We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Abrazo del Arbol
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Mindo
GreenLeadersGold level
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
“Beautiful and calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at El Abrazo del Arbol just for a weekend, i wish i could stay more. Love the place, excellent food, and service. Its located away from the craziness, but its not far from town, you could walk or bike to town. The hotel is surrounded by nature, there is a river within the property a beautiful swimming pool with natural river water, and a island type bungalow/bar. The hotel service was excellent, everyone there was very nice and caring.
I´ve stayed in different hotels in Mindo, and i can say this is my favorite one. Perfect for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    27
    1
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
35
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a long weekend in this lovely place and had a great time. I dare say the cloud forest scenery could not have been more beautiful. The view from the terrace was something surreal like in the movie Jurassic Park, with a huge mountain rising up from the forest, adorned with 5 gorgeous waterfalls. With exotic flowers and vegetation all over the property it was hard to not just sit and stare for hours. Unfortunately we visited during the rainy season and it was quite rainy, but it didn't damper the weekend at all. That terrace and the beautiful view combined with a constant variety of gorgeous hummingbirds provided a perfect setting for relaxing. There was a few trails off the property which took us to one of the waterfalls and the nearby raging river.

The food was EXCELLENT. Their river trout or "trucha" had an incredible sauce and tasted delicious. Best trucha I've had in the country in my 4 years in Ecuador. They also had an incredible "canelazo" chicken breast that had incredible flavour and was quite a unique dish.

The owner, David, was very friendly and accommodating. His hotel was in good condition and fit into the area quite nicely.

All in all, my girlfriend and I had a great weekend visiting Mindo and El Abrazo del Arbol and it was quite the adventure since we took my motorcycle and drove from Quito on the "EcoRuta" which was absolutely gorgeous. Amazing scenery, gorgeous vegetation and even a surreal foggy area that was something out of a movie.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent two nights here and have been very happy to follow the tripadvisor recommendations.
The setting is extremly nice, close to nature, with lots of little animals to be discovered, and it is what you can wish for if you want peace and quiet.
The staff was very nice and helpfull, the room with own bathroom clean and cute.
We truely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at El Arbol for a week and it was one of the most memorable vacations we had in a long time. The bungalow we stayed in was a gem, beautifully made and beautifully located. Surrounded by the forest, it is very private and restful. Marylin and her husband were welcoming, helpful and discreet. They put us in touch with a wonderful local guide who took us on a four hour tour in the jungle. He was extremely knowledgeable and obviously a nature lover. If you decide to get a guide (which I highly recommend) make sure to ask Marylin to put you in touch with Abel! She also helped us organize a dolphin watching tour that was marvelous.
We we so glad to have made the choice of El Arbol rather than a hotel. We spent our evenings relaxing in the hammock on the balcony listening to the sounds of the forest.
Everything about this trip was wonderful. Manzanillo is a quiet little town with really nice people. The beach is beautiful with great snorkeling. We couldn't recommend El Arbol enough!! Thank you Marylin and Jon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel is several miles from the town of Mindo. You have to cross several small creeks and the road is very rough.The grounds are magnificent. There is a swimming pool and many chairs, benches and shelters to sit and watch the hummingbirds. There are fruit trees of various varieties throughout the property. The rooms are quite small but the beds are comfortable. Because of the distance from town there is very limited (poor) telephone reception and no WiFi access. The meals were prepared by a young couple as the owner was on the coast looking after another business

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxman4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughn, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at El Abrazo del Arbol for two nights to attend a wedding. The location could not have been more beautiful. Accommodations were superb and the meals were beyond compare. The staff was absolutely fantastic and a pleasure to work with. They did all they could to make the event a wonderful memory. Their claim is they are at “the end of the road” and that’s the absolute truth. It was as though the wedding took place in a corner of paradise. We didn’t want to leave.

Room Tip: There is a thatched roof Yoga shelter, a chemical free, spring fed pool, a sauna and miles of trails...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Amazing place, the nature hug is real with all those species introduced delicately inside the house.
The food is delicous, and the staff is delicious too !! Very caring for the guests .
My strongest recommendation and try the bano turco !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindo
4.5 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
4.7 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#6 of 7 in Mindo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mashpi Lodge
Mashpi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
0.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Abrazo del Arbol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Abrazo del Arbol

Property: El Abrazo del Arbol
Address: Km 7 Via a Cunuco - Mindo, Mindo 170751, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Abrazo del Árbol – Farm Eco Lodge is the most cosy and peaceful hotel in Mindo. It is located amongst 14 acres of tropical rainforest at the end of the Cunuco Road. It has eco trails to the river and to one of the waterfalls that can be seen from the hotel´s balconies. It has 8 comfortable rooms in which the hotel can accommodate up to 19 guests. All the rooms have a private bathroom as well as first class mattresses and white neat blankets. Each corner of the hotel is full of detail that reflect the hosts commitment with eco design. Among its facilities you can find the pool which is free of chemicals, steam bath, yoga bungalow, pool table, bungalow bar on the island by the lagoon, organic farm that supplies the restaurant, private parking and a soccer field. Most of the hotel´s furniture and decoration are made out of recycled materials that have been carefully worked in order to reinforce the ecological approach in which the hotel is focused. The menu at the restaurant fusions different styles of food from around the globe, everything with organic ingredients, surprising the most demanding guests. The kindness of the hosts make every guest feel at home. The hotel has large balconies and living rooms where the people can relax and watch different kinds of birds or just enjoy a good cup of tea. The hotel also plans adventure and eco tourist trips around the area depending on the guests´ needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Abrazo del Arbol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing