We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragonfly Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dragonfly Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April and could not have been happier with the room (#6) which is facing the river and has a balcony with a hammock. We were content just having a drink on the balcony on our second night and taking in the view. The food at the restaurant was very good and they offered a great breakfast with homemade juice. The staff was very friendly and incredibly helpful. We had an emergency while we were there (the ONE ATM in town does not accept international ATM cards and we were left almost without any cash since everything in town is cash only. The bank in the next town doesn't work either so make sure to take out cash before coming to Mindo!!), and they were extremely accommodating and got on the phone with the owner who offered to give us cash in exchange for a PayPal deposit. We definitely recommend this hotel for the location, the lovely rooms and views, and the helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room #6 ;-) Balcony with view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    47
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
46
65
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Beautiful clean hotel right in town and on the river. Terrific staff, very comfortable. A little noisy because it is right on the street. Food in the restaurant was good and offered delicious vegetarian options. We had actually planned on staying elsewhere, but that place didn't work out and we happened upon this place and couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in a lovely room (Room 6) that had a balcony overlooking the river. We could sit for hours and just watch all the beautiful hummingbirds coming to the feeders. Comfy beds and the lulling sound of the river made for very good sleeps. The hardwood in the rooms was beautiful but made the rooms a little dark. I would suggest some better lighting to make the rooms perfect! I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was delicious. The Dragonfly Inn helped me book a reasonably priced transfer from Quito that was very good and when in Mindo they suggested a bird watching guide, Marcelo, and I had an excellent morning out with him seeing all kinds of birds....Cock of the Rock, Antpitta, tanagers and toucans. Very happy with my stay at the Dragonfly Inn!

Room Tip: Room # 6 was lovely...away from the street, overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank next_holiday_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent 2 nights here recently. The pluses - the hotel is conveniently located and we enjoyed our panfried trout dinner (served with crisp vegetables and pretty good french fries) at the restaurant. Breakfast was fine as well. The bed was fairly comfortable, and we appreciated the view of the river and all the hummingbirds. The negatives - the bathroom was really dark and the staff weren't particularly friendly. I don't think that the woman who checked us in even smiled once. We assume that we were not supposed to drink the water in the room or put paper in the toilet. The staff certainly never said anything, and there was nothing posted. We had to buy a bottle of water to take to our room. I had had very positive communication with the owners, but didn't meet them when we were there, so possibly our experience would have been different if they had been onsite. Overall, for the price and location, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBJEinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Like many have said, the town is loud at night. We had two rooms. Room 6 by the river was peaceful with bunk beads and a queen. Room 1 has no sound proofing.... So town noise is loud...we were there on Friday and Saturday night. Still 4 stars for unique lodge, friendly staff, good dinner and breakfasts.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganPartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We spent one lovely night here in a room (#6, I think) overlooking the river. We had our own little balcony with a hammock, and sat out there way into the evening, listening to the river and night sounds. The room was really comfy and charming. They appear to be building a large outdoor covered deck out back, which is going to make this an even more inviting place to stay in town. Try to get room overlooking river. Super friendly, accommodating owner!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawford Bay, BC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We escaped from the noise of Caskaffesu to the Dragonfly for our last night. The bed is super, the room lovely, the wood floors kind to the feet, the view over the river terrific. While there was some street noise, it was minimal.
We had a wonderful dinner - filet mignon and chicken fajitas - and a good breakfast out on the balcony watching the hordes of hummingbirds.
On the downside: the wifi was intermittent and the wait staff negligent. I ended up bussing my plates at both meals, just to get them off the table.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
1.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.6 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
2.1 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#2 of 19 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Saguamby Mindo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Inn B&B

Property: Dragonfly Inn B&B
Address: Avenue Quito and Sucre | Chaupi River, Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Dragonfly Inn - located in Mindo, Ecuador along the Canchupi River. At the Dragonfly Inn we offer clean rooms with private bathrooms, comfortable beds and covered outdoor balconies with hammocks. The bathrooms are equipped with hot showers that provide excellent water pressure. Each room is finished with sealed wood paneling, wood floors and French doors that access an outdoor balcony. Screened windows provide adequate ventilation. Room rates include a delicious breakfast in an attractive restaurant setting. Plants and hummingbirds abound from the restaurant balcony overlooking the garden patio along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dragonfly Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing