We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
Ranked #4 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bio Hostal for four nights in December 2012. Irman and his wife are extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room was large and the bed was really comfortable. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast each morning. The coffee and fresh squeezed juice were especially delicious! Irman is also a bird guide and he was AMAZING and reasonable. We saw over 50 species of birds in a four-hour afternoon trip. He is very passionate about birds and thus, a really great guide to have. Highly recommend Irman for a birding guide and Bio Hostal for your Mindo stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmm_artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    59
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
61
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Staying at the hostel felt very warm and welcoming the lady who manages keeps the place sparking clean and has great customer service. Her husband Irman offers bird watching tours and got told by a eager bird watcher that him and his brother are one of the best experts he has met globally and are apparently mentioned in lonely planet. They and their families were lovely to talk to and meet.
The kitchen has everything you could ever need to cook.
The breakfast was included with the room and was different every day, which is a first we experienced and would keep us full until lunch or later.
The hot water was very good and if you didn't mix it with cold water it was boiling.
The beds and pillows were very soft and probably the best bed we have slept in during our travels in south america.
The hostel is a few minutes away from the central park, bus station, main square of restaurants and on route to the butterfly farm and canopy's. It would cost $3.00 in a jeep to the butterfly farm and $4 to canopy's. But we walked 30 minutes to the butterflies including time stopping to take pictures of the wild butterflies and birds.
When we looked at other very popular hostels in the area we were happy and prepared to pay a bit more ($10) for the breakfast, private bathroom and bug free room. I think this is one of the best and good value places to stay in Mindo ($30 for private room, bathroom and breakfast).

Room Tip: We had a double at the end of the hall way on the first floor called a garden view but we had two ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarfairy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

A friendly hostel located just off the main high street and at the beginning of the trek to the zip lines and waterfalls! The rooms are large with good sized bathrooms and hot showers! Irman the owner is really friendly and helpful and has a real passion for the birds of the area! As for the breakfast, by far one of the better ones we've had in a hostel in South America on our travels! All in all, a really enjoyable stay in Mindo!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James6646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend end of october for three nights and def. would recommend here to stay if you're in Mindo.

+ Big and clean rooms
+ Hot water
+ Free WiFi and also public computer available
+ Free refill of water
+ Warm and welcoming Staff
+ Located just a 2 min walk from the bus station
+ Reasonable price (15$ p.P. for a double room w private bath and breakfast)

+/- Average Breakfast, but quite ok

- Doesn't look really inviting from the outside (which i didn't mind)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit_GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is a good base for doing various Mindo trips.
The room we had was a double with private bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, clean and had two sides full of windows to get lovely views. The bathroom was also clean and the shower was good with hot water.
Breakfast was included and consisted of juice, coffee, eggs and rolls with butter and jam. A good way to start the day.
Wifi was fairly good considering the location and there was lots of information about the area. A nice terrace and hammocks to sit on and watch for humming birds. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

For 15 USD per Person we got a beautiful double room. It was very clean, spacious and equipped with the most comfortable bed that we slept in during our 4 months travelling in South America. Included was also a good breakfast, drinking water was always available and there was tea and coffee every afternoon. Very friendly people who could help us with our questions about the region and about our further travelling. Irman is a very good guide for birdwatching, we did a great tour with him!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We just stayed two nights at the Bio Hostal, and could have stayed forever!! Not only is Mindo a breathtaking location, the hostal itself is clean and welcoming, wish delicious home-cooked food and a very helpful staff that put up with our lack of Spanish skills. They went above and beyond their call of duty and even helped us to plan further legs of our backpacking adventure...giving us tips and suggestions of places to go and stay. Just as Mindo is an unmissable destination, this family-run hostal is too. Thanks so much, from Canada.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allisonfromhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
3.8 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0.9 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa de Piedra
Casa de Piedra
#2 of 45 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sisakuna Lodge
Sisakuna Lodge
#1 of 45 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest

Property: Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
Address: Ave. 9 De Octubre, Mindo 170751, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 200 meters from the central park of Mindo, Bio Hostal Mindo offers an atmosphere of peace and tranquility. We have a restaurant, cafe. We offer tourist information in Spanish, English and German. 10 spacious rooms with private bathroom, hot water, as well as social areas, gardens with local plants and outdoor BBQ facilities, scenic view of the town of Mindo, parking, Wi-Fi and laundry facilities. Bio Hostal Mindo has all the facilities for conventions and seminars too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing