We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, but location raises concerns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but location raises concerns”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel itself is in good order, though pricey. The property is small compared to 4- or. 5-star hotels on Yucatan, Mexico. The beach is clean sand, Molokini atoll in view. Wake up early, though, for two reasons: number of beach umbrellas is limited, by 9am they all are gone; by noon expect a heavy cloud to form over the hotel and the beach. No sunshine therefore. This happened each of five days of my stay in this hotel. The cloud is formed by the trade wind and Haleakala mountain. It might be different in another season, so do some research.
Mountain -view suites offer a lot of sunlight in the morning, but none in the afternoon, which is good to my liking. However, this come together with the smell of burnt meat from one of hotel kitchens every day in the afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vitaly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review. We’re very sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the hotel location. The resort is located on Maui’s southern coastline in the pristine Wailea resort, which sees an average of 10 inches of rain per year. Rest assured that Maui’s trade winds do not result in a cloud over the hotel and the beach, but do offer a breeze in the afternoon and a climate with less humidity than similar beach destinations. In addition, the resort offers more than enough beach umbrellas for every guest on property, even when the hotel is at capacity. We appreciate your personalized feedback and hope you will return to visit again in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,029
    776
    238
    101
    41
See reviews for
1,563
1,612
49
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Wife and I stayed here June 1-6 and we still can't stop thinking about this place. Everything about this place was awesome. Ocean view room overlooking the adult pool, third floor but could still see the ocean while lying in bed. Great staff, pools we're never too crowded, Polo beach out front was excellent. Very nice room and loved the bathroom/shower. Great breakfast buffet but thought KO underwhelmed, very small portions. Wish we had tried Nicks instead. We checked out the Four Seasons and although it also looked very nice, the property seemed small and cramped, pools were small compared the the Fairmont. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Pick up breakfast/lunch @ Cafe Cio across from KO and save a bundle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon in September 2013, and had an amazing time. Al the rooms are suites with a separate lounge, kitchen type area, big bath tub and walk in shower. Lovely patio area with tables and chairs and sun loungers. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful and the staff cannot do enough to help you. On check in we received a nice cocktail and a lei each which was a nice touch. On departure we were given some nice cold bottles of water. I think the rules have changed now but we had free parking when we stayed and no resort fee which also saves some money. We did not have breakfast included in our stay but ate there one day and the food was lovely. We got breakfast from the cafe each day as they do french toast and pancakes to take away and we took it back to our room and ate on our patio.
There is also a pathway you can walk along by the beach which goes past all the other hotels, nice walk in the evening. Nearby shopping area with a cheeseburger island which we loved (being from the uk) we don't get burgers like that at home!! The area is quite pricey but we thought as it's our honeymoon it was okay to pay a bit more money. But you will definitely not regret booking this hotel, it is amazing and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Aloha Becky! It’s truly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional honeymoon with us last September. Thank you for pointing out everything that makes our resort so special and for sharing all the details with future guests, especially other honeymooners. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best wishes and aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

WOW! Just wow! Its not often you visit somewhere which looks EXACTLY as its marketing shows. This hotel is stunning and the staff are absolutely fabulous. From the minute we walked in, our jaws dropped at the stunning views and beautiful property.

Our Ocean View Suite was perfectly sized for a few days away with girlfriends (2 queen sized beds plus a queen sized pull out sofa bed plus double sinks and HUGE bathroom - perfect for three girls!) and provided the perfect recharge after two weeks of full on travel. The view from our room out across the pools (yes there are three!) and onto the private beach and Pacific Ocean was picture postcard perfect.

The swim up bar and waterslide was our favourite spot to finish up our busy day of midday snoozes, snorkles on the reef and tasty lunches in the AMA Bar & Grill. The breakfast buffet was also a favourite.
The staff are friendly and very helpful. Having stayed in many Fairmont resorts worldwide, I can honestly say I have a new favourite and The Fairmont Kea Lani is top of my list!

Perfect destination for couples, friends or even families. Conference space looked fantastic too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliMay18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Wow Ali, thank you for choosing to spend your girl’s getaway with us! We couldn’t be happier to learn how memorable your experience was (jaws dropping is a good sign!). It's fantastic that your expectations were exceeded and that you loved the resort. Being a loyal Fairmont guest, we hope you will visit one of our hotels again soon. Best wishes and a warm aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We just returned from a week at the Kea Lani and love this property. The hotel was perfect in every way - the ONLY thing I would change is to add an inch to the curtain so the room stays dark in the morning. The staff is wonderful and very friendly. The 2 room suites are perfect for a family and the beach, grounds and pools are magnificent! Cant wait to go back and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Corner suite has a great terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DALLAS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Kea Lani is one of the best hotels in the world. From the moment we walked in, the staff was warm and inviting. The suites were spacious, 3 closets and a huge bathroom. The food and drink was 'tourist' price but there were grocery stories close by. I will definitely come back. Book early for a good rate.

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront suite with ocean views from inside the room. Rooms 730-742 full view plus easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choosecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
One of the best hotels in the world? We couldn't be more proud. It’s truly a pleasure to know that your stay was so comfortable and you felt our staff was warm and inviting. Thank you for your wonderful review - we look forward to sharing it with our entire team. Best wishes and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just returned home from another wonderful trip to Maui and stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani for 7 of us. Had great accommodations in an ocean villa which had all we needed for an enjoyable time. It was a challenge with 5 teenagers along, but everything worked out nicely. Ronnie-Ann, our guest services representative, came through again for us with exceptional service, though all the staff, from housekeeping to bellman were nothing short of terrific! The Fairmont is where we will stay on our upcoming vacations to Maui, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: Call as early as possible for best rates and availability...ask for Ronnie-Ann.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlasorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing