We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,083)
Filter reviews
5,083 results
Traveller rating
3,690
915
296
127
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,690
915
296
127
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ko restaurant cafe ciao suite hotel nick's fish market canoe experience adult pool four seasons president's club swim up bar breakfast buffet upper pool living room our honeymoon two sinks ocean view top notch walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
3,183 - 3,188 of 5,083 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were so happy with this hotel and its staff. Everyone was so warm & friendly. The room was superb; a suite with 2 TV's, a mini fridge and even a microwave. My husband and I really appreciated having double sinks and the tub was large & great (something that really makes the room for me!) Even though we requested a mountain view room, we still had a view of the ocean. Keep an eye out for humpback whales! The beach and pool area are simply lovely. We don't have kids so it was nice to have the option of an adult pool. The beach is paradise. Its located in a good part of Maui, close to everything. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phanie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It begins as soon as you step out of the car. Friendly smiles from the staff greeting you and making you feel as though they really are interested in your having a great time. From the lovely woman who greets you with tropical fruit punch, to the valet, to the bellman. We had purchased a garden room, but because we signed up for the Presidental Membership (which is free), they upgraded up to a "preferred ocean view". It was really awesome. This is not our first trip to Hawaii, so we were here just to rejuvenate and we were able to do so at this place. Rooms are huge and well appointed. The only complaint is that there wasn't much policing of the adult only pool and we found children in there a few times (which isn't the intent of the design of the property).

Room Tip: Sign up for the free Presidental membership. Gives you Free Wi-fi. Take advantage of the free yoga classes and other fitness programs, if you are so inclined. Room service is expensive, but worth the splurge, it's delicious and huge. There is a refrigerator, so you can mix and match from items purchased at the Safeway (about 3 miles away)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachdoll_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! It’s outstanding to learn that had a relaxing stay and that our staff’s friendly, warm service, added to your vacation experience right from the start. Please know your feedback regarding the monitoring of the adults-only pool is very important to us and has been communicated to our Beach & Pools department. We truly hope to welcome you back again in the future. Mahalo and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Very impressed by the rooms. Much better than we were expecting. Service was friendly and well meaning but they were clearly overloaded during the peak Holiday week. Service improved markedly when the guest count dropped. Very much a family oriented hotel. Great pool for kids (and grown ups that like water slides.). Pool / beach felt very crowded during peak week (but was similar to the four seasons.) would not recommend if you were looking for a quiet couples getaway.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank ifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Having spent 5 glorious days at the Fairmont Orchid on the Big Island, we arrived at the Kea Lani to find a very UNEVEN RESORT PROPERTY. Certainly not up to Fairmont standards. Even tho' the property was not even 1/2 full we were given a poor garden view room for which we had to pay an additional $40 per day. God only knows what our original $330.00 per room was going to be? When we arrived in our room we had a broken TV, a broken Toilet and broken A/C. And beware that in this property (unlike the Orchid), if your reservation is thru Expedia or any other 3rd party you will be unwelcome. Even as the mgmt attempted to make our repairs, no effort was made to change our room or upgrade us for the inconveniences. My husband and I are first class world travelers and so we are still amazed at how this property continues to get rave reviews. It certainly doesn't deserve them. The only thing that saved our 3 days in Maui was the amazing service and food at the 4 Seasons Spago (next door)! Absolutely outstanding! We never dreamed that the same rate we had at the Orchid (Ocean front Rm) would bring us such a lesser accommodation at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Don't expect a Fairmont experience at this Fairmont.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We deeply apologize that your recent experience was so disappointing. Please be assured that the channel a guest books through has absolutely no impact on his/her room assignment or level of service at our resort. We truly regret that your expectations were not met and are sorry for the frustration you experienced. Your feedback will be shared with the key departments. We hope you will visit us again so we can provide the experience you deserve and the high quality of service we are known for. Mahalo and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It is very busy time of year to be here but everyone is very nice and well organized. We come here at least one time per year the walking path is great and views are great! We always stay here because of the rooms being suites and the area by the pools is large enough you can always get a place to sit. This time we didn't rent a car and it worked out great the shuttle took us every where we needed to go. Planning our next trip back.

Room Tip: ocean view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmm628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews