We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in all of Ecuador!!”
Review of Dragonfly Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dragonfly Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
ttbird123
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed in all of Ecuador!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Wonderful B&B in Mindo, Ecuador. From the moment we walked in the door, everything was perfect. We were greeted by the owner Todd and his wife, both very friendly and welcoming. They were not there during our trip, but the staff that works there was amazing and incredibly accomodating. The building itself is beautifully built and everything looks new and expertly handcrafted. The rooms were adorable and we had two balconies...one with a hammock and one with a chair swing. Oh, and the showers were the hottest, best pressured in all of Ecuador. I would recommend this place a hundred times over.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttbird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    47
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
46
65
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2008

I stayed at the Dragonfly Inn in Mindo one weekend this past November and had a wonderful time. Having done quite a bit of traveling in Ecuador, the Dragonfly Inn was by far the nicest place that I have stayed. The owners, Todd and Lorena, are exceptional hosts, and the inn has a very homey quality to it. The room was beautiful with a terrific bathroom (especially for Ecuador) and there were two balconies off of our room. The in-town location is perfect for access to restaurants and tiendas, and sitting on the pation listening to the river isn't bad, either!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greycat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

In our recent trip to Ecuador, we knew we wanted to visit the cloudforest in Mindo. The Dragonfly Inn was perfect for our family of four (kids are 14 & 9). Rather than the pricey ecolodges away from town, the Dragonfly Inn was the perfect place -- a gorgeous, really comfortable new hotel, reasonable prices, and right at the edge of town so we could walk to restaurants etc. We were able to call and make our reservation the day before, but as word gets out about this hotel, I would suggest making a reservation earlier if you know your dates. We had a driver to get us to the ziplines and waterfalls, etc. but the tour operators are all right in town. Todd and Lorena are gracious guests, make a great breakfast (and even accomodated us with a very early breakfast so we could get to the ziplines early!). It is situated right along the river, with a great patio to sit and read by during the afternoon rainstorms. We would all highly recommend it and look forward to a return date in the future!

  • Liked — Great price for a beautifully done new small hotel in the heart of Mindo
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tres1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

While touring Ecuador earlier this month we decided to visit the Cloud Forest area in Mindo. We were very lucky to stumble on the Dragonfly Inn. The hotel is brand new, has 7 or 8 rooms with private baths, terrific breakfasts prepared by the owner Lorena, and at a cost which is quite reasonable.

The hotel is built out of native Ecuadorean wood which resembles red cedar and has a very nice bar for a drink at night after hiking and exploring the area.

This place is definitely 2 thumbs up. We will return to the Dragonfly Inn in the future.

More information and current rates can be located on their website at dragonflyinn-mindo.com/

  • Liked — Brand new, clean rooms, beatiful views, great breakfast
  • Disliked — I liked eveyrthing about the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldExplorer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.6 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
0.5 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0.2 mi away
Casa de Piedra
Casa de Piedra
#2 of 47 in Mindo
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Inn B&B

Property: Dragonfly Inn B&B
Address: Avenue Quito and Sucre | Chaupi River, Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Dragonfly Inn - located in Mindo, Ecuador along the Canchupi River. At the Dragonfly Inn we offer clean rooms with private bathrooms, comfortable beds and covered outdoor balconies with hammocks. The bathrooms are equipped with hot showers that provide excellent water pressure. Each room is finished with sealed wood paneling, wood floors and French doors that access an outdoor balcony. Screened windows provide adequate ventilation. Room rates include a delicious breakfast in an attractive restaurant setting. Plants and hummingbirds abound from the restaurant balcony overlooking the garden patio along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Dragonfly Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing