We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, excellent service”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Everyone has already said that the service and resort cannot be beat.

We booked a garden view room but we were upgraded to a partial ocean view room, which was nice. We were in room 520, which wasn't too far from anything. I think the south tower is more convenient than the north tower.

We spent every day at the serenity pool (adult pool). People do line up at 7 to get chairs. We did this every morning and then left to go get breakfast. If you come later than 9, you will likely need to get on the waiting list. Chairs do open up though.

Sign up for the (free) outrigger canoe program. We saw a bunch of turtles while were were out. It isn't too strenuous since you have a couple of guides doing most of the paddling.

We only left the resort one day to go diving with Prodiver, which was great.

My one complaint is the cost of food and drinks. I expected it to be expensive, but $45+ for an entree and $16 for a drink is ridiculous. All restaurants in Wailea are this expensive, Kihei is much cheaper.

Money saving tips:
- book your hotel with a preferred travel agent - this won't cost you anything and will get you a) room upgrade, b) free breakfast (either the buffet or $85 to spend on room service) and c) a $100 resort credit. We worked with Linda at Brownell Travel.
- fridge in your room - pick up some drinks/snacks on your way from the airport
- Spago has an early and late 3 course dinner for $49. Great deal since entrees are around $45 there. This is not heavily advertised so you may need to ask.
- Nick's Fish Market (next door at the Fairmont) has happy hour from 5-6:30. Drinks and appetizers are all under $10.
- Snorkels (right in front of the beach entrance) has sandwiches for $9.50. These are the same sandwiches that are $20+ on the pool menu.

We had a fantastic time and would definitely come back. Yes, super expensive, but such a great trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank vdbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,020
    483
    203
    92
    47
See reviews for
1,160
2,598
75
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our second visit to the Four Seasons at Maui, having enjoyed it so much the first time and I'm glad to report that once again, the Four Seasons exceeded our expectations. This time, we were accompanied by our 4 month old baby and the Four Seasons thought of everything we needed to look after a baby - cot, change table (even with a few nappies and baby wipes!), diaper genie, microwave oven, kettle, baby bath, soft toy and baby toiletries - wow!! This is the essence of the Four Seasons - whilst the rooms are great, it's the service and attention to detail that sets the Four Seasons apart from any other hotel we have stayed at.

In short, the setting is beautiful, the food at all of the restaurants is high quality, the staff are amazing - I can't think of anything else you need for a great time!! Yes it is expensive, but the Four Seasons delivers. If you can't be happy here, then there's got to be something wrong with you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoosieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week in late November in a one bedroom suite. The property is well appointed and kept in pristine condition. Four Seasons really set the bar for outstanding service though and the consistent high level of service provided. The service at the Four Seasons Maui, however, was remarkable even for Four Seasons. The staff here are very well trained in customer service. If you are going to Maui, you will truly enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WSKei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the Four Seasons for a week in April of 2014. We had an Executive Suite with a partial ocean view. Room cost was about $1,200 a night but we also received a daily resort credit of $200. Obviously, the pricing is what one would expect from a resort like this. With that as a backdrop-

Room- this was one of our biggest disappointments. The room was a good size with two balconies but it really looked dated and tired (think chipping paint, some worn furniture, etc). The bathroom was enormous but again in need of an update (think stained grout). At this price point, I don't think it's unreasonable to want your room to look modern and up to date. I've stayed at a lot of hotels and parts of the room felt more like a Westin than a Four Seasons. Also, for some odd reason they don't stock minibars and you need to basically call and order what you want. Odd.

Grounds and Pool- nice layout with 3 pools (one just for adults). The beach is nice (not great) but there are plenty of beaches you can walk to in the area and I think some of them are nicer. The grounds are impeccably groomed and very clean.

Dining- we ate lunch and dinner at Ferraro's. It was pretty good but pricey. The views are amazing. We had breakfast daily at Duo. Our 2 year old ate for free which was nice. We did the buffet. They had a lot to choose from and I thought the pricing (believe it was about $40pp) was fair for the amount of options. Poolside dining and drinks were a major disappointment. Burgers and fries arrived with cold fries (for about $25). A chicken quesadilla had chicken that was over spiced and way too salty. Drinks were overpriced and badly done. A piña colada arrived with no garnish whatsoever and tasted as if the cream of coconut was spoiled. It was the saddest looking thing. I don't mind paying $20 for a drink- just make the drink good!

Service- the way the resort treats families with children is outstanding. Upon arrival we had a crib in our room, baby toiletries, complimentary bath toys, a cute stuffed animal, etc. Very nice touches. The staff (with very few exceptions) was great and always tried to fulfill our every need.

Summary- beautiful property but the rooms need a redo and the food and beverage program needs help. By way of comparison, we walked over to the new Andaz. Brand new resort. The food and beverage program puts the Four Seasons to shame. The drinks are priced similarly but they had a NYC bespoke cocktail lounge owner curate the program and train all the bartenders. They make all their own mixers from scratch with fresh juices, etc. Outstanding cocktails! They also have Morimoto restaurant which was great and Ka'ana Kitchen which is a farm to table concept. The food there was also outstanding (better than Morimoto).

I'm sad to say I wouldn't be back to this Four Seasons and for about the same price I'd prefer to stay at the Andaz where I think you'd get better quality/value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OpusXDoubleCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSMaui, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Aloha from Maui,

Thank you for submitting your detailed review of the resort. Feedback such as this is valued and will be taken into consideration, as we are always striving to maintain a high level of excellence. Don not hesitate to contact me at konrad.gstrein@fourseasons.com or 808.874.2212 if I may be of further assistance.

Best Regards,
Konrag Gstrein
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I would HIGHLY recommend the Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea for your next vacation. The service, food, amenities, and view were AMAZING! With so many excursions nearby, there is always something to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJohnson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Most luxurious experience I've ever had... from being met with leis at arrival to just the daily interaction with staff. It will be hard to travel anywhere else after this! Loved the adult pool and the amenities provided. Everything stayed so clean being open air, and we never saw anyone actually cleaning! It was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is probably the best resort I have ever stayed at. However, what really impressed me is that within 24 hours all the valets knew my name and what vehicle was mine. (a red jeep and if you've ever rented a jeep in Hawaii most are red). The meals were over the top. The resort is easy to navigate and we felt very comfortable letting our kids (10 & 13) have the run of the area. It was little bit of a hike to the ocean but really not bad unless you were going back and forth. I can't even put into words how they impressed us with their service and caring. The one draw back is there is no basic snack/bar/burger type food on grounds. I don't mind paying $24 for a hamburger but when I'm sitting by a pool having a relaxing afternoon I don't want an over the top snack. Just some simple inexpensive food (especially for the kids) would have been nice. Will I be back. YES!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Property: Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing