We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Having stayed in 4 other hotels/resorts during our trip to Hawaii, and our stay in Maui being the second last stop we were worried we be disappointed with the Fairmont and boy were we ever wrong! We stayed for 4 days and are grateful we chose to spend a longer time at this particular resort! The resort is absolutely stunning, updated, chic and peaceful. Even with such beautiful grounds (pool, hot tub, beach, restaurants) we wouldn't have minded spending our entire visit in our suite! The bathroom was so large, spacious and luxurious and the attention to detail with french doors, arched doorways, and a large sectional in the living room made the room our own private haven. The beach was especially pleasant as it is much more private than others, with only hotel guests really having access to it. We stayed in the water for hours! Little details like the lighting of the lanterns at sunset, the delicious welcome basket with chips, soda and chocolate and the swan-shaped towels on our bed made our stay so memorable, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again! Highly recommended for honeymooners! Thank you Fairmont Kea Lani for a dreamy honeymoon stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marwa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,152 - 3,158 of 4,642 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

We opted to avoid the Disneyland feel of the Grand Wailea and the pretentiousness of the Four Seasons and LOVED our stay at the Kea Lani. The private cove at Polo Beach was wonderful and the snorkel and kayak guys were so helpful! And the coral reef right off the beach has amazing snorkeling! Sea turtles were everywhere. If you're looking for a relaxing time on Maui - this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jazzermomyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Beautifully remodeled hotel with spacious rooms with suites. Great views, fantastic selection of restaurants, adult pool, close to golf courses and shopping.
Highly recommend The Fairmount at Kea Lani!
Beautiful Resort!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Beautiful beach that you can snorkel, body surf or boogie board from (or you can rent scuba, kayaks, paddle boards, or a canoe here). Also a beach walking/jogging trail pretty much through Wailea. Rooms all have some ocean view to watch whales or a fantastic sunset from your balcony (binoculars were supplied in our room, but you could see without them too). Watch for the green haze from a sunset over a cloudless horizon. Very business AND kid friendly. Towels supplied for pool, beach or AWAY beach! Free canoe excursion, but you better reserve either immediately on arrival or when you book your room--we couldn't get a slot during our stay…it was booked solid.
Tea or water in lobby to greet you. The tea is flavored and very refreshing.
All staff were very friendly and helpful. We used one of many concierges daily.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the north end. We preferred it because of the view over a villa, but if you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OklahomaMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Amazed by the cleanliness of the resort. Great atmosphere and very nice staff. Weather was enjoyable and the resort provided some very amazing views of the beauty of the island. Spa is top notch as is the different eateries on location.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a private suite that has its own plunge pool - its worth it. With a suite you cn go s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jason l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

THE GOOD THINGS:
Fairmont Kea Lani, like all Fairmonts, have beautiful lobbies and wonderful landscaping. The suites are very spacious. it also has a separate kitchen sink and microwave which is helpful if you have young kids. the view is incredible and the pool area is nice.

BAD:
i feel like i've been fooled. the lobby and landscape is incredible, you think you've walked into paradise but instead you walk into your room and can't help but feel disappointed even after their renovation. the rooms are dated- popcorn walls and ceilings, the rug in the hallway is definitely from the 70's and probably never been cleaned since, the carpets in the room are DIRTY, the furniture smells, and the patio chairs are sticky and stained. we stayed in 3 different rooms and they had all the same problems.

WORSE:
the noise from the side street and employees entering the building in the morning were loud. the toilet wouldn't stop running, and the bath tub drain was broken. But they were quick to apologize and switch our rooms to a mountain view. however, the next morning i found a family of cockroaches on the bathroom floor- no big deal.. we are in the tropics. later that afternoon we returned to find more cockroaches and this time with their babies floating on the bathroom ledge, crawling through our toiletries. we we're moved again by management and i spent the remainder of the trip stressed about the cleanliness of the hotel.

BONUS:
one thing i will say, ADAM- management stepped up right away and quickly fixed the problem and gave us a nice basket and credit. The service was good and the staff are very polite but the brand itself and the overall experience is suffering.

let it be known, i am not a hotel snob but if you are going to spend $$$$$ on a 5 star hotel, you better spend it next door at the Four Seasons where you know you're getting a 5 star lobby, 5 star pool and high-end room.

Fairmont cannot compete.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank selina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Every Christmas break my family travels to Maui to escape the cold. The Fairmont Kea Lani is always our favorite out of the 3 hotels in Wailea (Four Seasons and Grand Wailea). On arrival, you are welcomed with fresh leis and POG (an amazing fruit beverage). The rooms are fantastic and are big enough to fit a family without being "on top of each other."

The property itself is big, but not as big as the Grand Wailea. The hotel has never felt crowded and we go during the busiest time of the year. There are also three pools. One is an adults only pool. The two other pools are family pools with a water slide to connect them. There is also a game room where your children can play video games or ping pong.

The restaurants are wonderful. I love Asian food and Ko meets my expectations. Also, if you are planning to eat breakfast I would save room for eggs. Eggs! I know that must sound crazy but there is an egg chef there (Erwin) who is amazing. He can make any egg combination with any topping. He is also wicked fast when it comes to making 10 egg orders at a time and not messing up.

Lastly, the staff at the Fairmont Kea Lani is wonderful and friendly. They always make you feel welcomed. Tamantha, who is one of the waitresses at breakfast, is a delightful person. She is a great addition to the staff at the Fairmont.

In summary, I would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank surlejardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £375 - £1,211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing