We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Rubby Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rubby Hostal
Ranked #11 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have just left a beautiful weekend in Mindo. The weather didn't always hold out for us but I felt very welcome in Rubby Hostal. Norma, the owner is a wonderful motherly figure. She looks after the hostal on her own with her 3 children scurrying about the place. The hostal is clean, and well looked after. There are places to relax and socialise. It's pretty quiet and only 5 minutes walk from everything you need.

There's an electric shower, breakfast, towels, shampoo, laundry, garage all available, with Wi-Fi coming soon. There's private rooms or dorms on offer and Norma has lots of suggestions of things to do in the area.

The Norma showed me the location of the new hostal which is being built and it will be moving there around March 2013. This views from here are stunning, so watch this space!

Room Tip: The attic dorm is the most beautiful with the hammocks, though it's loudest in the rain due to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Nice family hostal! The rooms are basic but very comfortable! The walls are only made of wood so you can hear everything in the house but it is quiet early in the night as everybody is there to see the birds in the morning!!!! They will move to a new house soon! Marcelo is an excellent guide for birdwatching and his wife Norma is a good cook!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

A really friendly hostel with a homely feel - Marcelo and Norma are so welcoming and make a real effort for their guests (including greeting us at the bus stop).

The house is made of wood, with 3 main rooms upstairs and a balcony with hammocks overlooking the local sports ground. Beds were comfortable and warm and we had a great night´s sleep. Although Marcelo is soon (possibly October 2011?) to locate the Rubby Hostel to a different location complete with Cabañas and a bird watching tower - so watch this space for the new improved Rubby Hostel.

Marcelo is a first class bird guide - we spent a 4 hour trip with him in the morning and his knowledge of the local birds surely cannot be rivalled. Recognising birds instantly from their call and able to spot and identify rapidly with the naked eye - it was really impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosDelGimpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The hostel is in the home of a lovely ecuadorian family. It was basic but everything we needed and the hosts were very friendly and so helpful in finding us activities we wanted to do and restaurants to eat at.
Unfortunately the neighbours made a lot of noise and through the thin wood walls we could hear it all so didn´t have a good nights sleep but that wasn't the fault of the hostel owners!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fem44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Manuel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Baptiste T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank CGSS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0 mi away
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
113 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#6 of 8 in Mindo
41 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubby Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubby Hostal

Address: Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Price Range: £7 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodden Constrution, Lots Of Hommocks, Balconies,kitchet For Customers, Free Coffe/tea ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing