We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,115)
Filter reviews
5,115 results
Traveller rating
3,718
917
296
128
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,718
917
296
128
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ko restaurant cafe ciao suite hotel nick's fish market adult pool canoe experience four seasons president's club swim up bar breakfast buffet upper pool living room our honeymoon ocean view two sinks top notch walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
3,209 - 3,214 of 5,115 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Exceptional property with scenic views of the water, lush landscaping and pristine pools. I loved the water slide at the kid friendly pools too.
Cuisine for almost every taste with 5 separate eating places on site. My favourite restaurants were Ko and Nick's.
I enjoyed the free activities that the resort offered like sunset yoga, early morning yoga and body sculpting. I didn't get to do the canoeing as that was booked for the entire week.
Unfortunately their new spa was not open when I visited ( it opened 3 days after I left) however my massage in the garden cabana was very nice.
Had an issue getting access to the internet for my first 2 days but they resolved the problem as best as they could. The response was efficient.
I believe the room might be one of the selling points if this resort also. Loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Wow... We're so pleased that your experience with us was memorable and that your expectations were exceeded. It's wonderful that you enjoyed the fitness classes and your suite. You're correct that the additional space (over 860 square feet!) is one of the many reasons our guests return year after year. We truly look forward to seeing you again soon to experience the new Willow Stream Spa! Mahalo and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in September 2013 in an Ocean View room - all of the rooms are actually suites so we had plenty of room with the bedroom, separate living area and a good sized balcony. We spent a lot of our time at the Adults pool which was very peaceful and relaxing, but the beach also looked good. We ate at both of the onsite restaurants, including Ko twice which was probably our favourite - both were excellent meals, but they are quite expensive, so your bill would be quite hefty if you ate in them every night! There are also lots of other nearby options at the hotels along the coast - we ate at the beachfront restaurant at the Four Seasons which we would also recommend for a romantic dinner.

We liked the variety of restaurants and shops in the area - there is plenty to keep you amused, though its worth renting a car for a day or two to explore the rest of the island. We didnt eat breakfast as we dont really eat enough to justify the cost, but there is also an onsite bakery/cafe which was great for a lighter option.

Room Tip: There was some construction going on for the continuing refurbishment - ask for a room in a wing where there is no work going on
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lodges_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We’re so happy that your stay was memorable and that you especially enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite. It's wonderful that our signature restaurant, Ko, was your favorite. We truly appreciate all of your suggestions to our future guests and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I had the opportunity to go to the Ko Restaurant in the Fairmont last time I was in Maui. What a wonderful evening. First our delightful server Hannah, an east coat transplant was terrific in her knowledge of not only the food, but even pointed out details about the architecture of the restaurant itself. The drinks, food and service, not to mention the beautiful ocean made for one of my favorite dining experience in Hawaii. GO!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We enjoyed 5 nights in a 3rd floor ocean-view room. The suites are very spacious and up-to-date. The grounds are lush and beautiful. We found shaded lounges on the lawn overlooking the ocean each day. Aside from a couple afternoon showers, the weather was perfect in early November and the resort did not seem very full. It was a perfect quiet retreat. We enjoyed fine dinners at Nick’s Fishmarket and at Ko. The breakfast buffet was among the nicest we have ever experienced, with great food selections, a Bloody Mary bar (mix it yourself), seating on a lovely veranda. We dined at restaurants in the neighboring Four Seasons and Grand Wailea, but we feel we chose the best hotel among them.

Hint: Join the “President’s Club” to get free wi-fi and 20% off in the shop.

Room Tip: Pay for an ocean view and don't expect any complimentary upgrades.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for the kind compliments! We’re thrilled you had a great experience and enjoyed the nearly always perfect weather on Maui’s south side. It’s also wonderful that you were so pleased with the many dining options at the resort. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Mahalo and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at the Farimont for a week following Christmas. The suite sized rooms are great with the fridge and microwave a welcomed addition, especially with the pricey breakfast buffet. All of the hotel staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful. The service really makes this hotel even better. We arranged for several activities via the concierge, all of which were great. The location right on the beach is very nice with the 1.5 mile beach walk a good spot to run/walk on. The rooms are "ocean view" not "ocean front" which is not a big deal but worth noting. Pool and beach staff were very helpful in securing chairs for us.
I would return to stay here in the future. It is quite pricey but worth the expense. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the resort’s spacious suites and the exceptional service you received from our staff. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews