We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sachatamia Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
US$235
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CasKaffeSu(Mindo)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
67
44
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
44
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite owlhummingbird feedersmain buildingtrees and bushesgreat location and serviceindoor poolrestaurant feelsvegetable soupmindo areabird photographyhumming birdshuge windowstroutdining areacloud forestgreat coffeeearly morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Well, it is not called the Cloud Forest for nothing - so we did see a little rain, which didn't faze the hummingbirds. It was bright in the morning and we were up at 6:00 watching from our windows and then went out to do a bit of birding around the lodge.
We were only staying one night - and we could have done with at least one more. We had a large room at the top of the house and the use of a lounge on the same floor, giving us 360 degrees of birds. The evening meal and breakfast were both good, We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed in cabin #12 which is quite a ways from the main lodge down a fairly steep gravel road. While we did not mind this, it is a bit of a walk to get to the restaurant and walking back to the cabin in the dark needs care. So you may want to ask for a cabin closer to the lodge. Some people staying in the rooms above the dining room said they were damp and cold. This is the cloud forest so it is damp most of the times. Our cabin had no heat and was a bit cold as well. The bathroom tiles looked quite grungy and were in need of a good scrubbing but the rest of the cabin was okay. The breakfast in the lodge was fruit, eggs, bread, and juice,coffee and was quite good. The dinners were all good and we were able to get a bottle of red wine for just $15. You can get coffee any time during the day. Wifi is available but only in the lodge. They gave me one password and I could not log on. When I mentioned this the second day, they suddenly came up with a different network and password, so if you have trouble logging on ask for an alternative link.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

It is not in Mindo, but 15 mins drive away. However it is a self contained resort. You can do zip lining, hiking, bird watching etc right there! In fact, we saw some pretty spectacular birds (quetzal) right there. Many birding guides told us that some rarer birds like the umbrella birds are better spotted at the lodge itself! The place is abuzz with humming birds and tanagers. The downside is that it is a hike to get to Mindo and you do get tired of eating the same food. I wish they had more simple local food instead of standard European fare. The staff lives the and are amazing. They hardly speak English, which is problematic, but they go out of their way to make you comfortable. They were so excited to pull out exotic fruit and introduce me to them. They do a good job of organizing tours if you want. You can also do the arranging yourself if you go to Mindo. However I really liked the guide they arranged for us to see the cock of the rock. The rooms are clean however there is no elevator so lugging the luggage is a pain if you are upstairs in the lodge. However the staff will haul it for you. We loved this place. My 7 year old who loves nature absolutely loved it. We could spend hours on the resort hiking or bird watching.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Roadbiker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We spent two very relaxing days at Sachatamia. Our main building accommodation was spacious and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and the food good. Even those not particularly interested in birds will love watching the Hummingbirds flit around in the beautiful gardens. The lodge trail is also worth walking - it is not arduous. If you are a 'twitcher' be sure to ask about the early morning Cock of the Rock excursion that can be booked through reception.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is a true sanctuary for body, mind and spirit. We stayed in a suite, which was a cabin near the hummingbird lagoon. I am not an avid bird watcher, but my husband is, we both enjoyed the wildlife and noted the ease of bird sighting! You can choose between an all-meal inclusive plan or you can go elsewhere for your meals. The dinner and lunch were the same on our visit, but the food was well prepared and tasty. The cabins and bathrooms are clean and had plenty of space for two people. We enjoyed listening to the rain on the metal roof. IF you are a light sleeper and are easily frightened by wildlife that you can hear, but not see, you might be more comfortable in one of the rooms above the main office. I spent the evening scared that we were going to be carried off by the animals outside. The rooms securely lock, but for those with a vivid immaginaiton, the sounds from outside at night are loud. The lodge offers a pool and whirlpool which were both closed while we were there. They also offer a canopy tour for $7/person. This is a bargain! Our guide was informative about the plants and animals and it also has a rope swing and two ziplines, wow! The staff is helpful and friendly and can easily arrange taxis for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews