We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forever Lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Street Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 New Bedford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My fourth visit in a year attests to the fact that this is indeed a lovely destination. The innkeeper's suggestions for antiquing in the area were extremely helpful. The Glass Museum he introduced me to was an unexpected pleasure.
Spicy Lime Tai restaurant and The Ugly Gallery nearby added to my list of places to revisit the next time I'm in New Bedford.
A book in the living room with stories about Euell Gibbons and his food explorations was a fascinating read. The food is great, the rooms are period and charming and the inn keeper is a wealth of knowledge about the area.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Artbrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Maybe we should keep this a secret so others won't book the place, but that would not be fair in the spirit of Tripadvisor. The interior of the property is gorgeous - an expansive whaling mansion decorated with the keen eye of the host and hostess. The furniture and decorations range from the historical in keeping with the New Bedford whaling tradition to the various places around the globe where the owners lived - Morocco, Pakistan, Peru and Zaire. Our host was delightful, and we wished we had met his wife who was on a consulting assignment overseas. The breakfast was wonderful - fruit in a strawberry sauce along with fresh baked muffins. The best part was the dialogue with the owner. The B&B is located near the historical mansions which you can take a walking tour of. Don't miss the Whaling Museum and the National Park Service tour around the area near the Visitor Center - both are well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gparch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This elegant whaling mansion made into a B&B was so delightful and it's owner so hospitable that I visited twice in three weeks this Summer! Easily accessible from the highway in a lovely and historic part of town, this restored mansion is a veritable museum filled with both whaling mementoes and treasures collected by the present family who have lived throughout the world. The oval dining room, made entirely of chestnut panels is absolutely stunning, as is the sweeping staircase leading up to the guest rooms.
Knowing that I could not eat nuts or seeds, the lovely innkeeper actually seeded strawberries for my breakfast and made oatmeal the long way, by soaking the oats overnight. I was directed to the Whaling Museum down the street and to local antique shops which were not at all a disappointment. I'm only sad that my grandkids will have to be at least 12 years old before they are old enough to stay overnight!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Artbrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

What a great place to spend a weekend! My wife and I have been attending New Bedford Summerfest for years and the Orchard Street Manor is the best venue for walking and enjoying the quaintness of the historical district. Al Saulniers is a terrific host who has an encyclopedic knowledge of the vicinity that he cheerfully shares with thoroughness, clarity, and a spontaneous history lesson. The rooms are most comfortable and full of period furnishings of the heyday of the Whaling City. The common areas downstairs comprise a virtual museum of artistic artifacts from around the world, with photos of some very interesting political characters of the area, the nation, and the world. With a fruit filled breakfast, homemade muffins, great coffee/tea/juice, and always interesting conversation from the guests and the host, you are ready to explore the treasures of Southeastern Massachusetts. If looking for comfort, a secure location, and great hospitality, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank papascarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Although I live in Massachusetts, I decided to stay overnight in New Bedford, given a 2-day conference I was attending there. I was fortunate enough to find the Orchard Street Manor and loved it!

The host could not have been more gracious and welcoming. The home is filled with treasures and history about the Sea Captain whose home it was originally.

The rooms are spacious and filled with large towels and lots of reading materials. I stayed in the Green Room and found the mattress to be one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced at an Inn or B&B.

I really wanted to eat at a Portuguese restaurant and Al kindly directed me to Antonio's, a local gem with generous portions and reasonable prices. I had a marinated pork sandwich and it was excellent. The service was outstanding and clearly lots of regulars dine there frequently, as many were greeted by name.

Breakfast at the Manor was a fresh fruit smoothie and freshly baked muffins. The coffee was strong (as I like it) and it was a wonderful way to start the day.

I highly recommend the Orchard Street Manor.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliFromBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

Since I am from New Bedford and still have family there, I travel there quite often (at least once each season). Once I discovered The Orchard Street Manor I have stayed there ever since. Al and Suzanne always make me feel as though I have come home, sitting at breakfast with me and sharing all that has happened in town since my last visit. The accommodations are wonderful, beautifully furnished in a combination of period furniture and decorated with an array of items from their world travels. They have frequently arranged restaurant meals for me, assisted with contacts with local merchants, and always prepared a delightful breakfast with warm freshly backed muffins. I will never forget their support and help when I returned unexpectedly for my father's funeral after his sudden death. I look forward to "coming home" to the Inn.

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank BradSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank didro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al S, Owner at Orchard Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Bedford
1.4 mi away
Seaport Inn and Marina
Seaport Inn and Marina
#2 of 3 in Fairhaven
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bedford / Fairhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Street Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Street Manor

Address: 139 Orchard St, New Bedford, MA 02740-3625
Region: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Bedford
Price Range: £93 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"#1 B&B, New Bedford" Standard-Times reader poll. Exceptional, historic, globetrotter-run lodging with elegant public areas and individually decorated rooms. Experience New Bedford's past in Whaling Captain Benjamin Clark's 1840s home expanded in 1903 by Cotton Baron Henry Tiffany. Harbor views, private baths, AC, cable, WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchard Street Manor New Bedford, Massachusetts, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing