We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a lot of choices in New Bedford” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not a lot of choices in New Bedford”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here one night on business, attending a meeting. The location is good, with much of downtown New Bedford in easy walking distance. The hotel faces the working waterfront, a nice feature.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was mostly clean, but seemed a little worn, despite the relatively recent opening of the hotel a few years ago. The rooms were poorly sound-insulated and noisy.

The bathroom and furniture seemed to be of low "Ikea" quality with few in-room amenities. I did not bother to try the wifi - brought my own.

Unfortunately, there isn't a much better hotel in New Bedford.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the waterfront side of the hotel. Rooms facing the city have plenty of street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandCanyon_hiker018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello GrandCanyon_hiker018,
Very nice to see that you like our great location in downtown New Bedford! I hope you had a chance to try some yummy seafood while here with us. We wish we could have made your stay more comfortable in your guest room. Our hotel is hitting its 4th birthday and we work hard to keep up with the furnishings in our guest rooms. I know you were here for a meeting but I do hope that if you are ever visiting our area again you choose to stay with us.

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    110
    39
    5
    6
See reviews for
99
81
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, KY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We started our tour of New England in New Bedford, MA, where we stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. The hotel was lovely and is located right on the water front in an excellent location to walk around and explore the town. Ask for a room on an upper floor to get the best views of the harbor, we were on the 3rd floor and had an excellent view. The room was spacious, clean and had plenty of places to plug-in our electronics. They offered a free breakfast which was the standard fare of waffle station, toast/bagels/English muffins, fruits, yogurt, cereals etc. Plenty of options and a nice seating area.
The staff was very friendly and helpful when we asked questions about things we could do in the area.

Room Tip: Request upper floors for the best harbor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011famvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear 2011famvac,
Very nice to see that you had a great stay with us here at the Fairfield Inn and Suites, New Bedford. It was our pleasure to help with ideas of things to do in our neighborhood and to suggest some great places to dine out as well. We love that we are located on the harbor with great views all times of the day. We really hope that you enjoyed yourself so much that you will choose to stay with us again when back in the area.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The staff are really nice and caring, anything I asked for they assist me right away. The hotel is very clean & new. They have a great free breakfast in the morning. I would highly recommend for anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GQPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are ever in the are again, please keep us in mind.

Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Did not get the room I booked which was supposed to have a guest room in addition to a bedroom. When requesting a new room I was informed that rooms with a guest room only had one bed and therefore not adequate for me and my guest. Room was very small and upgrade for view totally not worth the money. Service was horrible and managers rude. The pool is extremely small. Walls are paper thin and can hear conversations next door that went on all night.

Worst of all the coverlet to the bed had blood on it. Not my blood! Disgusting!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirakira c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford. As discussed at check in, when the confirmation email states "guestroom" that means you have reserved a room, it does not mean there is a living area. We did try to rectify the misunderstanding, but you chose not to move. I apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay.


Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
266 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

It might be the American like ice...but I found the ice vending machine incredibly noisy! You can't belive it was like a nuclear power plant outside my door: floor 4 room around 402-406...I asked for a change but the hotel was full. This is of course a minor detail in a hotel reviews. My 3* are based on the poor breakfast and low quality furniture not really adequate to the category. Nice the exercise room as well as the small pool, which must be accessibile for earlier hours in the morning and not only from 7.00 on.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the tiem to review the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford. I am sorry to hear that the ice machine was a disturbance to you. We want all guests to have a great stay with us and are sorry to hear that wasn't the case with you. We hope that if you are in th area again, you give us another chance.

Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Choose another hotel. Management unconcerned about slippery tub. Said they could do nothing about it as Fairfield hotels did not allow any non skid mat on tub surface. Also no creamer with morning coffee in room. Just a basic hotel. Could use a few more amenities. Again slippery tub is a danger.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford. I can assure you that all reported concerns of potential safety issues are taken very seriously and looked into. Also, there is powdered creamer in the condiment packet that is included in the coffee station in every room. I apologize that your stay with us was not up to par.

Sara Haslam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great position near the fishing boat quays. Very new clean modern. Great free breakfast. Decent enough room for the chain & price. Service was fine. I got the Xtra towels I asked for. Always a thing with me enough towels. If in the area again I'd stay again. Only the upper floor rooms have a view. Book early enough to get one. Plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traflagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford. We appreciate all feedback we receive, and we are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us. The entire staff looks forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sara Haslam
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Bedford
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bedford / Fairhaven
1.0 mi away
Seaport Inn and Marina
Seaport Inn and Marina
#2 of 3 in Fairhaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn New Bedford Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
13.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wareham Buzzards Bay
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dartmouth Inn
BEST WESTERN Dartmouth Inn
#2 of 5 in North Dartmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
Address: 185 Macarthur Dr, New Bedford, MA 02740-7275
Region: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Bedford
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford Hotel New Bedford
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford Massachusetts, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing