We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Inn by the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dragonfly Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dragonfly Inn B&B
Ranked #4 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Pretty Inn by the river”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We spent one lovely night here in a room (#6, I think) overlooking the river. We had our own little balcony with a hammock, and sat out there way into the evening, listening to the river and night sounds. The room was really comfy and charming. They appear to be building a large outdoor covered deck out back, which is going to make this an even more inviting place to stay in town. Try to get room overlooking river. Super friendly, accommodating owner!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    46
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
45
64
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawford Bay, BC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We escaped from the noise of Caskaffesu to the Dragonfly for our last night. The bed is super, the room lovely, the wood floors kind to the feet, the view over the river terrific. While there was some street noise, it was minimal.
We had a wonderful dinner - filet mignon and chicken fajitas - and a good breakfast out on the balcony watching the hordes of hummingbirds.
On the downside: the wifi was intermittent and the wait staff negligent. I ended up bussing my plates at both meals, just to get them off the table.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharbot lake,Ontario,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Dragonfly Inn to go bird watching. The staff were very accommodating, They gave us a 5am wake up call and a packed breakfast for our excursion. We hired a guide they had recommended who was an excellent birder.
Our room at the Inn was exceptionally clean. We had two bedrooms and a common deck where we could recline in the hammock and watch various kinds of hummingbirds at the feeder. How good does it get?

Helpful?
Thank Swing144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

The inn is very clean and helpful friendly staff with some English. The breakfast was good. Our room was a little dark because of all the wood and poor lighting. But we enjoyed the little balcony above the river with the hummingbird feeders. We did have problems getting hot water but overall recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank salmonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very nice and the location is great. It positions itself as slightly up market and for that I was expecting a little better service. The staff was not able to tell me details about mindo tours and directed me to the information centers of the town where no one really speaks English. The wifi was turned off at night (theres no one on the premises after 8ish) and password changed for it which resulted in my not having email access and missing the birding tour for my only morning. Having said that, it's clean, breakfast and rooms are very good. Bathrooms are small and slightly dark.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radsque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the DragonFly Inn and had an amazing time. Mindo is an extremely chilled out, very relaxed place to visit. Was nice to escape the buzz of Quito.
The Dragonfly Inn is located right in the middle of town, and has a great little restaurant and terrace which has loads of Hummingbirds buzzing around. It's right next to a stream.

Our room had a private bathroom and two balconies with a hammock.

The only reason that I wouldn't give it 5*'s is because our room was on the street which was a bit noisy at night (although we were given the option to have a quieter room without a balcony), and I had to have a cold shower on one of the days, although on the other night the water was very hot.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are a bit quieter, but having said that, it's quite nice to have a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddybishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just perfect for a tranquil stay in Mindo (and that's what Mindo is all about). A small, comfortable inn conveniently located in the center of town. Beautiful wood construction gives it a very warm feeling. Clean rooms and comfortable bedding.

A nice common area/restaurant with good food and a small bar. Breakfast with bread, eggs, juices, fruit and very good coffee was included. The fruit was all peeled, which makes it safe for those of us who need to be careful about local food ... a very nice touch that shows the staff is paying attention to food safety.

Staff was excellent. We arrived early in the day. There was no problem leaving our bags until check in time later in the day.

We stayed in the room with a queen bed and a bunk with two twins in the middle floor. A wonderful room that included a small balcony with hammock overlooking the stream and a tree full of hummingbirds.

The reservation process was very informal. Just a quick call and a first name. I was a bit worried about this at first - being used to 15 digit confirmation numbers ;) - but it worked out just fine.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.6 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Saguamby Mindo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Inn B&B

Property: Dragonfly Inn B&B
Address: Avenue Quito and Sucre | Chaupi River, Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Dragonfly Inn - located in Mindo, Ecuador along the Canchupi River. At the Dragonfly Inn we offer clean rooms with private bathrooms, comfortable beds and covered outdoor balconies with hammocks. The bathrooms are equipped with hot showers that provide excellent water pressure. Each room is finished with sealed wood paneling, wood floors and French doors that access an outdoor balcony. Screened windows provide adequate ventilation. Room rates include a delicious breakfast in an attractive restaurant setting. Plants and hummingbirds abound from the restaurant balcony overlooking the garden patio along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dragonfly Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing