We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't stop going back”
Review of Cotali Mar

Cotali Mar
Ranked #50 of 250 Restaurants in New Bedford
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't stop going back”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This time we went I had the steak on the hot plate with baked stuff shrimp, mashed, carrots and broc. molten lava choc cake. I had to get a to-go box because I just could not eat it all (not even half). Martinis are always a plus. Ana was our server, we request her every time we eat there. She is fabulous!!! I have a different meal most times we go, my fav is pecan crusted salmon. You have to experience eating here at least once but believe me you will be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This place just did not cut it for my son and I. When we were seated we were informed by the waiter that the head chef was on this evening. Anticipating a great meal we started with a bottle of Donna Maria Reserva (very reasonable at $50). For appetizers we had the little necks with garlic and wine along with the shrimp alhinho. Both dishes were missing something and they just didn't hit the mark with us. The bread that came with the appetizers for dipping was the old dried bread that was tasteless and not suited for soaking up juices. Maybe it was intended that way. For the main course we each had the Steak special that came on a hot tile of some sort, with mashed potatoes ( cold and pasty ) and zuccini, squash in a tomato sauce with parmesan cheese on top. The steak was served along with two dipping sauces that were tasteless. We could not figure out what they were supposed to be. We left at 7:30 and we were one of three tables on a Thursday night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Gr8 food & Tony's the best”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Love their food and Tony is the best waiter ever! Too many gr8 choices on the menu, hard 2 decide what 2 order.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tmbsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food at a slow pace!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

A beautiful space in a tough neighborhood. We were seated fairly quickly on a busy Saturday night. The sangria, made to order, was a great start to the night. We ordered the flamed chorizo for an appetizer and it was tasty. I had the steak on a stone special and it was delicious. It comes with a red wine sauce and a mustard sauce. The steak was a great size and the experience of cooking it on the stone was fun! Others in our party enjoyed their meals (salmon dish and mussels in a whit wine reduction). While our waitress was great, the service was slow. We were there for 3 hours. If you are in a rush it's probably not the place for you. I would definitely try this place again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank True_Love_LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas party of 21 people”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Service was very poor, we made reservations for 21 people and you would have thought owner would have called in extra waiters/waitresses. Our poor waiter was very nice, but the service was very very slow. Appetizers came out in shifts, some of our party received their meals, yet some of us hadn't even received our appetizers. Ordering drinks for the bar proved to be difficult as he was trying to wait on us, and other parties. Our reservations were for 6:30-we were not served our meals until 9:15 PM!!! My pork medallions were overcooked...just a horrible experience over all! Bill was extremely high for the length of the wait for our food!!! I would not recommend going there to anyone!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BigMama0369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cotali Mar also viewed

 

Been to Cotali Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing