We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 November 2013

this is a great resort for families. we took our 9 month old there and we were a bit nervous, but when we got there we saw babies and toddlers everywhere! it was great. the rooms are all suites, so there is a lot of room for families. THE FOOD IS EXPENSIVE! the resort and the amenities are great, but with all nice resorts the food was really expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyJoYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,758 - 2,764 of 4,604 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here in 09 and thought it was time for a return visit. First and foremost was the OUTSTANDING service we received while checking in. Luz was not only incredibly friendly but went out of her way to help us with a few special requirements we had and looked after us throughout our stay. The villa we stayed in was great, lots of space and very handy having a washer and dryer. The kitchen had everything you need and the plunge pool was nice to hang out at.
The food at both Nicks fish market and at Ko was fantastic but highly recommend the lobster tempura at Ko, I will dream about it for years to come.
All in all a great place to stay with friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rona_kami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent 7 days in a 3 bedroom Villa. Service, amenities and food was fantastic. Be sure to go through Inspirato instead of direct to the hotel for booking to get a MUCH better price. Villas have special services that are free and a nice touch. Best employees we have encountered at hotels work at this resort. The pools and beach are great. You can relax and enjoy quiet or enjoy activities on property. Hotel offers shuttle service free of charge to local bars, shopping and restaurants as well. I highly recommend this resort for couples and families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Aloha and thank you for your terrific review! We’re so happy that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed our villa amenities. We appreciate all of your wonderful compliments and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Loved the Kea Lani. Enjoyed the service as the staff was friendly and very helpful. Stayed in one of the signature Suites providing views of the pools/grounds, West Maui mountains, and beach/ocean....Beautiful!! The lanai was large providing the excellent views....it had lounge chairs, regular chairs, and a table seating 4. The hotel provided free bottled water during our entire stay and also offered a free 1 hour Hawaiian Cultural Canoeing experience from the beach. Really enjoyed this and saw a large manta ray and several sea turtles, in addition to the reef and various fish.

I visited the Grand Wailea and the Four Seasons while there and in my opinion the Kea Lani is second to neither. If you have kids, they will probably enjoy the water playground, composed of pools and slides formed in rock, at the Grand Wailea but the rooms and lanais at Kea Lani seem superior.

Kea Lani offers free shuttle service in a comfortable luxury SUV to anywhere in Wailea and also a complimentary hospitality suite to shower/freshen up after checkout if travelling home at night.

Highly recommend this hotel....Mahalo Kea Lani!

Room Tip: If you can stay in one of the signature suites (ending in '02'), the lanais are large, wrapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drivenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My recently married husband and I stay at this hotel for our honeymoon. We stayed at the the resort for a week. When we arrived we were given a traditional Hawaiian welcome with drinks and leis. The first room we were given was directly across from the elevator motor room. The noise emanating from the room was unbearable. When we expressed our concerns about the noise. We were then given a choice to either take room with the king size bed with the awful noise or the room with two twin size beds. Although we were not pleased,we took the two twin beds. For this resort to be a couples retreat. To run out of rooms with king size beds was unexceptable. The resort was also under minor renovation. Was not bothered by the construction noise. On a positive note, the resort grounds were breath taking. Good pool side service. Great house keeping and room service. Must go to the KO restaurant the food and service is excellent. Although we had a minor problem with the room I would recommend staying at this resort. I would like to send out a special shout out to bob's frogs for discounted activities and entertainment. Go to bobs frogs to book your activities. Best deals on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terra1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for spending your honeymoon with us. We apologize that you were disappointed with your initial suite and are sorry that we were unable to find you the perfect suite given the inventory available. Please be assured your comments will be shared with the team. Thank you again and we hope to see you and your husband in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The kea Lani offers the most bang for the buck when staying at a resort in Wailea. We started staying in the Wailea area 30 years ago at Stouffers (now the newly opened Andaz). We have stayed at almost every resort and condo area at least once. We always eventually come back to the Kea Lani. There are, for example, resorts with better pool areas, fitness rooms or shopping opportunities but we firmly believe that the Kea Lani offers the best value when considering all amenities coupled with price!

The suite type rooms are up to date, very clean, with most having excellent views. The bathrooms are fantastic! We just spent 8 nights and I believe we have now stayed at least 10 different times. The staff, many have been there for years, are usually very friendly and attentive. The location on Polo Beach is just wonderful!

CONS
I am disappointed in the self parking. It was far, far better when it was free to park including less cars. The spaces are way too small. I understand this may improve after the Spa renovation is completed but if history is any indicator it will not improve. This is based on the fact that several years ago, during an early renovation, a portion of the parking garage became a storage catch all which is very trashy in appearance. I complained about the terrible appearance for a 5 star resort and was told it was temporary (like the parking situation). Unfortunately, it remains the same all these years later. This is why I do not give a 5 star rating!

TIPS
Food can be expensive at any of the resort restaurants. Café Ciao is actually very reasonably priced with good size portions. The meat type sandwhiches can easily be shared.

If you have an issue I recommend you ask for Adam Hawley, Assistant Front Office Manager. We had a minor issue and he went above and beyond to resolve it! A very impressive manager!

I also urge folks to get up at sunrise, one time, grab a coffee in the lobby and go lay on a lounge chair on Polo Beach while the sun rises over the mountain. Amazingly peaceful to watch the waves, turtles, and in season, the whales!

Join the Fairmont President's Club before your stay. Excellent benefits including use of golf clubs and bicycles!

Room Tip: The rooms above the lobby bar and Nick's restaurant have outstanding ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnrob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Aloha and thank you for returning to The Fairmont Kea Lani time and time again. We always hope that guests see the value in our accommodations and service. However, we do regret you were unhappy with the parking lot area and for that we are sorry. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared with the corresponding department. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Aloha and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just returned from the Fairmont Kea Lani; it's a really beautiful hotel. Our room had two queen beds in a "suite" design, with TVs in both the living area and the bedroom area. The living area had a small refrigerator and microwave, as well as a coffee maker and tea maker. The patio was accessible from both the living room and the bedroom. As members of Fairmont's President's club(membership is free), we also got free Wi-Fi. The room was large and very quiet; staff members were very helpful. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the hotel beach is large and very nice. Also a great location; a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £382 - £1,241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing