We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria El Carmelo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hosteria El Carmelo
Ranked #22 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
GreenLeadersGold level
Perris, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Complete resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We just ended our three and a half day vacation in Mindo and we miss it already! This resort is complete with lodging, a restaurant, pools, jacuzzis, steam room and activities. If you wanted, you would never need to leave the resort, but then you would miss out on the atmosphere of the town of Mindo. We stayed in a tree house...so much fun! We did the complimentary Mariposa tour, and also the zip lining activity. We enjoyed hearing the river roar outside our tree house, as well as the bird and frog serenade.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperWelshLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    26
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
31
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a fantastic resort with tons of activities!

We stayed in a cabin room (although next time I would love to try a treehouse!). It was very clean and comfortable. The room came with a twin bed, a double bed, and a private bathroom with a fancy shower system.

The restaurant at the hotel was quite good. The breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, juice, eggs, pastry/breads, and fruit.

The resort has many facilities, including three separate pool areas, table football, and billiards.

There are many activities offered by the resort. We did the canopy tour, the butterfly greenhouse, and the horseback riding. The canopy was a lot of fun. The horseback riding was also very enjoyable. The butterfly farm was not very good, as there were few butterflies (perhaps partly due to the cloudy weather) and the plants seemed a bit droopy and unhealthy.

I would recommend this resort, as it had nice, clean rooms, and was a bit away from the town of Mindo so it was very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FattyBomabalatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a beautiful place! We stayed only 1 night, I feel asleep listening to the sound of water running in the river below! The staff is wonderful & and responsive to all our needs. We stayed in the tree house with the jacuzzi, wonderful room! I wish I had more time & would have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Get the tree house room with the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My daughter and I really enjoyed staying in the Hosteria El Carmelo in August, 2013. It was a great place. The treehouse room that we stayed in was a lot of fun and very memorable. We loved the ziplining. After trying the 9 exciting zipline cables in the hotel for $10 per person, it inspired us to do one of the other courses offered in town. We also had a very good morning bird watching with our guide, Santos, and saw toucans, a parrot, and a wide variety of other birds. We had fun horseback riding for $8 per hour per person, both down by the river and up the mountain above the hotel. We also had a nice guided tour of the hotel's butterfly house with Darwin, one of the friendliest of the young men who work at the hotel. My 9 year-old daughter and I also really liked watched the dozens of hummingbirds flying around at the feeders by the reception area. One of the highlights of the trip for my daughter was also the chance to play in the pools and hot tub. In short, this was our favorite of the hotels that we stayed in during our trip to Ecuador.

P.S.: We also had a great dinner in town at the El Tigrillo Pizzeria, followed up by a fantastic brownie a la mode at El Quetzal. Don't miss out on that brownie!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ericbkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were in El Carmelo Hosteria this past week. We had a wonderful time. Our room was one of the rooms in a tree. Although it was high in the tree, it was comfortable and roomy with a clean bathroom and warm water to shower. In the morning, we did not need to get out of the room to see the variety of birds, we only needed to open our windows! Awesome!! We did the nature walk, zip-line, fishing, and horseback riding. All the guides were fun and knowledgeable. The views were amazing! The food was good. The only recommendation I would give is to ease the oil when frying the food. Other than that, it is a great place to have a great adventure.

Room Tip: The tree-house rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shulita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

For being honest, the place is awesome!
One thing that is not very nice is that the installations, i mean the pool, the restaurant, the hydro, are open just until 9pm.
The restaurant food is not goof enough, i mean it's ok

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ga_tinha27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DANIELA L, Director de Recepción at Hosteria El Carmelo, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear customer:

First of all we want to thank you for writing a review of us. As you could see, Mindo is a relaxing place, where you can take a deep breath and forget about everything. It is for this main reason, that we don`t have tv on our rooms and our facilities are open just until 9 pm.

Our main goal as an ecological hotel, is to offer at our clients REST and a PEACEFUL environment.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Amenities were amazing.. I'd like a little more variety on the food. Canopy available at the hotel which is awesome and comfortable. Do NOT go tubing in the Mindo River unless you're an extreme sports kinda person. EXCELLENT service by the kitchen and amenities staff (Guido, Agustin, Lucas).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DANIELA L, Director de Recepción at Hosteria El Carmelo, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear customer:

First of all, we want to thank you for writing a review of our hotel. And we are glad to know that the service that we offer you specially at the zipline tour was of your totally joy.

It would be a pleasure to us to have you here again. And next time that you will visit us, you are going to find more variety on our menu, because we are working on that.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
4.0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa de Piedra
Casa de Piedra
#2 of 45 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sisakuna Lodge
Sisakuna Lodge
#1 of 45 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bicok Lodge
The Bicok Lodge
#9 of 45 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria El Carmelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria El Carmelo

Property: Hosteria El Carmelo
Address: Via al Cinto, Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are The tree houses lodge, we are situated at The Mindo Valley. Our facilities are: 3 pools, 3 jacuzzies, 2 steam rooms, restaurant service, we also offer you some activities in our hotel like zipline, tubing, visit to our butterfly and orchid farm, trails around the hotel, birdwatching tour, horseback riding, Al of our cabins and rooms were built with products of the zone such as stones, wood, etc, creating a peaceful and harmonious environment respecting the flora and fauna of the place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hosteria El Carmelo Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing