fairmont (dated rooms) except they are an all-suite hotel, with similar sized bathrooms, so the room at the Fairmont offered more space.
EDGE = Fairmont Kea Lani
The Club level was excellent but we were comped this feature and I don't know that we would have paid for it otherwise

POOL
O.K. FS has this one. Although the large family pool with the fountain was a little "show-boaty" for my tastes, the adult infinity serenity pool more than made up for this with its beauty and - well, serenity! I have read people complain that this is a "see and be seen" pool, but this didn't really faze us. We came here to relax in paradise with each other, not to scope out other people or spend time worrying about how others thought we looked.

OCEAN ACCESS and BEACH were identical

GROUNDS were each beautiful in their own ways. The Fairmont made a better first impression, but ultimately they are absolutely comparable. The FS has a showpiece pool. Both hotels are impeccably manicured.

RESTAURANTS
We ate at Ferraros' Italian restaurant, and we had a great oceanside table for sunset. The service at this restaurant is world class, and my husband was impressed with the wine list - great wines, many at reasonable prices. I had a very lovely salad to start and a bucontini (sp) as a main. The food was excellent, five stars for sure, however the menu wasn't exactly filled with inspiration. There is a lot of good Italian food in Toronto, though, so maybe I am just biased.

We ate at Duo's every morning for breakfast, and I found their breakfast selection to be comparable to the selection at the Fairmont Kea Lani, only our breakfast plan at the Kea Lani covered our entire first meal (gratuities also). At the FS, the "included" breakfast was a $60 credit per day which covered the continental breakfast, but not the full selection of items. We spent about $25-30 extra each day to cover the full selection we wanted, as it often meant we didn't feel hungry enough to eat lunch, so we just snacked until dinner. I think I'll call this one a tie. We didn't eat at Spago's.

GYM
FS takes this one. The gym at the Kea Lani is somewhat small. It is equipped with good equipment, like the FS, but the cardio machines face the wall whereas at the FS they face a lush garden and are outdoors-ish. There is a separate weight room, which I made use of and it was mostly empty.

I used the spa here, but not at the Fairmont - 4/5.

I wish this rating system had half-points, because I really want to give the FS Maui 4.5 stars instead of 5, if only because you can get *almost* the exact same product next door for at least a better value. But I suppose the truth is in the details, and this is where the Four Seasons Maui at Wailea shines. But maybe consider re-tiling those bathrooms!

Aloha!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greatescape12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Property: Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing