We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights. Excellent staff & very welcoming.
Our suite was on the top floor so we had excellent views out across the ocean. The only thing to consider if you are on the top floor is that the birds use the overhanging roof to perch and that means there is daily bird droppings on the balcony and furniture. The staff clean it but it is nevertheless a consideration.
Hotel public areas are fantastic. We ate in Nick's Fishmarket and that was excellent.
It's an expensive hotel but in this part of Maui that's the norm.

Room Tip: Beware the bird mess on the top floor balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Aloha, and thank you for your review. We are delighted you had an overall wonderful stay and enjoyed interacting with our staff. We do realize that the birds can be a nuisance and apologize for the inconvenience. Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,697 - 2,703 of 4,642 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Trip was for young couples vacation. We did a lot of research, fairmont had best prices and best reviews. We went in with very high expectations, and they were exceeded. Upon arrival, we were upgraded from partial ocean to full ocean view. They greet you with leis for a true Hawaiin experience. The room was huge and very well cleaned with an excellent view. Room service was extremely efficient and timely. Staff at the hotel went above and beyon, especially Matt Morris from concierge

Food: great options, our best meals in Hawaii were at this hotel. Ko has great happy hour snack deals, very friendly service. Buffet breakfast was delicious with variety. My one negative is that the poolside lunches were extremely overpriced and left something to be desired for. Having a big breakfast and Ko appetizer happy hour in the early afternoon might be better if you plan to stay on the resort all day.
Pools/ beach: there is a separate adult pool which is nice if you don't want to be around children. They cater to you by offering fresh pineapple, ice water, cold towel and sunscreen/ aloe. All very nice touches. Beach is perfectly situated with an amazing view if the sunset (better than some of the neighboring hotels which have a more skewed view).
Grounds: very nicely kept, water stations all around to keep you hydrated in the hot Hawaii sun. Well manicured lawns, nicely lit up at night with tiki torches

Overall, we did a huge amount of research before going, and while there, we visited many of the other hotels on the strip for meals, and we can by far and away say Fairmont was the nicest, it had the nicest crowd of people, nicest grounds, and best price. We have already recommended this hotel to many of our friends and family looking to travel to Hawaii, and when we go back, we will 100% be staying at the Fairmont!

Room Tip: Ocean view preferred over mountain view
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Aloha! We recognize that there are many options for accommodations on Maui and are delighted that you chose to spend your getaway with us. We couldn’t be happier that your overall experience was so memorable and that your expectations were exceeded. Thank you for providing great tips for future travelers. Your comments will absolutely be shared with the team, especially Matt Morris who is a tremendous asset to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had a great time and service at the Fairmont in Maui. The suites were great and ours was dead center overlooking the pool area with amazing breezes and ocean views. The facilities are terrific as well as the restaurants. The pool areas were great and the bar pool area for adults was especially fun and do try the outrigger canoe experience as it was awesome. The beach was great and the snorkeling outstanding. We were watching humpbacks from our room. Awesome.

Will loan you clubs to play at the golf course as well.

Room Tip: you are in Hawaii. get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so happy that your recent stay was an excellent one and that you truly enjoyed so much the resort has to offer. Whale season is a magical time of year on Maui! We'll look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We went their with Family and all we can say is a perfect place to stay. The facilities may need a bit of refurbishing but everything works very well and is still very nice. Nothing to say about the beach , which is a private beach. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mehmet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here two nights with my wife and 2.5 year old. I’ve never stayed in a Fairmont property before and I really enjoyed this one. This was our first time in Wailea and could not be happier we chose to stay here.

The suite was very nice and spacious. The room was very clean. As a family, the room had most anything you would need for a vacation.

The hotel seemed really accommodating toward families. The front desk welcomed my child with a little pail and shovel for the beach as well as a small turtle necklace, which she enjoyed. Although not an expansive pool area, the pool did include a small pool for infants. The larger pool did have a small waterslide too. During peak times, getting a pool chair could be challenging though. The pool area also included complimentary water, sunblock/aloe station, and towels (sans towel cards, which I hate). We did the breakfast buffet, which was really good. The price is a little high, but I’ve seen comparable buffets that charge more. The good thing though is that kids under 5 years old eat free, which was a big plus for us.

Some other notes: We did the self parking which isn’t that far from the main entrance. Polo beach next the hotel is nice, but not the nicest in Maui. The location is a little drawback if you plan on doing more adventurous activities such as Haleakala or Hana Highway.

I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone, especially ones with younger children.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussRexRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Kea Lani for your first family vacation to Wailea! We are so happy that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed everything the resort has to offer, especially with your little ones. We also sincerely appreciate you sharing so many details for future guests. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. Aloha and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had just one night at the Kea Lani as we own a condo in West Maui & were just celebrating our anniversary. What a great place to go! It is very expensive, although in line with the prices at all Wailea resorts, but it was so amazing.
I'm in the Fairmont Presidents Club so we had very special treatment, like the separate check-in desk, where Donna (a wonderful employee) gave us a nice upgrade and a late check-out the next day.
Food at Koa was delicious. The cabana we rented was great, the pool service as excellent.
Our room was spacious ( they're all suites), the bed & linens so luxurious, the bathroom large & full of amenities.
We were brought a bottle of champagne and two towels were turned into lovely swans with orchids on our bed when we came in from our evening out.
Spectacular views, impeccable service, and a beautiful resort.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GayD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Maui is a beautiful place anyway, but the Fairmont is really just about perfect. Our beds were heavenly soft, the restaurants and room service delicious, and the poolside cabana service really spectacular. Rent a cabana because it includes a personal cooler of water, soft drinks, and scented body mist. You will also be served a large fruit platter with some really great mango. I really can't even report a piece of bruised fruit on the breakfast buffet. Just wonderful. The spa has a eucalyptus steam room and a series of 3 showers that mimic the scents and sensations of different Hawaiian rain showers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mysons27705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £375 - £1,211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing