We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't miss the nude beach”
Review of Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This luxury (and really great) hotel could be better if they had some younger guests. The location is not perfect. The service is a bit slow. You don't have enough dinning options (so you need the car to go out for dinner. and even lunch cause the prices are ridiculous when you dine at the hotel). The hotel is huge, it took us almost 15 minutes to get to the room every time cause it was located as far as possible from the elevators, and our balcony was facing some engine room and the road. When you pay 550$ a night you do expect better.
Yet the rooms are great and we had a fantastic trip (and driving around the island).
Although we felt that the population on the main beach strip (in front of the hotel) was older here, almost no young people -
We did find a nude beach 5 minutes drive from here, with many young women and men. It is an exotic beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,167)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,051 - 2,057 of 5,167 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

The absolute best hotel experience of our lives! Our family just returned from a week at the Four Seasons Resort at Wailea and were amazed by the service and quality of the hotel! Rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. Extraordinary attention was paid to us from the moment we booked our trip. Concierge left a stuffed animal and bubble bath for my youngest son and a backpack for my teen in our room with personal notes on arrival. The pool and beach staff are amazing and never failed to exceed our expectations each and every day. Cabanas and lounges are plentiful and are personally dressed with terri cloth sheets and towels. (No need to rush to get a good seat at the pool- just show up and staff will take care of you!) Hotel Manager sent a bottle of champagne to our room because we mentioned it was our anniversary! Valet staff provided cold water and towels for excursions and we were walked out of the hotel by several staff who thanked us and asked us to return on our last day! All three restaurants are amazing (albeit very expensive but this the Four Seasons!) We are already planning for our next return trip!

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a bad room at the Four Seasons at Wailea! If you want a ocean view fine...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is the ultimate holiday experience!
Nothing is too much trouble for them. They know how to make you feel special.
Everything about this place is perfect.
Highly recommend it if you are wanting the best on offer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank healey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The service is amazing at this hotel. Here are some of the things I really like about it.

Tennis - the tennis instructor, Darin Zerbe is amazing! He will change the way you play tennis, using a great and easy to learn system. Take a lesson with him if you make it to this resort. It costs $100 for an hour but, it is worth it. Their is also a free tennis clinic offered once a week and reasonably priced group classes, where he focuses on a specific part of the game (serve, ground stroke, etc.) The resort even provides tennis shoes and a racket if you don't feel like bringing one or leave yours at home.

Amenities - though the hotel is expensive, they don't nickel and dime you for anything. The following are complementary: kids club, snorkel equipment, wi-fi, the spa facilities (steam room), fitness center and great classes like yoga, hula, zumba, etc. In addition, the resort provides complementary coffee and tea every morning. Also, if you reserve a tennis court just to hit around on (which costs nothing), the spa will bring you shoes (in your size), a racket and balls…again at no cost. The resort also has a nice game room with a pool table, table tennis and a bundle of console video games (XBox, PS, and Wii) connected to nice flat screens.

I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I may be ruined for life. This was by far the best hotel experience I've ever had.

My husband and teen stayed at the 4S for 10 nights in late July 2014. We actually planned to stay for 7 nights but were enjoying the experience so much that we extended our stay for 3 more nights (taking away from a luxury resort in Kauai, more about that later).

We are avid travelers and have stayed at many luxury resorts in the past, throughout the USA and Europe, before and after kids. We stayed on the Club level, which included club privileges - yes it's expensive. But the service is bar none the best we ever received. As far as value, you need to decide for yourself - we used the club amenities every day, so for us, it was high value.

Most luxury resorts will still charge upwards of $700/night and you will have to get up at 7am to get a spot at the pool or beach - that's ridiculous. The 4S had pool and beach attendants who helped you with everything - towels, chairs, umbrellas, activities - and they dont expect a tip - although they very much appreciate it.

The bell service was incredible. These guys *run* to get your car so that its there for you quickly, and they offer you cold water and beach towels for your trip. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty - no, actually, like adored friends who they hadn't seen in a while. Every single staff member we came into contact with was exceptional - not a sour grape on site!

Housekeeping left us bookmarks because they saw we had books in our room. They left us eyeglass cleaners next to our reading glasses. They hung up our wet bathing suits. They left extra everything when they saw that we were in need - before we had to ask.

As for that other hotel on Kauai... the Grand H in Poipu - yes its beautiful, but the beach is unusable, by 8am you wont get a pool chair, its really big with not enough staff around to help you, and the club privileges are not as good. As it turns out, we were really glad of our decision to stay at the 4S longer and cut our stay in Kauai shorter.

This is the way a luxury resort is supposed to behave! Treating us like we were on vacation, from the moment we arrived, and every moment there, was something I will never forget. Thank you Four Seasons Staff, (a special thank you to Anton, our Club Concierge, we are still talking about how wonderful your service was), and we hope to see you again! Mahalo!
Daniela

Room Tip: Hotel is like a horseshoe, with pool in the center. Choose oceanview facing the pool for more action...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If anyone is thinking of staying at the Four Seasons, let me assure you, you won't be disappointed. Everything during our one week stay was top notch, from the service, to the restaurants, to the location. Everything. The 3 restaurants are excellent, and we had an amazing dinner every night. In addition to the great food and service, the views of the sunsets were spectacular. The beach is great .... clean and sandy, and the water was warm and clear, and in the mornings and evenings, very calm. Overall, our experience could not have been better. It is truly a 5 star resort, and it feels like it when you are there. It is expensive, of course, but if you are prepared to pay the price, you won't be disappointed, as your stay will be unforgettable.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Patrizzio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our recent stay at the Four Seasons was a splurge for a special anniversary occasion for my wife and I. This is a fantastic Hotel in a great setting on one of the best beaches in Maui. What sets the Four Seasons apart from any other hotel I have ever stayed at is the level of service. Everyone knows when they receive great and bad customer service however great service is very difficult to describe. When you leave the Four Seasons you absolutely know you just received some of the very best service available in the hotel industry. We followed our stay at the Four Seasons in Maui with a very nice hotel in Oahu (The Kahala Resort). It took us a couple of days to adjust. Even though the Kahala offers some very good service it just seems like it was more of an effort for their staff. Great service just seems to come natural to the folks at the Four Seasons. Overall an amazing stay and a trip of a lifetime at the best hotel in Maui! ...one final point. The Shashmi sampler at the Lobby Lounge is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 19Steve862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £434 - £1,031 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea, Maui
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing