We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,054)
Filter reviews
5,055 results
Traveller rating
3,667
914
294
125
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,667
914
294
125
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsko restaurantcafe ciaosuite hotelnick's fish marketcanoe experienceadult poolfour seasonspresident's clubswim up barbreakfast buffetupper poolliving roomour honeymoontwo sinksocean viewtop notchwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 5,055 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

This is a very large sprawling resort. A little too large for my personal taste. Service at the hotel was good but nothing memorable. We had just come from the Fairmont on the Big Island, and we preferred that hotel by far. Rooms were very large and suitable for families. We were there the week before thanksgiving and there were tons of families with children. At the time we were there, much more of a family vibe, then romantic vibe. I suspect because this is an all suites hotel it is family oriented. Pools were nice, beach was superb. Food was good at the property, however the buffet breakfast was just OK. Much better at the Fairmont on the Big Island. The beach walk that runs along the hotels in Wailea was awesome for a morning walk or jog. Weather much better on the Wailea side of the island then the Kapalua side, where we normally stay. Personally I prefer the Kapalua Bay side, but both have their advantages. We did walk around the other properties next door, and preferred the Fairmont, with the exception of the four seasons. All in all a very solid hotel, especially for families.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LarryNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Director of Guest Experience at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Aloha LarryNY and mahalo for your honest review! Thank you for being a repeat Fairmont guest and coming to us after staying at our sister property on the Big Island. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay there! I appreciate your honest feedback regarding our property and apologize for the inconvenience that our high occupancy with families near Thanksgiving may have caused you during your stay with us. Please be assured that your feedback regarding Kea Lani Breakfast buffet will be passed along to our culinary department to ensure corrective measures are implemented. Again, thank you for your honest review and I do hope you give us another opportunity to deliver the true Fairmont five star experience that you received on the Big Island.

Warmest aloha,
April Storey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

I brought my family to visit Maui for the first time and decided to stay at the fairmont kea lani. To sum it up, amazing service, beautiful resort, way beyond our expectations from previous photos we had seen. I would strongly reccomend.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Armin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Director of Guest Experience at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Aloha Armin G and thank you for your recent five star review! Thank you for selecting Fairmont Kea Lani for your first family vacation in Maui, that is a huge honor! I am delighted that we surpassed your expectations and you had a great stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Warmest aloha,
April Storey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

This is an outstanding property. The suites are spacious, the grounds are immaculate, the staff is very friendly, the location on the beach with amenities to guests. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and the Ko restaurant is worth a try. The resort provides a complimentary shuttle to shops and restaurants within a 3 mile area. Thierry and Simon in guest services are great resources if you need any help.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Retiree74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Director of Guest Experience at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Aloha Retiree74 and thank you for your outstanding review! It brings me great satisfaction to learn you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us but especially that you felt a connection to our wonderful staff. Your kind words about Simon and Thierry will be shared and celebrated with them. It'll be our pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Warmest aloha,
April Storey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

From the moment we arrived the staff at the Fairmont Kea Lani provided the ultimate level of service. The employees are exceptional. Everyone in the entire hotel was incredible, valets, check-in, restaurant, room service, facilities, concierge…everyone. Not only do they provide perfect service, they care. They asked us how we were doing and how we were enjoying our stay, and if there was anything they could do to make it better.

The hotel is stunning, so well kept. Flowers bloom throughout the property. Everything was kept clean and beautifully decorated. The rooms were so roomy and comfortable.

The texting service was a perfect added touch. If we ever needed anything we simply texted and it was taken care of – from whale watching to restaurant reservations.

The beach was awesome – again, the guys who handled the chairs and umbrellas were so attentive and nice.

As we were packing to leave, we watched whales from our balcony.

The only thing we would have changed was that we would have stayed longer. We’re already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieokeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Director of Guest Experience at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Aloha debbieokeeffe! Thank you so very much for choosing Fairmont Kea Lani as your recent Maui vacation destination, we know there are plenty of great options in Wailea so we are thrilled you selected us! Your review filled me with pure joy. Nothing makes me happier than reading reviews, like yours, that harp on our incredible staff and their welcoming spirit of aloha. I'm so happy that you felt not only that their level of service was above and beyond but that their personalities mirrored that. Please be assured your kind review will be shared and celebrated with the staff! On behalf of the entire staff, we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest aloha,
April Storey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

You cannot beat the Kea Lani while staying in Wailea. We've been back countless times and still you will not find a better place if you want a ocean front, all suite, relaxing hotel. We always feel right at home when we stay here. Walkers will love that it's at the start of the Wailea Beach walk. Families will love that they can bring the kids and still have room just for themselves. Foodies will love having both Ko and Nicks on the same property. I love that it's not the zoo the Grand Wailea has become, or snobbish as the Four Seasons is. You have 5 beaches within walking distance and more within a very short drive. Food is always going to be pricey on the islands, but you have dozens of budget friendly restaurants and markets close by to help stretch the budget. Heck, you even have Costco just outside the airport !. Every suite has a huge lanai, living room with a sleeper sofa, and foyer with mini fridge and microwave. The bathroom is as big as my first apartment with a walk in shower, soaker tub, WC, and two sinks. What more would you want ?.

Room Tip: Use the hotel Escalade shuttle for dinner or shopping in Wailea. Cafe Ciao has the best coffee & baked goods for a quick breakfast.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj8921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Director of Guest Experience at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Aloha jj8921, "cannot beat the Kea Lani"? What an incredible compliment! Allow me to first off thank you for being a loyal return guest to Fairmont Kea Lani over the years. Your review brought a huge smile to my face reading about all the aspects you have grown to love about our property that make you feel "at home". I'm glad you enjoy the Wailea Beach walk, restaurants, nearby beaches, spacious suites and incredible view from the lanai when you stay with us. It'll be our pleasure to welcome you "home" again very soon!

Warmest aloha,
April Storey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews