We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bouquet hotel with helpful owners!”
Review of Dragonfly Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dragonfly Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Most comfortable beds we've had in SA in 3.5 months. Clean towels and sheets every day, with a chocolate on our beds when we returned home from long days out hiking. Perfect showers- hot and with great pressure.
Wifi did not work at all however.
The breakfast was fresh and simple- fruit salad, fresh juice, hot bread rolls and scrambled eggs, coffee/tea/hot chocolate.

Very helpful and friendly owners!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank JessBeavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingo S, Manager at Dragonfly Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks for the nice words. Glad you liked it. Unfortunately the WiFi technique is not so developed here in Ecuador as you know it from first world countries, but now it works reliable in the restaurant and the public areas.
Come back soon!
WE ARE UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT SINCE 1ST OF AUGUST.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our son came to visit us in Ecuador and Mindo was a must-see stop on our agenda. We opted to stay at the Dragonfly Inn, a small hotel and Restaurant on the main drag in Mindo. It is very well maintained. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had a triple room, which was two bedrooms with a shared bathroom. It was very comfortable. The sound of the river made for a relaxing nights sleep. Because it's an all wood structure, with polished wood floors, guests are asked to remove their shoes before entering.

The wifi was a bit spotty, but we did not go to Mindo to spend time on the internet. I actually enjoyed the disconnected time away. Room rates include breakfast. You are served a nice meal with juice and coffee. Everyday we had something different and it was all very good. The hotel is adding on, and even though work was in progress it was never loud or disruptive. The new addition looks amazing! This is a great little place, that appears to be getting even better. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side. It offers better views and the lush sounds of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We arrived mid afternoon in Mindo after a long drive from the coast. This place was an oasis!! Situated right next to a roaring river, with views of the entire town, this is definitely a home away from home. My room had a view of the city, and every night I sat on my balcony and watched the town come to life! It was like the 1950's. Kids riding bikes and playing games, families walking around together visiting with shopkeepers, just simply amazing! The restaurant in the hotel is the best we had in Ecuador. I am a big fan of TexMex and they cooked it up to perfection. The staff is attentive and always willing to jump to help. Don't stay anywhere else in Mindo. This is the place!

Room Tip: If you choose a river view, you will enjoy the sounds! If you enjoy people watching, get a room faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My family and I stayed here recently and overall were very pleased with our experience. There were 7 of us traveling altogether--my aunt and uncle and there two kids, my husband and I, and my adult brother. We originally booked two rooms, a triple and a quadruple, with prices paid per person.

The hotel has two floors with lodging, with only three rooms on the top floor, which have a shared sitting room. Both our rooms were located on the top floor, and there was a third, empty room. We originally were given one room with room with a double bed and a bunk bed, and one room with a double bed and a twin bed situated at its feet. Because the third room on our floor was empty, the hotel allowed us to utilize it for no additional charge, which was really great and allowed us to enjoy a much more comfortable stay. While the rooms are very nice, they are quite small, and I only recommend sharing with your spouse / kids. The third room had two twin beds, and was most suited for sharing.

The rooms themselves were very clean and simple. The bathrooms were fairly clean, but by no means glamorous, and our bathroom shared a wall with the bathroom next door to us, and because the wall did not extend entirely to the ceiling, there was some awkwardness with shared bathroom noises. There also is no air conditioning, which is a bit problematic for some of the rooms as you have to leave the windows open, and there are noise issues (see below).

The room I stayed in (with a double bed and small twin bed), faced the back of the hotel and offered the most privacy. It did not have a balcony, but it had views of the river. The other two rooms on our floor faced the streets and had two small balconies. Unfortunately, because they faced the street, those rooms were exposed to a lot of street noises. We stayed at the hotel on a Friday and Saturday night, and both nights there were very loud street parties which kept up my family who stayed in the street-view rooms. Friday night was worse, as the party was very loud (even though it was located far down the street) and went on until almost 5am. As a result of the all-night party, my aunt and two young cousins were unable to wake up in time for our 7am birding trip. There was another party Saturday night, which was right next door to the hotel. We spoke to the hotel about our concern about the noise, and they spoke to the party organizers. Fortunately for us, that party ended earlier, although it's unclear whether this was a result of our hotel's request to keep the noise down, or because a fight broke out, ending the party. I don't recommend staying in the street front rooms, especially if you are trying to do an early morning bird watching tip. Or if you end up with one of these rooms, talk to management beforehand to find out if there are any planned street parties that will interfere with your trip.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Dragonfly, but ask that the hotel either take a more proactive role in ensuring a peaceful, quiet stay, or take steps to help offset the noise--either discounting the noisier rooms, installing air conditioning in those rooms so that the windows can remain shut, or coordinating better with the locals in handling the noise. Other than that, we had a very pleasant stay at the Dragonfly Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyxlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April and could not have been happier with the room (#6) which is facing the river and has a balcony with a hammock. We were content just having a drink on the balcony on our second night and taking in the view. The food at the restaurant was very good and they offered a great breakfast with homemade juice. The staff was very friendly and incredibly helpful. We had an emergency while we were there (the ONE ATM in town does not accept international ATM cards and we were left almost without any cash since everything in town is cash only. The bank in the next town doesn't work either so make sure to take out cash before coming to Mindo!!), and they were extremely accommodating and got on the phone with the owner who offered to give us cash in exchange for a PayPal deposit. We definitely recommend this hotel for the location, the lovely rooms and views, and the helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room #6 ;-) Balcony with view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Beautiful clean hotel right in town and on the river. Terrific staff, very comfortable. A little noisy because it is right on the street. Food in the restaurant was good and offered delicious vegetarian options. We had actually planned on staying elsewhere, but that place didn't work out and we happened upon this place and couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in a lovely room (Room 6) that had a balcony overlooking the river. We could sit for hours and just watch all the beautiful hummingbirds coming to the feeders. Comfy beds and the lulling sound of the river made for very good sleeps. The hardwood in the rooms was beautiful but made the rooms a little dark. I would suggest some better lighting to make the rooms perfect! I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was delicious. The Dragonfly Inn helped me book a reasonably priced transfer from Quito that was very good and when in Mindo they suggested a bird watching guide, Marcelo, and I had an excellent morning out with him seeing all kinds of birds....Cock of the Rock, Antpitta, tanagers and toucans. Very happy with my stay at the Dragonfly Inn!

Room Tip: Room # 6 was lovely...away from the street, overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank next_holiday_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.6 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
CasKaffeSu
CasKaffeSu
#7 of 8 in Mindo
166 reviews
0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#6 of 8 in Mindo
41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Inn B&B

Address: Avenue Quito and Sucre | Chaupi River, Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range: £38 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Dragonfly Inn - located in Mindo, Ecuador along the Canchupi River. At the Dragonfly Inn we offer clean rooms with private bathrooms, comfortable beds and covered outdoor balconies with hammocks. The bathrooms are equipped with hot showers that provide excellent water pressure. Each room is finished with sealed wood paneling, wood floors and French doors that access an outdoor balcony. Screened windows provide adequate ventilation. Room rates include a delicious breakfast in an attractive restaurant setting. Plants and hummingbirds abound from the restaurant balcony overlooking the garden patio along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dragonfly Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing