We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Affordable and Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dragonfly Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dragonfly Inn B&B
Ranked #4 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
300 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Clean, Affordable and Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dragonfly Inn January 19th for one night. We were picked up at our hotel in Quito by one of their drivers, Alexandra. She was a very good driver and accommodated our request for a stop to get a sim card for our cell phone on the way to Mindo. We liked our room at the inn and enjoyed hanging our on our small deck with hammock to watch the multitudes of hummingbirds at the feeder 8 feet away. We arranged a guided trip through the Inn to go birding with Marcelo at 6am the next morning. Marcelo was on time and brought his tripod and spotting scope to help us see the birds. Even though we are not birders we wanted to see the birds of the area and thought a guide was the best way. For $60 you can’t go wrong. Marcelo can spot birds, and call them close for your viewing, but what really amazed us was how he held our point and shoot camera up to the lens of his spotting scope and snapped pictures that looked professional. We got great shots of a quetzal, several types of tucans, a brightly colored pigeon, and saw many other beautiful birds of the cloud forest. We had walked the Yellow house trail the day before and saw virtually no birds due to the time of day and our inexperience as bird spotters. Even if you are not into birding, a trip with Marcelo is a treat.
The food at the Inn is good, and it’s just a great place to hang out for a while. If you like to see hummingbirds up close it’s a great place to do so. We had room number 6 that is on the side by a rushing stream which made sleeping easy. If we return to Mindo we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of rushing water take a room on the stream side of the inn. We had room number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    46
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
45
64
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
Level Contributor
96 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

After a long flight, we loved the calm of this lodge.
What we liked: good breakfast, very good meals available all day, excellent juice, clean, hardwood floors. Competitive price.
Least: too small bathroom for a stay of several days, restaurant and internet room closed at 9 a.m. instead of 10 a.m. as it is written on the door.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sherblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

While there are surely cheaper places in Mindo, we always choose the Dragonfly Inn. Rooms are beautiful—all wood, bright white linens, and hot showers. Wifi doesn't work very well in the rooms, and often needs re-setting in the main lodge, but we didn't come to Mindo to sit on the internet anyway, so it's no big deal. Food is good, and service is genuinely friendly. Right across the street is a tour place where you can book canopy, waterfalls, etc. One of the staff, Marjorie, found us private transport to Esmeraldas for a very good price, and helped us with several questions about buses, cabs, and so forth. Really love this place!

Room Tip: River side rooms tend to be a little quieter than those that face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjsharp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Pros:
+ One of the better options in terms of appearance. Rooms were clean and service was acceptable.
+ Could have good views of the river and mountains depending on your room.

Cons:
- Everything is so cheap in Mindo that even though the price was low, I don't know if the value proposition was there.
- Almost no English spoken by staff, which I find disappointing
- WiFi was very spotty, would only sometimes work downstairs in the restaurant; could never get it to work in our room
- Food here is overpriced; twice the price as the place across the street and tastes the same; food was slow to arrive.
- Tons of small glitches in the room (ie, one light would not turn off completely - would flicker every 10s, toilet did not flush all of the time, door to the shower took extreme effort to move, cracks in glass door, etc).

I really wanted to love this hotel since it looked so quaint from the outside. The room itself looks great at first glance too. It was not until we started to actually settle in that problems started appearing - WiFi issues, overpriced restaurant, a toilet that flushed 20% of the time, lights that could not be turned off, etc. Finding a place to stay in Mindo is difficult since many are dodgy looking hostels, and maybe the Dragonfly Inn is the best of the worst. Not perfect, but maybe worth a visit.

Room Tip: To book a room, you basically have to go to their website and email them as I could not find them on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

I am not so enthusiastic as all the other people about this b&b & Mindo. The room and bathroom are tiny and although the atmosphere of the building is really nice, I wasn't impressed by the whole setting. The staff was friendly but rather seemed to hang in front of the place than make an extra effort. I am sure the manager was not around, but that shouldn't be an excuse.
The electricity went of at night and stayed off the whole morning, which off course can happen, but I didn't like the way the staff dealt with it. It was not possible to shower and at breakfast they said, no luz, no cafe with a big smile. Which is ridiculous, because if you boil hot water you can easily make coffee and its not that they were busy since there was only one other couple in the hotel which was on tour, they had nothing to do. Anyway, the Mindo environment is gorgeous, but if you are not that into birding I would skip the village. There's nothing going on and it's a kind of shabby place, especially at this time of the year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

The Inn, breakfast, restaurant & location were very good but our stay was interrupted by drunk revellers at 3am on the street below and the couple next door got drunk, argued and then made up loudly...so we didn't sleep very well the 2 nights we were there! I think the owner was away as didn't see anyone around to ask about tours so used a day bird watching tour opposite which was good. We walked to the waterfalls and passed some beautiful lodges so if we were to return, we'd stay off the main drag. Room very clean and good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights here recently. We were very impressed by the rooms, friendly staff, and the food in the restaurant. (A local taxi driver told us Dragonfly Inn's food was the best in town, and we found no reason to doubt that assessment.) The modest room price seems like a real bargain. We're birders, so spent most mornings enjoying the great local birding. We were delighted to be told that we could have a late breakfast whenever we wandered back in from the field. We appreciated sitting on the patio using their free Wi-Fi and watching the birds coming to the hummingbird feeders and the trees over the small river--we actually saw a couple of new species while sitting there! I would highly recommend Dragonfly Inn for anyone coming to Mindo, and I would highly recommend Mindo for anyone interested in birdwatching in Ecuador.

Room Tip: We had room number 1, with a picture window view of the foliage overlooking the small river. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamaicaBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.6 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
2.1 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#2 of 19 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Inn B&B

Property: Dragonfly Inn B&B
Address: Avenue Quito and Sucre | Chaupi River, Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Dragonfly Inn - located in Mindo, Ecuador along the Canchupi River. At the Dragonfly Inn we offer clean rooms with private bathrooms, comfortable beds and covered outdoor balconies with hammocks. The bathrooms are equipped with hot showers that provide excellent water pressure. Each room is finished with sealed wood paneling, wood floors and French doors that access an outdoor balcony. Screened windows provide adequate ventilation. Room rates include a delicious breakfast in an attractive restaurant setting. Plants and hummingbirds abound from the restaurant balcony overlooking the garden patio along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dragonfly Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing