We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where dreams come true”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ilhabela
Certificate of Excellence
Ilhabela, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where dreams come true”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

One of the most romantic hotels in the world
right place if you are in love.

I would describe this hotel as quiet, intimate and perfect for couples looking for a romantic get a way.
If you are travelling with children stay at one of the hotels next door.
The rooms are lovely decorated.

Unforgettable, we will be back !!!!
.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,813
    462
    122
    38
    28
See reviews for
289
1,757
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This review concerns a 4 night stay at DPNY in August 2013. The hotel sells itself as a 5 star resort on the beaches of Ilhabela, and upon arrival, the property is certainly impressive.

The welcome by the receptionist was neutral. A well rehearsed script about breakfast times etc was narrated without any feeling or enthusiasm. Our car was parked without problem and our cases taken to our rooms.

We had booked a junior suite for the duration of our stay, which I have to say was pretty unimpressive. What doesn't come across on the website is that the 'suites' are tiny. They are dominated by a huge and very comfortable bed, but that's about it. You have to squeeze past the end of the bed to get to the bathroom.

The bathroom itself was a good size and very clean with a nice strong power shower and beautiful mosaic tiles. The towels were really grim, like sandpaper, and you only received one small and one big towel for each guest.

The hotel, the grounds, the pool area and the beach are all absolutely stunning and definitely live up to the hype. The swimming pool itself is crystal blue and huge. Lots of sun loungers are provided and you also get as many beach towels as you need. The sun loungers are fitted with really comfortable mattresses, covered with clean white cotton. A great way to spend the day relaxing.

At night time, the resort is beautifully lit and is absolutely stunning, but don't forget your mosquito and insect repellent which you need to apply by 4.30pm.

The only thing that lets this hotel down is the consistently bad service. From reception to breakfast, to the bars to the beach, the service is dreadful. The hotel employs VERY young people at the resort and consequently there is no sense of service of any type.

If you are on the beach, forget about being served drinks, just save yourself stress and go to the pool bar. But wait for them to prepare the drinks whilst you wait. Otherwise they will probably never arrive.

We did not leave the resort and dined at all 3 restaurants, and the service was appalling. There is nothing good to say about it. There would always be a problem. Not taking your order, bringing the wrong order, not listening to you, forgetting things, orders taking over an hour. AND we are both native Portuguese speakers, so none of this was lost in translation.

It also struck me that there was no one in charge at the resort. It is clearly lacking leadership. During the 5 days, not once did anyone ask us about our stay, no one appeared to be in charge and it really shows. I know from my job that when you see a poorly performing organisation, you will find poor leadership. And so is the case here.

A final word on breakfast. This is where the service is really maddening. The breakfast is mediocre, nothing to write home about, but if you want tea or coffee you cannot serve yourself. You have to wait for one of the waitresses to serve you and this takes forever. It's really infuriating. And when you receive, it, you will come to realise it was definitely not worth waiting for.

So in summary, go here, have a good time and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and scenery. But just expect really bad service and you will not be disappointed.

Oh and finally. The prices quoted on their website are high. Log on to their chat application and they will almost certainly give you a better price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGoldenMidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itatiba - SP
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We loved the place in all senses. We stayed at what they call 5 star suite in the other side, which it means we were not inside of the complex, but it was just a matter of crossing the street. The decor in general is wonderful, the rooms are well cleaned, the bed very confortable, and the bathroom is big. The breakfast is great and thus are the restaurants. The staff is very attentive and they are ready to help you with anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jule2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

In response to the notice of Mr Johann S, I have the pleasure to contradict this opinion and I would particularly like to explain the reasons!
We like very much DPNY Hôtel
Outstanding location, having booked on-line as everywhere, we took a basic room hoping a sea view by not taking the option, and as we were in the low season we had hoped to have a chmbre double with partial view that we had no problem on our arrival, making check-in with efficient and courteous employee-English speaking, and at our disposal, as from Sao Paulo, this it is always found very difficult to converse in English.
We had a rental with Ess efficient society and the Nice driver Marcos we also recommend via San Sebastao, before taking the ferry to the island very close to Ilhabella. Simple little access which also explains the lack of European clients in this island. DPNY hotel is particularly well situated in a beautiful Bay and a sand beach beautiful, architectural of small buildings scattered in a very well maintained landscape setting, and a staff especially dedicated to every detail of your requirements if you have the kindness to point out. With regard to breakfast served morning no reproaches and the quality and choice are vast.
If you wake up late a service you will then be proposed without extra charge with a selection of à la carte dishes served from 11: 00 until 13: 00, except drinks, are all logic.
For restaurants see, we particularly appreciate the "Trioia" and its new leader passionate also Brazilian and French cuisine pure chance.
Very excellent cooker, for our special dégustation menu, for us during our stay!
Very lucky we are ! Thank you Sir and the manager too, who do is maximum for the difficult client they have. Thanks to the staff with always smiling, to their guests!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John and Philip... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We loved the style, decor, and room amenities. Very tasteful, very chic. Wonderful pool, beautiful beach, and perfect relaxation at this hotel. Only minor fault is the bread quality at breakfast.
We will be going back, thoroughly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gentle_Giant_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed at DPNY beach hotel, Ilhabela for a week and enjoyed a lot with friends. There are indoor and outdoor swimming pool, restaurant, garden, picnic area and much more facilities available in this hotel. Room services are great and food quality was very nice. and If anyone will visit this hotel first time then keep in mind that pets not allowed, children under 18 must have photo ID and birth certificate and 12 years old and younger children are not allowed at this hotel. Overall, very nice experience and I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I spent a weekend here while working in Sao Paulo. It was the perfect escape from the city. We rented a car and drove along the coast and had no problem driving onto the ferry. We stayed in a room on the other side of the road to save money and the room was big, clean and the bed was very comfortable. There are big umbrellas everywhere in case it is raining and you need to cross back and forth.

We really enjoyed the breakfast which was included in the price. It runs until 1pm so you can sleep in and still enjoy it. Champagne was included. Also loved the sushi restaurant which we had once for dinner and then for lunch. Ate at Troia the last night which was good pasta, but actually probably my least favorite place we ate at. The last night we stayed was a Sunday and there was a free wine tasting in the evening which was lovely.

During the day we relaxed on the beach or at the pool and it was nice that the comfortable beds and chairs and towels were all included. Service was spotty to get a drink on the beach, but once you tracked someone down they were attentive. We also appreciated that the water sports were included in the price. We did stand-up paddleboarding while we were there.

I thought the service was spectacular -- the morning we were leaving there was a bad storm and the front desk continually called the ferry for us and let us know when it was open.

Valet parking is included in the price.

Since you have to pay for water everywhere, my tip is to refill in the reception area where they have pitchers of flavored water.

And check out the beautiful handmade tile everywhere!

Room Tip: "Outro lado" rooms are great if you want to save money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awesometown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilhabela hotels
9.0 mi away
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ilhabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
3.9 mi away
Barra do Piuva Porto Hotel
7.8 mi away
Real Villa Bella Hotel
Real Villa Bella Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ilhabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
TW Guaimbe Exclusive Suites
2.2 mi away
Hotel Praia do Portinho
Hotel Praia do Portinho
#5 of 23 in Ilhabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Mercedes
Hotel Mercedes
#10 of 23 in Ilhabela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Av. Jose Pacheco do Nascimento, 7668 | Praia do Curral, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 Family Hotel in Ilhabela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ilhabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa Ilhabela, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing