We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Luxury”
Review of Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“True Luxury”
Reviewed 17 January 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April, and we had a fantastic time. Four Seasons is amazing!
We stayed in a partial ocean view room - the rooms are a good size with a huge stunning bathroom. The room was very luxurious though the views could have been better...you could only see the ocean view when stepping out on the balcony.
The hotel grounds and pools are beautifully maintained. You can reach the beautiful beach by just walking down the stairs at the main pool.
We tried two restaurants at resort Spago and Duo - both served great food though Spagos should not be missed - everything was delicious.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to wailea shops however to reach the larger shopping centre(which has Macys dept store!) you will need to take a 30 minute taxi ride.
The staff were extremely friendly, professional and very accomodating - excellent service!
Overall, we had an amazing experience and l would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GlobalTravellerSSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,220
    497
    208
    96
    53
See reviews for
1,258
2,710
76
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Be sure to visit the Orchid salon - fantastic cuts and colors. Even the well heeled locals go there.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank CanTrav7938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Quality!

I really enjoyed this hotel. We stayed here after four nights at the Hana Ranch Hotel and even though I missed Hana's seclusion and the villas this place was great for sheer opulence and great service.

I definitely recommend it. Best accommodation in Wailea and my joint favourite in Maui along with Hana Ranch Hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Many more people than Hana
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank britinnyc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

I'll keep this simple -- if you're looking to live it up in Maui, this is your place. It's on the South side of the island, sunnier side (which is key if you're going in the winter months). The hotel overlooks a beautiful beach with spectacular views; the service is as good as it gets -- hands down the best we've experienced; and the rooms are spacious and very well appointed. It exceeded all expectations and we will certainly go again. Guests who had stayed at both the Four Seasons and Ritz Maui said they would definitely choose the Four Seasons over the Ritz. You can't go wrong.

  • Liked — service, beach
  • Disliked — cost!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JBG&JGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Very nice hotel. Very friendly stuff. Good food. Nice clean beach. Lot of green around the hotel.

Very helpful and kind concierge stuff.

I had one incident with cleanness of my bed sheets in which a guest attendant while changing sheets repeatedly contaminated the white sheets with a finger cut she had for two days. The issue was resolved after I contacted stuff manager, who apologized with personal note the other day and personally made sure this would not repeat. This incident was just an isolated mistake of the hotel stuff, but it did spoil my otherwise very good impression of the hotel.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Cleannes incident I had
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratko_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

I just returned from a family trip to the Four Seasons and it was outstanding. Many thanks to the Trip Advisor readers who were very informative in their repsonses to questions I had.
As mentioned the resort is terrific. The pluses and minues:

Minuses:
1) Very expensive, but as is everything in Wailea.
2) It can be somewhat crowded at the pool area but a new pool is being constructed and will open in May that will alleviate the problem.
3) Daily newspapers not delivered to your door. Just ask and they will deliver a wide selection of papers.

Pluses:
1) Hands down the ONLY five star resort on the island. We contemplated staying at the Kea Lani and does not even come close. Kea Lani is definitely in the Marriott class. Grand Wailea to me looked like it was somewhat run down, dated. Trust me, the extra $$$ are worth it to stay at the Four Seasons.
2) Again hands down although expensive by far the best selection of restaurants at any resort on the island.
3) As many have mentioned the level of service leaves little to be desired. I would rather pay 15% more here than being disappointed at the other resorts.
4) Excellent workout area and game room for the kids. The other resorts don't compare.
5)The property I think has the best location on the beach.
6) The concierges were terrific. They had pre-printed maps to every restaurant, sighteeing location that we desired. They were really on top of everything. I don't think you find that at the other resorts.
7) Is suitable for all ages of kids, grownups to infants. During the holdiay season when we were there families have come for years and years. I can see why.

Summary:

Without a doubt they deserve their reputation. It is THE best resort on the island and one of the top resorts in the country .

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
13 Thank propertymanagerfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tx
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

When I booked the trip, it was difficult to justify the extra cost for the Four Seasons over the nearby Marriott. I mean, the Marriott had free breakfast. But I put my inner cheapskate in a chokehold and booked 5 nights at the Four Seasons…..and did not regret it at all.

We figured we wouldn’t be spending too much time sitting on the lanai admiring the view, so we booked a garden view room and got the fifth night free. The Four Seasons was the second stop on our honeymoon, and after Hana it was going to take a lot to impress me. The last thing I wanted was a crowded beach and a snooty staff. Fortunately, we didn’t find either in at the Four Seasons Wailea. Everything I heard and read was true.

We were greeted at check in with cool towels and tasty orange blossom mint tea. The bellman gave us the nickel tour, offering some good suggestions. The room was, by far, the nicest I’ve ever stayed in. Large living area, HUGE bathroom and the garden view was very nice with a sliver of ocean thrown in. The entire resort was spotless. Our room was attended to twice a day and every single employee was friendly and helpful. We actually saw a guy cleaning the baseboards of the hallway outside our room.

In the morning, we would grab complimentary coffee in the lobby and make our way to the beachwalk. The walk was nice and gave us easy access to the neighboring resorts, and as we walked through them we were glad we sprung for the 4S. Not that the others weren’t nice, but the 4S just attained another level of quality. This was reinforced one morning when stopped by the Marriott for breakfast. I wanted to see what we were passing up by not staying there. It was a small, simple buffet more suited for a holiday inn express. Not bad, but far from spectacular. Breakfast at Duo left it in the dust for a mere $5 more. It wasn’t even a contest.

We ate at all the restaurants at the 4S, with the standout being Ferraro. We made an early reservation and had ringside seats for sunset. Absolutely incredible. One evening we decided to forego a proper dinner to hang out in lounge for drinks and appetizers. Overlooking the couryard and pools, we saw a torchligher make his way through the property at sunset. A great experience all the way around. The restaurants were not cheap, but not completely out of line with prices we saw at nearby resorts.

The beach was very nice and the pools were immaculate. The staff was very attentive without being a nuisance. As we relaxed on the beach or by the pool, they would come by with cold water, small snacks, sunscreen, etc. The property was far from crowded (we overheard that occupancy was very low, even for low season). Every afternoon, we raided the lobby early and often looking for the orange mint tea.

There were gamerooms and internet access downstairs, alongside a sweet gym and shopping. Of course, you are in Hawaii, so who needs that stuff? Seemed like they had lots of activities for kids, but we never really saw many kids.

The Shops at Wailea was a short walk away, but it lacks access to the beachwalk, so you have to get to it from the main drag. There are a few places to eat there. Cheeseburger in Paradise was good and hit the spot when we wanted big food. Although usually good, we skipped Tommy Bahama’s Café and Ruth Chris because we have those nearby at home.

While I preferred the casual relaxation of Hana, the Four Seasons was definitely my wife’s favorite. We are not really Four Seasons typical customer, but it was our honeymoon and for a special occasion we decided to shoot the moon. In retrospect, this may have been a mistake, because I’m afraid now she has pretty high expectations for the rest of our marriage.

Nodding happily, she kept asking me to reassure her….“Its always going to be like this, right?”

“Sure hon. No problem.”

Now if I can only find a good recipe for orange blossom mint tea.

  • Liked — Overall quality
  • Disliked — Expensive, but worth it.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank ctb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons

Property: Four Seasons
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea, Maui
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing