We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece Of Paradise on Top Of A Glorious Mountain.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terrabambu Restaurant Lodge
Ranked #13 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This Awesome Place Offers Beautiful Cabins On Top Of A Mountain. A Perfectly Situated Swimming Pool With A Magnificant Mountanreous Backdrop. And An Owner That Aims To Please. Thank You For A Great Stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank miracles0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We wanted to finish off our 2 month trip through Peru and Ecuador at a beautiful and relaxing place, and we found just that at Terrabambu. The two-level bungalow with a nice deck overlooking the valley was perfect for our family of 4. From the deck, we could sit and watch parrots, toucanets, aracaris, hummingbirds and tanagers feed on the trees. The pool and grounds are beautifully landscaped. There is a lot of space between the various bungalows, so the place feels very private. Owner Oswaldo is very welcoming, hands-on and helpful in every way. Food is excellent, in fact we ate at the hotel almost every night--which is not typical of us. Breakfast was really good (warm fresh baked goods, fresh squeezed juices, good coffee). Staff, especially Evelyn, was warm and wonderful. We highly recommend this lovely place in Mindo.

Room Tip: All the bungalows looked great, but ours was perfect for 4 or 5 people. The whirlpool in the upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We went to Mindo for the day, as it is only an hour and a half away. However, we decided to stay overnight, and so started the search for a place to stay. We visited two other lodges and they weren't what we had in mind. Mindo is a very simple, ecological, adventure place. Perfect for those on a budget, but I like comfort and don't mind paying a bit more for it. That being said., this place is not expensive at all. Maybe in comparison to other lodges and inns and hotels around Mindo, but completely worth it.

We called and spoke to Oswaldo, who was as good as the previous reviews said. He called us later making sure we weren't lost. Once we arrived he was warm and polite and completely charming. The view is astounding. Miles and miles of greenery, peppered with dozens of birds. Even if birdwatching is not your thing, it is amazing to see the different kinds in display.

The cabin was rustic and spotless, perfectly clean and comfortable. It looks new and well maintained. Which was a relief after viewing other places...
Our cabin had two bathrooms, one upstairs and one downstairs. The downstairs room was cooler than the upper one. My only complain would be the curtains while not exactly see through, but they did let in all the light in. So you will rise with the sun even if you don't intend to. This could be easily solved by changing the curtains or adding a blackout thingie.
The pool a plus, the grounds perfect. There was a room with a view with foosball and table tennis. My son spent hours playing there, with Oswaldo, who was kind enough to humor him.
Breakfast is served on a terrace with a magnificent view of the valley, with dozens of birds. We saw more than ten varieties of hummingbird, a couple small toucans, and several different brightly colored species.
I really recommend this place, it was perfect all around. Especially customer service. They let us go on our hike/fourwheeler adventure and check out when we were done. No rush, no extra fee no hassle. In fact, Oswaldo's exact words were: Relax, we don't stress here. So we did.
Thanks

Room Tip: If you don't want to wake up at 5 in the morning, ask for one of the cabins with a lower level w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to take a weekend trip to Mindo. As we live in Quito, it's a great option for a little vacation since it's only 2 hours from the city. We went online and reviewed the seemingly infinite options of places to stay. Finally after some extensive research we crossed our fingers and decided on the Terrabambu Lodge. Our decision was based on online reviews, photos, location and price point compared to other options in Mindo. We are both young adults (late twenty's and early thirty's) and were looking for a fun and romantic place to spend the weekend and enjoy the activities offered in Mindo.

We called the night before (Thursday) and made the reservation. We made the reservation with Oswaldo who gave a very warm and inviting first impression over the phone. We explained we would be arriving around 7 in the evening the following day. Oswaldo called us Friday afternoon around 6:30 shortly before our arrival to make sure we had the directions and to give us some last minute guidance. The hotel is located a few minutes outside of the village and finding the hotel could be a little tricky. You have to travel down an unpaved, unmarked road, crossover two narrow, single lane bridges and go up a hill through a lush, green, canopied, country road. All adding to the adventure, excitement and charm of our arrival.

There is gated entrance up a steep cobblestoned drive. As we arrived it began to rain and get dark and finding reception was a bit confusing. I put our bags under the nearest awning and began to explore the property for check-in. I would recommend management to add a sign or two indicating the direction to reception. However, after this minor inconvenience, we found our way to check-in where Oswaldo was waiting to receive us and show us our room.

Our cabin was located a short walk from the main building and actually where I placed our bags upon arrival. It was a very charming two floor cabin made of stone and wood. The main floor had a little sitting area, patio, bedroom and bathroom. The lower level had one large sleeping area with two beds and another bathroom. We didn't use downstairs at all. The cabin was clean, basically decorated and we loved it. Or patio and view was overlooking the forest and we had plenty of space for our bags and things. We also thankfully had hot water in the cabin.

Oswaldo recommended several places for dinner in town and told us he would arrange all of the activities for us tomorrow over breakfast. He also arranged for a taxi to bring us to town that evening. Our taxi driver was Martin and he became our taxi for the entire weekend. He charged us $4 to bring us basically anywhere we wanted in the valley. We also had his cell phone number so we never had to wait more then 5 minutes the entire weekend for him to pick us up.

The next morning over breakfast Oswaldo helped us make our plans. Over the course of the next two days we were going to go to the butterfly farm, go zip-lining (canopy), tour the chocolate factory, go four wheeling, spend time at the pool, visit the water falls, and go canyoning. Thanks to Oswaldo we were able to accomplish most of what we had planned. We opted to skip the canyoning on Sunday because we were both very tired and decided to spend some time at the hotel relaxing. Oswaldo began us on our journey by walking us down the hill and pointing us in the right direction to the butterfly farm.

I also want to mention dining at the hotel. Every morning we ate in the main lodge on the terrace overlooking the valley and enjoying all the birds. Breakfast was included in the stay and included coffee, fresh squeezed juice (many different choices), a big bowl of fresh fruit, eggs (any style) and a basket of bread. We also made a special request for some patacones (fried, banana things that my girlfriend loves) which were brought to us at no additional charge. The second day we didn't even ask. They just brought them to us. Breakfast is a basic continental...but very good. We also had lunch at the hotel on Saturday afternoon. The food was excellent and would of liked to of tried some other dishes. However, we didn't have the time. I had a shrimp dish in a coconut sauce and my girlfriend had fish which was also lovely.

Our overall experience at the hotel was excellent and it exceeded our expectations. Oswaldo is the heart and soul of the hotel and really makes sure to take care of everyone and make them feel at home and special. We passed by several of the other hotels we researched to compare and check them out. In our opinion Terrabambu is the best, even compared to others that were significantly more expensive. It is very well located in a private and secluded area however only a 5 minute drive to the town. The property is beautiful with views of the surrounding valley with a nice pool area. Having our own private cabin was great. It was like having our own little place in the rain forest. This is definitely our place to stay on our future trips to Mindo.

A few more things to mention if you are deciding where to stay in Mindo. Even though Terrabambu is one of the nicest (the nicest in our opinion) hotels in Mindo I would not consider it a luxury hotel. Things such as room service, spa services, bell hop, in room refrigerator and other such amenities common in luxury hotels are not available. However it is not a budget hotel either. We felt more like we were staying at our wealthy friend Oswaldo's vacation estate for the weekend......receiving a bill (albeit reasonable) at the end of our stay of course ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Although you will find yourself traveling on unpaved roads and driving over a one-car-wide bridge to get to the lodge, Terrabambu did not disappoint. We had one of our most memorable and incredible trips to Ecuador while visiting this secluded area of the rain forest. The view of the mountains is incredible from this lodge and the accommodations are fit for such a place in the middle of the forest. Breakfast is an array of freshly-cut fruits, eggs, juice, warm bread and coffee, which was included with the room rate. Our family is vegetarian and they were very accommodating to our needs as we pretty much told them what we wanted for dinner. Osvaldo, the manager, was truly the most helpful host we could ever hoped for. He was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and was always looking to go the extra mile to please travelers. We would highly recommend this lodge to anybody who is thinking of staying in Mindo.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esteban C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Enjoyed greatly our stay at Terrabambu. Accommodations are comfortable, rustic, clean and with the great views of the forest we were looking for. Linens were clean and water pressure appropriate. There are some bugs all around but nothing too bothersome and remember you are in the middle of the cloud forest, if you are not willing to deal with this you should not come here in the first place. Had the best night's sleep in a long time. After some confusion at our arrival (we parked and none of the three people we saw welcomed us or said anything about we're we should go) meeting Oswaldo, the resident manager, was a memorable experience, one of those travel moments that you treasure and remember. He was not only helpful and attentive but a pleasure to talk to as a world traveler who is lucky to now live in a piece of heaven. He arranged a guided bird watching tour for us which was a highlight of our trip to Ecuador. We started at 6am and were back for breakfast by 10am. The guide was very knowledgeable and had the necessary equipment. We saw several small birds and even Toucans and a rare woodpecker. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, juice and coffee (from the area as well), eggs and bread and was included in our room rate. Dinner was amazing, we had the shrimp in coconut sauce which was tasty and authentically Ecuadorean. We enjoyed the swimming pool as well. We heard Terrabambu catered less to young backpackers and frankly it was one of the reasons we chose it as we wanted a quiet and relaxing time. Not sure this is the case as we had the place pretty much to ourselves the day we stayed thee. Overall a good option for a Mindo experience.

Room Tip: Room #1 has the best view of the cloud forest and is next to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fidelio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 9 in Mindo
227 reviews
4.2 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 9 in Mindo
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bicok Lodge
The Bicok Lodge
#1 of 48 in Mindo
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Saguamby Mindo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrabambu Restaurant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrabambu Restaurant Lodge

Address: Camino a Las Cascadas s/n, Mindo 170167, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Price Range: £83 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TerraBambú Restaurant and Lodge is just 79 kilometers northwest of the city of Quito and 1250 meters above sea level in one of the areas of greatest biodiversity in the world. Terrabambú Restaurant and Lodge is situated on the banks of the Bosque Protector Mindo-Nambillo and a few minutes from the town of Mindo. TerraBambú Restaurant and Lodge is transformed into a haven for relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Terrabambu Restaurant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing