We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At one with nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“At one with nature”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just off the main road, this hostal (like many other I discovered) is perfectly entwined with nature. Many spaces don´t even have windows making for open space gardens in the hostal. The family who runs the place is very kind and made a continental breakfast that taste of glory. Simple but enough to gear up for some hiking.
I wouldn´t say that everything is squeeky clean but the water is always hot and even offers amenities which is uncommon for a hostal. They have laundry service which will be particularly useful after getting drenched by the rainy afternoons in Mindo.
I´m not sure if they have wi-fi but there´s a computer in a lounge area with hammocks inviting you to watch the birds and butterflies.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-L-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    59
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
63
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed there for four nights. Room was very nice; spacious and clean. The owner was very nice. We were given a chance to select our room. We chose a room in the corner with glass windows on two sides. This was a real treat since we were able to watch birds from both sides right from the comfort of our own room. Free coffee/tea and water were another great treats they offer to their guests. A nice breakfast was also included. For the wireless, we needed to use the common area in the lounge which worked fine. The kitchen was also available We used it a couple of times to prepare some simple food. Overall, we enjoyed this place very much and would go there to stay again.

Room Tip: corner room facing the rood
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank March2004AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Easy to find, just 5 minutes from the bus station. (Come out of the bus station and head towards park and take the road right at the start of the park, then walk for about 2 minutes).

Lots of places to relax, free tea and coffee was welcome as was the free drinking water. The breakfast was tasty fruit, muesli, yoghurt, eggs, roll, juice and coffee. Beds were very comfy.

The wifi was poor and the hot water was great most of the time just not when everyone decided to use it at the same time. Bathroom smelt of drains.

We did the bird watching tour, it was interesting, Irman was very good at spotting birds and very knowledgable. Definitely worth doing!

We would stay there again and had it not be been for time constraints we would have stayed longer.

Don't forget to try food from the man with a chip fryer at the end of the road in the evening - very tasty, very cheap!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PinkladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindoespe, Propietario at Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario

Sus comentarios nos hacen mirar lo bueno y lo malo de nuestro servicio , una vez más gracias lo de los inodoros es cuestión de hacer una revisión lo tomaremos muy en cuenta.

Saludos
Esperanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice spacious hostel off the main square. Family were so lovely and made a great breakfast. Lots of advice on the small town and what to do there too. Internet not fab but shared PC to use. Comfy beds and space to relax. Definately recommend a visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otavalo, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Mindo is a really special place, not to be missed. This family run hostal has everything you need. Clean, comfortable rooms and plenty of communal chill out spaces. Because they knew I can`t eat wheat bread, they cooked me plantain every morning for breakfast. They really go out of their way to make sure you have the best possible time. Muchas gracias.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keremeos, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Irman Arias and his lovely wife and family will truly make you feel welcome and put you at ease. Speaking very good English is a plus for Irman, as you will benefit from his local knowledge, and possibly his expert birding skills, as he will give you a personal bird watching adventure in his beautiful home of Mindo, for a reasonable price. The hostal does not look like much on the outside, but the rooms are quite large and comfy, with large windows to view hummingbirds and others right from your room. The common areas are large and comfortable as well, with a computer for use, and a good library of novels, bird books, and tourist info. available. The location is great, just a 2 block walk to Main Street, and close to all in town. Internet wifi speed is Ecuadorian, but workable. Hot water is good, but you have to run the water for a bit to get it. Breakfast is really good, eggs, bun, jam, juice, tea/coffee, wonderful fruit salads, granola and yogurt, and cheese. Coffee and tea is out all day. All of this and hammocks in a small garden area to chill out. Mindo town is kind of a cool little town, people are really friendly, and there is no pressure for anything as in some larger towns. The surrounding countryside is really green and beautiful! This is a good inexpensive lodging option in downtown Mindo that I am glad we made.

Room Tip: Avoid paying too much using a booking agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainronanejo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arequipa, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Bio Hostal in Mindo. Our room was on the second floor and had a large window which looked out into the canopy of a tree full of epiphytes and birds. The staff were excellent, they were all very friendly and welcoming and went to extra effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The hostal is immaculately clean and has hot water and a kitchen that you are free to use. The breakfast at the hostal is great (the best we have had on our travels) and there is coffee and tea available in the afternoons too. The hostal is in a good location close to the orchid garden, hummingbird garden, bus stop, the main square (restaurants etc) and you are able to walk to the reserve and the waterfalls with the opportunity to see numerous bird species along the way. Mindo in general is very beautiful and very safe. We would love to come back and would definitely recommend Bio Hostal to anyone wanting to visit Mindo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair_Frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
3.8 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0.3 mi away
Casa de Piedra
Casa de Piedra
#2 of 46 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas
0.2 mi away
Sisakuna Lodge
Sisakuna Lodge
#3 of 46 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest

Property: Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
Address: Ave. 9 De Octubre, Mindo 170751, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 200 meters from the central park of Mindo, Bio Hostal Mindo offers an atmosphere of peace and tranquility. We have a restaurant, cafe. We offer tourist information in Spanish, English and German. 10 spacious rooms with private bathroom, hot water, as well as social areas, gardens with local plants and outdoor BBQ facilities, scenic view of the town of Mindo, parking, Wi-Fi and laundry facilities. Bio Hostal Mindo has all the facilities for conventions and seminars too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing