We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Roulette a unique and unforgettable experience in Mindo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria La Roulotte
Ranked #7 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“La Roulette a unique and unforgettable experience in Mindo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just had 5 days birding the Mindo area with local guide Julia Patino, (She was superb) We stayed at La Roulette and found it such a warm and friendly place. Ignacio and his staff made us feel very welcome and at home despite our very limited Spanish, even preparing coffee and breakfast for us before 5am. Quirky gypsy cabins set in a peaceful garden, we were able to retire very early and have undisturbed rest before our early starts. Ignacio is a warm welcoming host and a great cook. He fires up the pizza oven and his pizzas were better than any we had in Italy, he makes the bread too. Great value for money, a memorable experience, only sorry that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann255108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ignacio9904, Propietario at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion
It is very important to us.
It was a pleasure meeting you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great place to spend one or many nights...just dont try to find it on a dark rainy night.
The concept of individual gypsi vagons in the middle of the cloud forest is definetly something you've never seen.
The breakfast in tipically swiss style is nothing you expect from a hostel in the middle of "nowhere".
The sorroundings are just perfect ...whether you want to have a short closeup or a deeper encounter with the endemic fauna and flora.
Good place to see something different, special and with a very good host.
Cheers

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djingalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ignacio9904, Propietario at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you, your review is very important to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Loved this place, especially the breakfast! The service is very personal, the staff too. They go out of their way to make one feel comfortable and give ideas for your stay in Mindo. Even though it is out of town, we walked and it only took 25 minutes, then Ignacio drove us back for the return trip. I bet he would even pick you up if you called. There are hikes and things to see right near the place.
The caravans are picturesque, simple and clean. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ignacio9904, Propietario at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thanks Jan for your review, your comments are very encouraging for us
Ignacio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

La Roulotte is a wonderful place to stay. Ignacio and his staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The food is very good although the menu is fairly limited. Ignatio organized a bird tour with a local guide for us. A young man on staff took us on an hour trek to a nearby waterfall and Ignatio took us out one evening to look at frogs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ignacio9904, Propietario at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for your comments, it was very nice to have you with us.
Ignacio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We loved it here. After one night in Mindo proper, we decided to find a place in outskirts. This place is SO friendly, accommodating, and peaceful. Our cabin was beautiful, clean, and cozy, with a lovely pine fragrant construction. Great food, home-made rum, frog-hunts at night, washer & dryer, great bird guide: unbeatable choice. Thanks, Ignacio!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ignacio9904, Propietario at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for your comments, and your vacation with us.
Ignacio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at La Roulotte along with another couple. We each had our own little gypsy caravan, with double bunk bed, nice bathroom, in a beautiful setting. We loved this place. Very close to downtown Mindo, yet out in the wilds. The restaurant was excellent. Fabulous breakfast every morning and wonderful dinners. Ignacio and Ribardo, staff at Roulotte were both wonderful. We loved the casual informality of La Roulotte. It was sort of like a camp ground. We were able to walk into town and to the Butterfly Sanctuary. We also went on a birding tour. The hotel recommended a terrific bird guide, Julia Patino, who took the four of us on a wonderful walking tour near the hotel. None of us had ever done this before and it was one of the highlights of our trip to Mindo. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joloswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ignacio9904, Propietario at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thanks for your review and suggestions
are very important to improve our service
Ignacio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I spent a fantastic week here. We had a delicious breakfast each morning whilst watching the humming birds from the restaurant. Ignacio and Ribardo were wonderful hosts and we were sad to leave such a beautiful place after becoming good friends with them.
I would recommend La Roulette to anyone who goes to Mindo; you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ignacio9904, Gerente at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su hermosa crítica, y ojala puedan volver pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.8 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hosteria Saguamby Mindo
0.6 mi away
Sisakuna Lodge
Sisakuna Lodge
#2 of 45 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Piedra
Casa de Piedra
#1 of 45 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria La Roulotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria La Roulotte

Property: Hosteria La Roulotte
Address: Via la Mariposario Km 2, Mindo 170751, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gypsy wood cabins with fireplace, in Mindo, Ecuador. Each cabin has its own bahtroom and can logde up to four persons.The dinning room offers a beautiful view with hummingbirds, tanangers, butterflies and other kind of birds.You. Can also enjoy an authentic labyrinth built under the cloud forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria La Roulotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing