We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite place in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I first stayed here on honeymoon in 2006 and adored it. We returned in 2009 for our anniversary and then most recently with our first child. We had a fabulous time as a couple with lots of fine dining, romantic walks, and avid wine and cocktail drinking and an equally wonderful time, albeit very different, when we returned with our son who was 3 months when we visited last. The staff are always fantastic, especially so with me as a rather hormonal, anxious and jet lagged new mother. We dined early as we had the baby and the staff were great, especially in Nicks where hey took care to seat us where we were most comfortable with the baby amd let us order (slightly) off menu when beyond exhausted but wanting to eat there.

The staff by the pool were great, setting up and covering a travel cot for the baby so he had somewhere cool and shaded to sleep.

My husband broke his collar bone in the surf during our stay (entirely his own fault!) and the security staff took amazing care of us, right through to getting on our flight home (seriously - they even arranged assistance in the airport.)

Love this hotel, the staff and the location and loved it equally as a romantic destination and as a family vacation. I just wish it wasn't a 24hr journey to get there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha, Leann. Thank you for returning to The Fairmont Kea Lani for the 3rd time! It’s truly a pleasure to know that you had an exceptional experience and that the resort was just as you remembered. We are also very proud that you felt well taken care of by our staff, especially from our security department. Thank you for your kind compliments, which we will be sure to share with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,515 - 2,521 of 4,700 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our family of four spent 4 nights at the Fairmont and had a wonderful experience. From the minute we pulled up to the hotel we were pampered with impeccable service, beautiful grounds and a perfect slice of paradise. It goes without saying that if you're staying at the Fairmont, you're paying a premium. But, you certainly get what you pay for. This review won't be complaining about exorbitant prices - we knowingly chose to stay at a top end resort and weren't disappointed.

The resort is huge, the atrium lavish, open and airy, covered in intricate décor, art, flowers, bamboo forests and fountains. After the long, hot drive from the airport the fresh fruit infused water was a welcome sight and taste.

The suite was very nice - spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. We were upgraded to a higher floor with a wrap around balcony with ocean view that was just spectacular. Our balcony had lounge chairs, regular chairs and a full table with seating for four.

The master bed room was nice, large and clean and the bed very plush - possibly slightly too much so as my wife got a small bit of a sore back. (it felt like sleeping on a cloud to me!) The kids passed out nightly on the pull-out couch and the separating door let us sleep a little in peace when they woke up at the crack of dawn. We stocked the fridge up with drinks and fruit that came in handy over the week (made a stop on the way in to the hotel).

There are two primary pools that are nicely sized and comfortably warm. A modest water slide connects the upper and lower and was a huge hit with kids and adults alike. Finding shaded areas around the pool can be a bit challenging as it's first come, first serve with the few lounge seats under umbrellas disappearing almost entirely by 8AM. There's a 2 hour policy for leaving your towels/belongings unattended on a chair but it's hard to say if it was actually enforced. Of course if you're in the mood to splurge and know you'll spend the whole day at the pool, you can spring for a private cabana for four for $250/day. You get free drinks. We had plenty of sites to see and things to do around Maui so paying extra to sit by the pool for 6+ hours didn't really appeal to us. There are multiple dispensers of fruit infused water and complimentary sunscreen products which was a nice touch. (as a bonus - the main hut has a pump and will inflate rafts and floats you buy yourself outside of the resort - hugely helpful!)

The beach is nice though we had arrived just after a storm system moved through and the sea was very rough the first few days. Be warned, the shore break can be deceivingly huge and perilous to younger kids. Thankfully we escaped with just a few bumps but we did lose a pair of ray bans and a lucky hat. You can rent boogie boards and snorkel gear from the resort but only if the seas are calm. I believe boogie boards are $9/hour up to $20/day but since the resort wouldn't rent them during red flag surf conditions we rented our own in town - $22 for the whole week. By the time the hotel did rent them several days later the waves were all but nonexistent.

It was nice to see that there are plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas to go around but they are issued on a first come, first serve basis. The staff will set up chairs and one umbrella for you, all tightly packed together in neat, efficient rows. If you're not down there by around 8AM or so, expect to get setup in the 2nd or 3rd row from the water as there's not a ton of open space for them to offer. For extra fees you can rent other stuff and we took a paddle board out for $40/hr once the water finally did calm down. It's a pristine, awesome place to paddle around though the swells still make it a little challenging at times. Snorkeling is decent right up to the north of the hotel, with larger reef systems coming in a few hundred yards further up (and usually populated with boats full of snorkelers). By early afternoon the winds pick up and snorkeling isn't nearly as good so get an early start.

We had two kids in tow but it's worth noting there is an adult pool and an 18+ area that's nice and quiet for those who aren't traveling with children (or just need a break!). The spa seemed nice but we didn't really have time. We also never got around to the kids club either but it sounded nice (though pricey). At around 630ish a native islander blows a huge conch and runs around lighting all the torches - our kids had fun running around with him. In the mornings they let kids feed the koi, which they also really enjoyed.

For us grown-ups, the swim up pool bar was very nice (adults only) and really no tropical vacation is complete without sitting in a pool bar stool on a hot day sipping a lava flow ($12). The Ko restaurant/lounge was also nice, especially during happy hour with a nice selection of 1/2 off apps and drink specials. It was a nice retreat when a little break from the kids was needed. We ate all of our dinners and lunches off property but did have the breakfast buffet the last morning which was good. We tried to get room service one night but was told it would be 90 minutes to deliver so we had to cancel as the kids were already at their wits end. The coffee shop / café downstairs was really handy - espresso drinks in the AM, pastries, fresh fruits, sandwiches, drinks... a good variety of snacks and food, healthy and junky.

After four fabulous days at the Fairmont the only bad side of the whole trip was that we eventually had to leave. It was nice to move up to Kaanapali and get a change of scenery but after being spoiled at the Fairmont anything else is going to feel a bit short.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - we were moved up to a higher floor and given a giant end/corner room with wrap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha, Brian and thank you for your very detailed review, as well as your many valuable tips for future guests. It’s truly a pleasure to know that you had an exceptional experience and enjoyed the spacious Signature Kilohana Suite, the resort’s tropical landscaping and our many guest activities. We work hard to provide exceptional service and memorable experiences, so we're proud that we succeeded with you. We'll be sure to share your comments with the team. Warmest aloha and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Having accepted the steep price of Maui 5-star accommodation, I cannot pick a fault with the Kea Lani. The hotel overlooks immaculately landscaped grounds followed by what may be the best beach in Wailea, and faces out towards the sun setting behind the mountain on Lanai.

We haven't been spending our short week beside the pool clinging to an overpriced cocktail, and took all of our dinners on the go, so my only comment on the service relates to housekeeping: it is top-notch and nearly invisible. What you do see is your luxurious room brought to perfect order just while you were gone and the hallucinatory mix of tropical colors outside, be it sunrise, high noon or sunset.

The beach is as perfect for the 6am wake-up dip as it is for watching sunset shift its colors all over the sea, the sky and the hotel buildings. Gentle looking waves offer scarily long rides to a body-surfer. The scenic walkpath above the cliffs takes you along the entire Wailea cost (but beware the hordes of joggers in the early morning!)

Whew - this was a long post.
Waiting for my plane in Kahului, waiting for my Fire Rock at the one and only bar in the terminal, waiting for another vacation which may well bring me back to Maui and the Kea Lani!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The most wonderful place to stay in Maui. Everyone was very helpful and made you feel very special. We had a problem with the refrigerator not getting cold. They were there within minutes and had it going for us. Every time we left they were offering us water for the road. This is the place you want to stay while you ate in Maui. Rooms are big and plenty of room for a family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon at the fairmont kea lani. We couldn't have asked for a better resort and cannot wait to go back. Relaxing on our beautiful lanai and then to the hammock at night was a dream and so romantic. It's the perfect spot to get away and unwind.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha, Michelle, and thank you for your review. We recognize that there are many options for accommodations on Maui and are delighted that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us. It’s terrific that you found the hotel perfect for a romantic getaway - your compliments are greatly appreciated. Congratulations on your marriage and best wishes for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent 3 days in this hotel before moving to Kaanapali and it was truly lovely experience, although the hotel is massive, it didn't seem too busy, there were always sunbeds available, the beach is beautiful and there is a nice walk along the coast in the residential villas area. We watched beautiful sunset from there and got really nice photos one night. Our suite was very nice and clean with big bathroom and big balcony where we used to have breakfast from the deli downstairs, their bagels and lunches are very tasty if you just want something quick. We had a meal in the Fishmarket restaurant one night which was delicious. The staff is very friendly and the hotel has all sorts of characteristic features and lots of cosy areas. The gym is the best I've seen so far in the hotels, it's not too big but very modern and it wasn't busy at the times we went so didn't have to wait for anything. We walked to Wailea village from there one morning, which was about 20 mins of pleasant walk. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with or without children. I would stay here again as we loved Maui and planning on coming back one day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IrisCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha Iris, we’re incredibly happy you had an amazing experience and appreciated everything that makes our resort so special. Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for recommending us and for the wonderful compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont in Wailea in July 2014 and it was an incredible vacation. The staff is professional and attentive, the guys at the beach who set up your chairs were instantly your friends-shout out to Justin and Jordan (nicest guys ever), the view is priceless, the beach is large and comfortable, the special treats (free teas all day, free coffee in am, free muffins from 7-8 am) made the stay even better. Best kept secret is hitting Nick's Happy Hour from 5-7 pm daily for amazing food for super cheap! Drink Specials too! The Suites you stay in are bigger than most 1 bedroom apts back home. Our AC needed to be reset and they had an engineer up at our room in less than 10 mins (and its a huge hotel-you wont be lost in the shuffle).

Finally, we enjoyed a private canoe/snorkel trip from the guys at the Fairmont Beach. Ask for Donny. SUCH amazing experience that we will cherish forever.

Thank you for an AMAZING stay. We will ONLY be staying here moving forward!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MaggieandTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha, Maggie and Tommy. Thank you for your wonderful review. We’re thrilled you had an amazing experience and enjoyed all the resort has to offer. We greatly appreciate your compliments about the friendly service from the beach staff. We're eager to share your feedback with them, especially Justin and Jordon. It’s also fantastic that you enjoyed The Hawaiian Sailing Canoe - it's one of our most popular activities! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
516 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: £387 - £1,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing