We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Dragonfly Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dragonfly Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Charming Inn. My family of 8 stayed at the dragonfly for 4 days and had a wonderful relaxing time. The meals at the dragonfly where the best we had in Mindo . There was plenty to do zip-lining,bird-watching or just relaxing on the balcony watching the hummingbirds. I also found the dogs of Mindo very entertaining. The inn itself is very lovely,clean, comfortable and hot showers. Our room faced the river- what a beautiful sound to fall asleep to.
The staff at the dragonfly are incredible they went above and beyond to make me comfortable . I had hurt myself previous to coming to Mindo and needed medical attention. They arranged a driver to Quito and the owner even offered to meet me at the hospital.
I would definitely go back to the dragonfly inn.

Thankyou to all at the Dragonfly
Marg

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kallietoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

What a charming place - we loved it!
We were in room 7 - it was very comfortable with a peaked wooden panelled ceiling and wood floors. We loved the view and sounds of the river from our window.
We ate dinner as well as the included breakfast here - enjoyed both thoroughly.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
We spent a good part of one drizzly day sitting out on the deck watching the hummingbirds battle over the preferred feeding spots on the feeders. Very enjoyable and entertaining. That evening we watched one of the many DVD's in the tv lounge.
All in all, a very relaxing stay. Made it tough to head back to bustling Quito the next day!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb_C_Cdn_in_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

very nice hotel located in Mindo's main street. All rooms are in wood and we were lucky enough to have a corner room with two balconies. A lot of hummingbirds can be seen in the small garden. Nice restaurant, helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flolyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Todd, the owner, is a really charming guy. He and his family run the Hotel along with some staff they have.
Rooms: Clean, is CLEAN, impecable
Bathroom: Nice decor, clean and roomy
Beds: Really comfy, good sheets and great pillows
Restaurant:Excellent food
Location: Near to the heart of Mindo.
Decoration: Excellent taste
I loved the Hotel, the best of the best Hotels in Mindo.
It has a heart of its own!
On my next trip its a MUST

Lesiure place, relaxing river sound.
A place for a romantic/outdoorsy trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACassola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

one of my favorite places to stay in Ecuador. the beautiful wood, photos, food! everything is just right, the shower, the beds, the prices. it is such a pleasure to hang around this spot. definitely the best spot to stay in Mindo.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diggit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

The Dragonfly inn was super clean and the food and service was excellent. We stayed there two nights and we wished we could have stayed more. We loved the super clean accommodations and the helpful owners who set us up on a hike to the waterfalls and the zip lines. They also had free WiFi ! Our 10 year old son loved the town and our activities, and our stay was the highlight of our trip. Birds, Flowers, butterflies, zip lines, rafting and a mellow town. Mindo has it all!
Stay at the Dragonfly Inn and you will be guided to all that Mindo has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chocmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Dragonfly Inn is situated right by the first bridge into town; the sounds of the river and the birds in the nearby trees make you feel you're farther outside of town. It is an easy few minutes' walk from the bus terminal. I went on a weekday and had the place to myself. I chose room 7, on the third floor; it was like being in a treehouse, and you can start birding sitting on the edge of your bed!

The room was spotless and simply appointed with a very comfortable bed and beautiful clean linens and comforter, bedside tables, and shelves. The bathroom has clean white towels, soap, and shampoo, and plenty of hot water. The third floor has two other bedrooms and a common sitting area with a TV and DVDs.

The menu at the inn has an interesting selection with many items different from other menus in Mindo. Dragonfly serves Ecuador's best coffee, Café Velez. The food is thoughtfully prepared and efficiently served. Although the included breakfast isn't served until 8 a.m., the staff will prepare a sack breakfast for early-morning bird tours if you ask in advance--and coffee, too, upon request. The only hitch in my stay was that my specific request was not prepared (I got meat instead of vegetarian--and didn't find out 'til I opened it five kilometers away).

The owner can arrange a bird guide for you. He does not collect a commission, so the guide may be a little cheaper than booking elsewhere. Dragonfly Inn makes a great headquarters for any Mindo activities.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azbuceadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
219 reviews
3.6 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
CasKaffeSu
CasKaffeSu
#6 of 8 in Mindo
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mindo Casa de Piedra
Mindo Casa de Piedra
#3 of 48 in Mindo
194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Inn B&B

Address: Avenue Quito and Sucre | Chaupi River, Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range: £40 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Dragonfly Inn - located in Mindo, Ecuador along the Canchupi River. At the Dragonfly Inn we offer clean rooms with private bathrooms, comfortable beds and covered outdoor balconies with hammocks. The bathrooms are equipped with hot showers that provide excellent water pressure. Each room is finished with sealed wood paneling, wood floors and French doors that access an outdoor balcony. Screened windows provide adequate ventilation. Room rates include a delicious breakfast in an attractive restaurant setting. Plants and hummingbirds abound from the restaurant balcony overlooking the garden patio along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dragonfly Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing