We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Sachatamia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sachatamia Lodge
Ranked #2 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Sachatamia Lodge is one of the most magical places I had ever been. It has incredible birds, a great forest where you can walk, and enjoy watching beautiful flowers, plants, trees, animals. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is delicious. The staff makes you feel great.

Room Tip: The cabins are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carmen Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

took my husband on a romantic weekend. I read the reviews, but I was sincerely not impressed. First of all, I thought it was way to pricy for the service that we received. We took the full package for two days. When we got there my husband said that we was exciting about having swim in the pool, but the pool and the jacuzzi were closed. Then, we got shown to our room, there was nothing in the cabin apart from two beds and the bathroom, no tv, nothing. Then, because it was raining we where unable to go anywhere.March is a bad time to go because it is always raining. When we went to get dinner, I was honestly not impressed with the food. I mean there is such a delicious food here Ecuador, and the food was so plain and not tasty at all. I even got indigestion from the sauce.
Lastly, and worst of all going to sleep was a real pain because the sheets were muggy and they really smelt. I didn´t get a good night sleep. The only good thing were the birds, but apart from that. I got indigestion, I have a sore throat and I ended up having a fight with my partner for choosing such a terrible place to spend the weekend. There are such lovely places in Mindo, and we honestly ended up in the worst one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFValles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro S, Propietario at Sachatamia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear MFValles:

Sachatamia priorities are:
Conserving our reserve of approximately 300 hectares of natural forest and its biodiversity.
To offer our guests the best possible care and comfort in a lodge located on a rainy and cloudy forest.
The implementation of good practices in sustainable tourism.

The pool normally remains closed and covered to keep the temperature and don´t waste energy. On weekends, holidays and when customers notified us that they want to use it, we proceed to prepare the pool well in advance .

Maintenance staff on the evening of Friday March 21 were about to prepare the pool, but unfortunately a part of the cauldron was damaged. On Saturday 22 and Sunday March 23 we could not find a technician in Quito. Finally we found one on Monday March 24. We apologize for not having been able to warn of this damage before you leave Quito. But in compensation for this mishap were provided at no cost drinks and was offered complimentary canopy touring.

You chose to hire a room or cabin without TV- standard DIRECT- TV so obviously you did not have that service. But for those cases Sachatamia has a meeting room with giant screen TV, DVD and DIRECT TV - Guest, unfortunately you never requested it. In our website there are descriptions and pictures of the rooms and services. A information brochure is left in all the cabins.

Continually we receive compliments for our food. We don´t understand what you expected. If you are very demanding and delicate, could choose to eat a la carte . In the kitchen we use the best products and we implement good hygiene practices.

March is a winter month and it rains a lot, but one of the best to walk through the woods, for bird watching and nature in general, so we receive tourists from many countries who are happy with this experiencia. Sachatamia is located in the best place in the world for bird watching, as the AUDUBON confirmed it for many years.

The sheets, pillows and blankets were recently refurbished, they are almost new and good quality. Being in a rainforest with percentages above 90 % humidity , it is inevitable to feel a slight musty smell, but the tranquility of the forest helps to sleep much better than in the cities.

Our staff tells us that you never had any complaints during your stay, they had a cordial relationship and you left thanking the service received.

We work very hard to offer a nice and special place for our guests. It is very easy to hurt a reputation with a review that is not fair.

Best regrads,
SACHATAMIA LODGE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I had a room in the lodge that was clean and comfortable with no frills. Bathroom and shower are small and serviceable. Food is OK. Advertised to have a pool but never open. Wireless internet is intermittent.

Very nice grounds with trails. Lots of hummingbird feeders throughout the grounds bring in quite a diversity of hummers. Also banana feeders for tanagers, guans, etc. Covered areas allow you to observe these areas without getting soaked if it is raining. The lodge leaves on the outside lights near the parking area to attract bugs and bring the birds in in the early morning. This is cool for the birding but a bit annoying for sleeping at night.

Room Tip: I liked the lodge. Others in the cabanas complained of moldy odors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 278Alpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is a wonderful lodge located near the highway turn-off to Mindo. For a small fee, you can enjoy the birding on the extensive grounds trail system. The many hummingbird and fruit feeders attract and unbelievable diversity of Ecudorian bird species, including several local endemics. However, it is worth staying at the cabinas which are very clean and spacious. I ended up spending several nights at Sachatamia and used it as a base to explore many of the nearby rain- and cloud forest habitats that are spectacular to say the least. The food and service at Sachatamia are likewise very good and all the staff helpful and very friendly. There are several who speak English. This is a MUST stop for nature lovers/birders.

Room Tip: There are both lodge rooms and cabins spaced over the grounds. I personally like the cabins for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike82072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sachatamiaquito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sachatamia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Mike.
Muchas gracias por visitarnos, para nosotros fue un honor brindarles nuestros servicios de calidad y otorgarles una experiencia maravillosa en su tiempo de estancia.

Saludos desde Sachatamia Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had the top room in the lodge. It was very large and comfortable. The window looked out on a feeder and some trees and bushes. We spent our first hour looking out the window at the many birds coming and going. Breakfast was good but the same every day. Wonderful French onion soup and empanaditas. Lots of choices for dinner and decent wine. Lovely dining room overlooking feeders. Nice patio with more hummingbird feeders and another covered patio overlooking the valley and Mindo. They arranged for a private guide. Started at 5:15 AM and back at 6:30 PM for $75. Alex knew his birds. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sachatamiaquito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sachatamia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Linda.

Muchas gracias por visitarnos y por comentar tus experiencias, para nosotros son muy importantes.

Nos alegramos que hayas disfrutado de tu alojamiento, actividades y avistamiento de aves con nosotros.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Lovely Ecuadorian-owned lodge. Stayed in modern, well-furnished "cabanas". Staff were friendly and did everything possible to accommodate guests. Food first-class. Birds around the lodge are abundant. Feeders attract tanagers, guans and numerous hummingbirds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthNorfolkBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sachatamia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013
Google Translation

Estimado viajero

Muchas gracias por su comentario, fue un placer tenerlo en nuestras instalaciones. Esperamos poder contar con su presencia en una proxima oportunidad.

Saludos,

Sachatamia Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent 4 nights here as part of a birdwatching tour of the area. Superb birds from the terrace. Barbets, hummingbirds, toucans. The grounds too were good for birds but beware of the paths in the grounds. It is quite easy to go astray and end up out side the main grounds. At the time of writing the lodge didn't have a map available of the area.
The food was very good. The staff helpful. People who had rooms in the cabins located out side the main building had a little walk to the main building for meals.
Excellent base to travel to a variety of national parks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _alison_barclay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sachatamia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013
Google Translation

Estimad@ viajero

Nos agrada mucho que hayan disfrutado de la estadia en nuestra propiedad, pasaremos este mensaje a nuestro personal. Esperamos que en una proxima oportunidad podamos contar con su presencia.

Saludos,

Sachatamia Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindo
2.6 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.7 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 9 in Mindo
115 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 9 in Mindo
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
15.7 mi away
Mashpi Lodge
Mashpi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacto
279 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sachatamia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sachatamia Lodge

Address: Km. 78 Via Quito - Calacali - La Independencia | 300 meters before reaching the Mindo turnoff, Mindo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range: £82 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sachatamia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sachatamia is a marvelous, private, ecological reserve exceeding 120 hectares of cloud-rain forest. Other areas include recuperated forest, as well as areas undergoing the processes of reforestation. Sachatamia has the privilege of being located next to the Protected Forest of Mindo-Nambillo. The zone is rich in flora and fauna and renowned as one of the foremost in terms of the wealth of biodiversity. It has attained first place in the annual count of bird species on a global level. Serenity. Peace. Spiritual Balance. The natural paradise of Sachatamia offers an undisturbed world where guests can escape from noise, pollution and stress imposed by larger cities. Whether your visit is short or long, it will be sure to rejuvenate your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sachatamia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sachatamia Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing