We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria La Roulotte
Ranked #10 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I really can't say enough about this place. The rooms are cute, the food is amazing, and the grounds are like a tropical paradise. There are birds everywhere. Blooming plants. Frogs in concert at night. The dining pavilion is an amazing raised open structure that gives views right into the foliage. There is also a pond and feeding stations. The owners are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The owner even picked me up at the airport in Quito because there was a problem with the taxi!!! His son (15 and a promising musician) helped me practice my Spanish and increase my vocabulary. There are some excellent things to do in Mindo but allow yourself sufficient time so you are not rushed. It is not easy to get from one thing to another as the roads are poor for vehicles and if it is muddy the walking takes some effort.

Room Tip: There are only five "Roulottes" and they are basically all the same, with different paint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peskykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend, along with our 14 month old and 3 year old and has the most amazing time. This is a true gem, tucked away from all the hectic activities of Mindo, but close enough for you to partake as you please. The service is just wonderful, this is a family owned hotel and they treat their guests as such. The food. Amazing. We could not stop eating, polished our plates clean at every meal, it is just fantastic. The gypsy styled caravans are just as wonderful, very spacious, the beds are comfortable, extremely clean, and a full bath in each caravan, cosy and comfy. The kids LOVED it, my three year old kept wanted to go back to the caravan to play on the beds and look out through the windows, such an adventure for him! We cannot wait to go back for a relaxing weekend. There is a total of 5 caravans, each with two full sized beds, and this would be great for a group to rent out and have the entire property to themselves. Also, important to mention, the rates are very affordable! Cannot recommend this place enough, most unique and beautiful specialty hotel in Mindo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

La Roulotte is a true gem! We stayed there in January 2013 for three nights while we checked out the sights and did some hiking and (inexperienced) birdwatching. Frankly, we could have amused ourselves the entire time on the property, watching zillions of luminescent hummingbirds battle for dominance while snacking on freshly made whole wheat bread from the wood oven.

The wonderful owners and groundskeeper (for lack of a better word) were lovely hosts and genuinely cared about the comfort and happiness of their guests. They really go above and beyond and are cheerful and friendly day in and out. And if you have some spanish, they will work to have a real conversation.

The little gypsy caravans where you stay are delightful and incredibly well made. They had the nicest fixtures and finishes of anywhere we stayed in our three week trip. The sheets and beds were comfy, as were the towels.

You don't miss out on anything by not staying in Mindo (which is entertaining for an hour or so, but doesn't have buch going on), and you can always walk to town, which is about a 20-30 minute stroll down the road. Ask, and they can arrange for a bird watching guide. Or, they will happily guide you on a hike to some locals-only waterfalls for free, and provide rubber mud boots as well. Ask to be shown their orchid collection and the frogs and toads (after dark). It's incredible.

Oh, and did I mention it's very affordable for the experience? We were debating throwing down a lot of money to stay at one of the touted cloudforest lodges in the area, which I'm sure would have been lovely. But in the end, it was just way too expensive at hundreds per night. We don't regret our decision one bit. Go...you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: They are all adorable. One cabin is a little roomier because it does not have a wood stove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventrTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This place is tucked in the jungle. The little caravans are so cute yet comfy, they are perfect. There is plenty of hot water with proper water pressure.
The staff is very friendly, they go all out of their way to meet your needs. The place seems to be very eco-friendly, we were told that it was built by a colombian carpenter family and it has its own herb garden. Apparently the european owner is a chef too, so this is some of the best freshest food I had in Ecuador. There are tons of animals around, even in the backyard there are colibris and frogs and butterflies. I recommend this place wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zsofinyecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed there at the end of July for a night (unfortunately only 1). We were on our own and were treated like kings!! Food amazing, great views with many many kolibris even in the dinner room, close walk to the town (which is nice as well) and good starting point to walk to the waterfalls through the jungle.
The roulottes itself are great, very romantic and nice!
Very highly recommendable place!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poldimonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and I tried La Roulotte for a get away from the noise of Quito. It was amazingly relaxing. The rooms are cozy little gypsy cars, which are very clean, comfortable, and open. Ignacio was very welcoming, and spent a lot of time telling us about with birds flying around the beautiful open dining room. The food was amazing and definitely for the right price. We will for sure come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysakFarmpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

La Roulette is a lovely find in Mindo. The grounds are full of lovely plants and exotic birds. The cabins are decorated with lovely details. The beds are comfortable. The food is amazing! The owners are very friendly and helpful. They can help you set up bird watching trips.
It's a little bit out of town, which makes it a quiet and relaxing piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
4.7 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
1.1 mi away
The Bicok Lodge
The Bicok Lodge
#1 of 48 in Mindo
104 reviews
1 mi away
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria La Roulotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria La Roulotte

Address: Via la Mariposario Km 2, Mindo 170751, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Price Range: £53 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gypsy wood cabins with fireplace, in Mindo, Ecuador. Each cabin has its own bahtroom and can logde up to four persons.The dinning room offers a beautiful view with hummingbirds, tanangers, butterflies and other kind of birds.You. Can also enjoy an authentic labyrinth built under the cloud forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria La Roulotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing